Type Of English Taught In Pakistan

I would like to know what kind of English is taught in Pakistan to students?

Is it American English? Or International English?

Re: Type Of English Taught In Pakistan

aeroplane type

wats international english? isnt american english international english?:hmmm:

btw in pakistan “girl” ko “grill” or “grull” kehne wali english sikhai jati hai :smiley:

its british english, or pakistani english to be exact

well my wife says that the English taught in Pakistan is entirely different to what is spoken and written in the UK and America?

:konfused: well in Pakistans acadamic they have these translation exercises from urdu to english in English subject .And who ever can do that successfully knows english but the British one is followed i guess

depends on the school....some have British, some have American and some have Desi.

They teach British pronunciations and spelling of English in Pakistan but the accent is still ethnic Pakistani accent depending upon in which part of Pakistan you to go to school. Like Sindhi students will have Sindhi accent , Punjabi will have Punjabi accent , a Pathan student will have a Pashto accent and Urdu speaking people have that bhaia accent of English. No matter which school you go to you will not have that authentic British , American , Australian accent.
In USA they offer accent reduction courses and I am thinking to enroll in one.

Most of private schools syllabus is Oxford Guided English till primary and Oxford Hyden Richards as well. From 6 to 8 also Oxford English syllabus with pieces from english classics like Jane Eyre, RL Stevenson ,Charles Dickens etc alongwith English novel either of Shakespeare dramas or islamic stories from Oxford or Singapore press.So Basically its British .In Matriculation sice private and government students compete equally so text board books of 4 provinces of thier own which are relatively easy as compare to what we study in early classes.

British Standard English.

matric aab kon karta hai pakistan mai mostly they are going for O LEVELS.ok i am not talking about urdu medium schools.

Folks are funny in Pakistan. My cousin and I went to get ice cream in Pakistan and we bought three, the vendor told us the total in Urdu. I know my number upto 35 but after that I’m like :konfused: so I asked my cousin how much was he saying - she said, “Mujhey to nahi pata, ham to English Medium School mein jaatey hain”. :smack:

The accent is American....not british......

Yes American accent

firsthand experience? :aq:

I dont like American Accent…:snooty:

^ please don't say that...amreeki hamala kar denge!

There are some who do it online. Basically, you can see them and you do an online meeting. Works really well. I did an initial class where the teacher analyzed my speech, and then she made a customized lesson plan for me. I was only able to do one class, I got a new job soon after and had to travel a lot.

She pointed out that I don't pronounce the K, C, T, D and S sounds right, and told me these are pretty common amongst her other Pakistani students.

:omg: :rotfl: :omg:

tum ne bhi wohi seekhi thi kya? :@:

This used to be the BIBLE for learning english in the good old days
Wren & Martin - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Dear Sir or Madam

Most respectfully I beg to state that I have come to know through reliable sources that there is a vacancy for a Junior Clerk, lying Vacant under your kind control…

and off course
who can forget “Write an Essay on Cow”
or “Your aim in life”