TV's

This friend of mine bought a plasma HDTV recently. The picture is pretty good 'n all but he was telling me how you can’t leave it on like you can normally do with regular TV if nothing is playing at the moment. You’ve to be carefull otherwise it’s harmful to the TV screen. I don’t understand this gadgety stuff they’re putting in TV’s these days. It’s good and wonderful but TV is supposed to be a durable good. The more sophisticated technology is getting, the more you have to baby-sit it. What happened to good 'ol durability?

On top of that, there are friggin’ so many technological variations: Flat screen, Flat screen projection, Plasma, Digital, HDTV and God knows what else. It’s getting so confusing. It’s ridiculous. I’ll wait another 5 years before changing mine. That’s how long it will take for me to figure out what the heck is all this. :hoonh:

Didn't know tranvestites came in so many varieties, the rear projection kind sure, but what about the rest! tsk.

I don't like those FLAT screens either.

Maulvi sahab, I am yet to meet a maulvi who likes it flat. Everybody wants something curvy shurvy.

In my opinion Plasma TVs are still in BETA mode... consumers are the testers.... they have burn issues since their inception and they still exist... so in my opinion they are not worth it unless if you have mucho dollars.... New Projections are good but not as sharp as tube ones but if you want big screen they are good enough and some make and models are very neat (Mitsubishi, Sony etc.) Tubes are very nice but fewer options in wide screen and also smaller screens... largest one I know is 40" by Sony but that is heavy as a mountain, in my opinion not good for home with kids... it costs the same if not more than big screen projection TVs. BTW - projection TVs have burn issue too but not as severe as Plasma ones... HDTV is not worth the $$ right now, wait for few more years, it might be replaced by cheaper and equally good option... HDTV never caught on... be aware of HDTV ready and HDTV big diff...

in 5 years you will be more confused.. more variations and more options... learn a little about the options and then just focus on what you want and look at the options from that perspective.

If you are not going to buy anyway, then why getting confused about the "options". Araam say betho. Jab khareedna ho tau baat karna.

plasma- expensive, low life span
lcd- less expensive than plasma, longer life span than plasma
projection- getting cheaper by the day, longer life span than lcd

regular TVs-
flat screen better pic quality than your old style ones, heavier, more expensive, about the same lifespan

Roman

do u need a comparison on 8track, record player, cassette player, cd player and mp3 player too?

*Originally posted by ChaChoo: *
... largest one I know is 40" by Sony but that is heavy as a mountain, in my opinion not good for home with kids... .

yeah its heavy, but i dont know why u say that its nto good for homes with kids, its too heavy for a kid to move, and if u get the proper stand for it, it attaches to it well enough that kids will be unable to make it fall anyways. last resort is to have it anchored to the wall, and then there is no problemo at all.

waisay Roman dunn have kids...not any that he is aware of atleast

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
If you are not going to buy anyway, then why getting confused about the "options". Araam say betho. Jab khareedna ho tau baat karna.

hahahaha....palle na Dhella kardi mela mela.

Roman: I advise you stick(no pun) with your old playboy copies under the bed.

even with the proper stand on thick carpets it is still unstable... anchores is a good idea and highly recommended for any tall and heavy objects..

*Originally posted by ChaChoo: *
even with the proper stand on thick carpets it is still unstable... anchores is a good idea and highly recommended for any tall and heavy objects..

waisay if i recall properly, u are pretty tall yerself? should we have a stud anchor u?

*Originally posted by Fraudz: *
waisay if i recall properly, u are pretty tall yerself? should we have a stud anchor u?

Well I am a stud myself and I have two anchors, one 4 year old and the other 10 month old.. oh and don't forget the mother of anchors :)

so when am i coming over to see the anchors, driving that much will make me very hungry so please arrange a pur takkaluf dawat for me to come and see teh anchors

u r welcome any time... and pur-takluf dawat, is a given :) .. so when can we expect you ?

FG beta, You think we Maulvis have no life, have no feelings. We like to to see everything, Kabhi is truf Kabhi dosri truf, sub chulta hay. After all we have to teach you guys too.

:rotfl"

*Originally posted by funguy: *
Maulvi sahab, I am yet to meet a maulvi who likes it flat. Everybody wants something curvy shurvy.

:hehe: you sure teach us guys too.

Maulvi saab, sab karen kis ne roka hai :mash: . Magar apni community ko theek bhi kar dein please.

do u need a comparison on 8track, record player, cassette player, cd player and mp3 player too?

Speaking of which, I think the coolest thing out there in the electronic world right now is that multi-storage, 300 CDs capacity MP3/CD/DVD player. Now if they could only include DVD recording in it too. But that’s not gonna happen for another five years.

PS-
I was getting the itch to buy a plasma hdtv you bozos that’s why started the topic. I realized it’s a sh!tty deal right now. :hoonh:

^ go with the one with knobs