"U2 of pakistan" .. "Salman .. Asia's answer to Santana" ../Junoon tu Junoon hai (Mer

Re: "U2 of pakistan" .. "Salman .. Asia's answer to Santana" ../Junoon tu Junoon hai (Mer

sirf itna hi kahoonga, when I first heard it and even now whenever I listen to it, it blows my ears. And its not just me, even mature ppl who appreciate (despite of the fact that rock is not their taste) tracks like Neend aati nahi, talaash, khuwab and husn waloo; hate khudi and other sufi stuff by junoon. Khudi was composed with a very bad taste indeed. And in addition Ali sings it in a really humiliating way on stage that is just unbareable, considering Iqbal's poetry and its greatness. Sayonee was a little disiplined song as compare to Khudi.

As a fan, I like Khoi Khoi Ankhein, Talash, neend aati nahi, khuwab, chori chori, jogia, husn walon, heeray, ehtesaab and Woh. As you can see most of them are from their early days, when I was in school/college. After that I kept buying their new albums and found myself in complete disappointment. I only find a couple of songs hummable, thats it. To make it worse, every album after 1994 had songs from previous two or three albums 'bharti ke gaane' to fill the space.

Re: "U2 of pakistan" .. "Salman .. Asia's answer to Santana" ../Junoon tu Junoon hai (Mer

Ok so you and "many" others thought it was degrading but there are so many out there who dont see anything wrong with it.

I have been at this forum for long time; most of the times just reading silently.And i honestly can not make sense out of this tussel between you and spock.

I can make some sense out of Spock tirelessly trying to defend Junon but i honestly cant figure out why somebody wud wanna tirelessly throw mud at Junoon, unless its something personal offcourse. Something can be passionately loved but hating someone so badly doesn't make sense to me!

Its gotta be something more than just Junoon. C'mon its just a music band!!!

abay yaar, there is no tussle b/w me and spock. he knows i am junoon's fan too, but a different type. he likes them from top to bottom, I express myself where its good and where its not. I don't like their Sufi stuff to begin with and also I am fed up of their arrogance. They show off as they are made up of some special gene or something.

Khair as far as likeness is concerned, Junoon are the best LIVE performers in Pakistan. And I have been to their dozens of concerts in Pakistan till 96 when they were not that big back then, but since I am their fan since 90 when they first launched their album, I used to go to every concert that I can goto. Here in T.O they had the biggest ever concert in a rock arena where no brown artist have ever performed and they were honored to show their blast. A record 16,000 ppl showed up including me and my friends circle.

Just learn to tolerate critisism. You know its just a musical band not our relatives. Thanks.

Re: “U2 of pakistan” .. “Salman .. Asia’s answer to Santana” ../Junoon tu Junoon hai (Mer

Thanks man, I appreciate it.

Thanks for the explaination smoothy :)

But you 2 do need to take it a little easy at times. Criticism is not a bad thing but criticism for the sake of criticism isn't too constructive and gets one nowhere.

Re: “U2 of pakistan” .. “Salman .. Asia’s answer to Santana” ../Junoon tu Junoon hai (Mer

Then again, the majority likes the sufi stuff. I personally love Parvaaz, the best Pakistani album ever made, and most of the Junoon fans agree on that. If you try to promote them abroad, none of the pre-inquilab stuff really catches the eye of the media, trust me on that.

And can you show me where they have shown off that they made a special ‘gene’, or ‘genre’ if you were referring to the latter. Show me one single article where they are arrogant about being a Sufi Band. I have met them numerous times, and I havent even seen them once brag about how great they are. Only those that are a little insecure of their position do that. Infact, they didnt even like the idea of being called a Sufi Band, all three of them continously said they wanted variation in their work, and some of their albums show that trend.

ahaa .. so silly of me to talk about junnon here .. :-S .. nevermind .. i’m off of this discussion and this topic here ..

Go Spock Go .. :smiley: .. but i think you are wasting you time .. :flower1: ..

ahaa i see .. then i guess i’m counting the days .. blush .. i wana see Ghoom’s Video .. Bulleya is good too ..

humm i guess different thoughts and taste .. eh .. :slight_smile: ..