Typical pakistani larki?? How so?

Well…here I go..!! this is about my friend who I met at school. I hardly see her, but whenver I do, it’s the same old story…SHe and her ex-boyfriend and the new ONES she is interested in!!..She calls herself a typical pakistani desi larki…who would do whatever her parents say..(that’s what she claims)…but I don’t understand how is she a typical pakistani..i left pakistan when i was quiet young..and don’t really know how typical pakistani larkiyan are…she came to the US last year…here is her story…She had a boyfriend on net…something happened and they broke up..(the guy was at fault..i understand)…but anyways..it’s been more than eight months..her parents eventually permitted her to keep this online relationship!!..AND THEN SHE BROKE UP…she is hooked up with this another guy at school..and he seems to be a pretty nice guy and everything..but he is not pakistani…he is desi though..HER parents are NEVERRRR EVER gonna let her go out with this guy…WHY? because ..she broke up with the first one..and now she is with this guy and her parents don’t know him or about the feelings that are beyond friendship…when I ASK her…what are your plans girl…you are screwing yourself…at least let your parents know…but her reaction!!..she gives me this “I couldn’t care less” looks!!..and when her parents tried to take her back home..means pakistan…she won’t go…but she would say that i can’t let my parents down if they want me to get married there..I would do so..!!..however..she is not going back…the trip was cancelled… she keeps calling herself..“typical pakistani larki”…and O by the way..!!..she talks to guys and very openly comments.." yaar mera is pe dil aaraha hai..;)"…well I know she is goofy…but still!!..I just wanna know..is that how typical pakistani girls are?? I TRULY DON’T THINK It’s True..!!

there is no typical pakistani larki :) its more of an image pakistani expatriats have conjured up in their minds :)

hmmm..Never thought of it this way..!!....thanks......

*Originally posted by irem: *
there is no typical pakistani larki :) its more of an image pakistani expatriats have conjured up in their minds :)

It's quite brutal when that wonderful image we expats have conjured up gets broken down.... it took me nearly two years to fully recover from the shock when my friend in Karachi took me for a walk down the beach at defence and explained what really goes on....

:( i know, such a shame, the image was nice whilst it lasted anyway sighz

Originally posted by irem: *
**there is no typical pakistani larki : ) its more of an image pakistani expatriats have conjured up in their minds : )

thinking For me, personally, that's food for thought.

Nadz yes it is :wink: :slight_smile: hugz

mAd_ScIeNtIsT ab aisi baat bhee nai hae :stuck_out_tongue: and what happens on Defence beach? Pakistan mein kuch khullam khulla naheen hota atleast thats the good thing about our mullak :mash: :Pagri:

waise u’ll find all types of ppl in Pakistan with very very different lifestyles and thinking…the pakistani population is like a plate of MIXED FRUIT CHAAT :smiley:

Typical pakistani larki is who is reilgious and eastren i think :confused:

“Typical Pakistani larki” hmm it is virtual image every one has and so it is different for everyone. Probably in her mind what she is doing is enough for her to qualify as a “Typical Pakistani larki” Perhaps her decision to not let her parents down and to marry according to their wishes is all that she needs to do to be a “Typical Pakistani larki “

Re: Typical pakistani larki?? How so?

the gurly is simply playing ......

Re: Typical pakistani larki?? How so?

the gurly is simply playing ......

or

maybe

she herself is not clear about things..

Irem,

i know you think i have a ‘complex’ about this issue :smiley: Maybe i do. i dunno… maybe the Pakistani communities i have been a part of, in Nova Scotia and now in the current Canadian city i am living in, have instilled some particular types of experiences within me from which i now perceive all Pakistani cultural aspects in a very distorted light.

To be honest, i really don’t know. But i did always used to believe that there is an “ideal” - atleast, an ideal that society constructs, and i don’t mean Pakistani society in Pakistan… i mean, Pakistani societies outside of Pakistan construct the “ideal” as well.

bah it’s all messed up. :flower1:

I dont think so there is any thing like "typical pakistani larkee"... talk to ten different people and you'll get 10 different definations of "typical pakistani lakee" which would represent a their specific communities or the specific communities those girls are from......

nadz… hugz trust me we all have our complexes…i must be the most complexed person in the world infact :smiley: :slight_smile:

u r right, its all messed up, so as i said, jaise chaho jio coca cola piyo and enjoy :wink: :slight_smile:
hugz

hmm..very interesting..thanks for broadening my horizons..!!....you guys came up with amazing observations and your thoughts and comments really made me think.....I could have never thought of all this....I guess we tend to have stereotypical thoughts about each and every single thing.......hmm It's her life..Let her decide what she's gotta do ...whatever makes her happy....next time..I will be concerned when it is the time to be concerned... ...why make a big deal out of what she says!! RIGHT?

Thanks everyone........you resolved a huge problem..!!

*Originally posted by mAd_ScIeNtIsT: *

It's quite brutal when that wonderful image we expats have conjured up gets broken down.... it took me nearly two years to fully recover from the shock when my friend in Karachi took me for a walk down the
beach at defence and explained what really goes on....

Maddy, care to fill us in on the juicy details?

My experiences of "that sort" are limited to Islamabad. and most involving the diplomatic corps and the psuedo-Paks (if Isb is 10 mins from Pakistan, then these people are continents away).

i hate galz who do that…:snooty: