Re: "U2 of pakistan" .. "Salman .. Asia's answer to Santana" ../Junoon tu Junoon hai (Mer
I believe Ive studied more poetry than you chanda. So dont even touch that topic. To be honest, youre comments about music are weird in the first place. I dont expect someone, who thinks Bilal Maqsood is one of the best guitarists of the country, eP is a hard rock band, and Jogia being a metal track (im sure fifi had a good laugh on that one)to have much musical sense.
All I said was, Khuddi was not a sufi song, nor is it sufi poetry, the message is clear, yeah its deep, but has nothing to do with sufism, so where did this 'only I know what this poetry means' BS come from? Whether you hear it from someone mouth, wether you read it from a book, doesnt make a different, the message goes through.
Only one of Junoons album really touched sufism, and that was Parvaaz, and as Ive said before, that was by far their best album, and they put the most effort into it. All these acclaims posted in this thread are coming from international media sources like time, Nytimes etc, so try a little harder if you want to vent your jealousy.
fatalist, as far as youre concerned, either you should post from your real nick, or you should learn how to spell it properly, maybe then you might be successfull in seeking the much needed attention you crave for.
Re: “U2 of pakistan” .. “Salman .. Asia’s answer to Santana” ../Junoon tu Junoon hai (Mer
haha ur knowledge of poetry is laughable dear. Sayyoni and Khuddi are not sufi stuff. Very good. I think you REALLY know the sufi poetry, sufi tou jhak maar gaye hain duniya mein jese.
On the side note, I think your determination of poetic-thoughts are based on Music videos only
Re: "U2 of pakistan" .. "Salman .. Asia's answer to Santana" ../Junoon tu Junoon hai (Mer
chanda drop an email to Sabir Zafar and ask him if it was meant to be a sufi song or not. And in case if it was meant to be a tragic song with sufi touch, why PTV would band on the lines....chor meri khata, tou to pagal nahi ? And thats a technical question so answer it with some logic.
And Faiz Ahmed Faiz 'THA' nahi 'THAY" dear, don't be a typical junooni and learn to respect legends instead of mocking them as in 'khudi'.
Re: “U2 of pakistan” .. “Salman .. Asia’s answer to Santana” ../Junoon tu Junoon hai (Mer
Spock…we all know Junoon are your mame de puttar, but you gotta admit the facts. Junoon turned to sufiyana kalaam solely for publicity. They thought of doing something that would be different and never tried before and it came down hard on them.
Using Iqbals and Bulleh Shah’s poetry…and singing them to the masses, when ur drunk as hell. Is that what you meant by the following statement of urs?
“PTV would band on the lines”? If youre implying PTV banned the song, the song wasnt banned, they refused to play it, and that was because of the M.D. of PTV at that time. Sabir Zafar is not a sufi poet, hes a commercial poet, and he writes 90% of the songs these days, be it Jawads love songs or Sayonee.
Kyoon, Faiz koi khudda tha kya? He was just a man, he had flaws. He was involved in alot of conspiracies, including a conspiracy to overthrow Liaqat Ali Khan, and had other weaknesses like all men. No doubt he was the best poet we had, but stop acting as if he was some sort of khudda.
Look whose talking, a guy who goes by the nick Sharabi. Not everyone is raised like you my friend, Ive been to their concerts, even your buddy smooth guy has been to their concerts right, do we have to be drunk to get into the concerts, no.
Recently, a Sikh singer was using Bulleh Shah’s poetry in one of his songs, so stop acting as if the poetry was your mamay ke puttars copyright.
And ‘where words fail, music speaks’, comes from Hans Christian Andersen quotes
Acha so youre saying the band members come to the stage drunk? I’d rather believe my own eyes than believe you. What they do in their own time is their own matter, but do you honestly think when a band charges $15-20K for a concert, they dont show up drunk or asleep. Brian had a problem with alcohol, he was fired from the band, and the same thing happened with Aashiq Ali, he showed up drunk in a concert once, and he was sent back, and fired the next day. So your little bongi didnt work. Try again.
We all have heard and seen enough, and no ones ignorant about what these people do and dont do. So...you my friend need to take it easy.
Not everone is hundred percent white and not everyone is hundred percent black. Everyone has faults, and when their are faults there are critics too. So take it easy and dont start running after people with a talwaar....if some something bad abt Junoon.
Arite...enought for tonite. You give it a break too :)
Haan my friend, so when did I say they are perfect? The fact that one member was kicked out proves that point. And didnt I saw what they do in their private lives is their own matter. What the thread started posted was a bunch of articles, from the international media, who praised Junoon, and they earned this acclaim and appraisal. Instead of appreciating their success, you first start mentioning how their music is this and that (as if you were jealous, which you have no reason to be), and then make some silly accusations.
People have their own tastes of genres, if you dont like something, its not necessary to come and take a dump in every single thread. Peace out
"U2 of South Asia/Pakistan", thats not a comaprison, its an analogy. Its the press, they publish it. We invited a bunch of Detroit press people in the last gig, and they said the same thing. I dont think its something to be so mad about.
smoothguy, i think you and sharaabi are generalising a little when you say that people can not get to the depth of Khudi coz Junoon performs it infront of head-banging dopies or whatever. I for one had my ineterest in Allam Iqbal's work initiated by Junoon's khudi.
I dont understand what exactly you mean when you say that Junoon sang it in "insulting" manner?