Turkey's to make adultery a crime!

**Turkey’s plans to make adultery a crime could affect its chances of joining the European Union, EU enlargement commissioner Guenter Verheugen says. **

**Prime Minister Recep Tayyip Erdogan, a devout Muslim, says the bill will help protect women from deception. **

Mr Verheugen, who has spent the last few days touring Turkey, expressed his concerns in an interview with the Turkish Vatan newspaper.

“If Turkey tries to include crimes that are not in other countries’ laws in its penal code, European Union countries could interpret this as Islamic law entering Turkish law,” he told the paper.

He added that he was not “defending adultery”, but said “Turkey should not give the impression… that it is introducing Islamic elements into its legal system while engaged in a great project such as the EU”.

Women’s groups and liberal commentators have condemned the bill, saying it would be used against women and pushes the secular Muslim state closer to an Islamic legal model.

But the main opposition party says it will not challenge it, provided men face the same penalties as women.

The BBC’s Virginia Gidley-Kitchin says adultery used to be illegal in Turkey until 1996, when the Constitutional Court struck the law down because it penalised women more than men.

Men were deemed to have been adulterous if they were involved in a long-term affair; but women could be charged if they were unfaithful only once.

Temel Karamollaoglu, a member of the Islamist Saadet party - which is more conservative than Mr Erdogan’s governing AKP - says the law is necessary to protect the family and the society.

“At present adultery is accepted as a cause for divorce, and it is not accepted in society,” he told the BBC. "The point is whether it should be punishable or not.

“We think that Turkey should join the EU, but not really accepting every detail in the moral value, not every aspect of European society at present. Countries may have different cultures. I accept European Union as a multi-cultural, multi-religious society.”

Canan Arin, of the Women’s Rights Centre at the Istanbul Bar Association, says it is a violation of the constitution protecting individual’s privacy.

“Everyone has the right to demand respect for his private and family life,” she said. Ms Arin fears the bill will work against women, as traditional women are reluctant to complain about their husbands.

“If they bring it, it will provoke honour killings more than ever,” she said.
Turkey’s plans to make adultery a crime

about time they stamped out adultry which is a terrible act, which destroys family life!

It's about time!

^ Ditto.

Re: Turkey's to make adultery a crime!

*Originally posted by ak47: *
...adultery used to be illegal in Turkey until 1996, when the Constitutional Court struck the law down because it penalised women more than men.
So they already had this law till 1996. Presumably the re-designed law will be more equitable. EU taking a piss is understandable though hardly logical. Why is Turkey dying to be in EU anyway?

Turkey is like “Dhobi ka kutta, ghar ka na ghat ka”

Mustafa Kamal Ata Turk brought revolution in Turkey in 1923.Secularism was key to it. Islam came under the strict rule of the State. Mustafa Kamal abolished the age-old institution of Caliphate in 1924. The practice of Islam in public places was ceased by order of the State. Islam was separated from the political arena by the parliament.
Hijab for girls in schools and colleges already stood prohibited. A Secular hypocrisy both civil and military was in complete control of the affairs of the state.
All spheres of life of the people were radically secularized. By the propagation and continual enforcement of secularism, Islam was separated from public affairs. The power base of Islam was uprooted, making secularism immune from any fight-back attack by the religious elites by and by; Islam lost its impact on private lives of the people. Ultimately, the religion of Islam was replaced by secularisms In fact; Islam was deleted from the Turkish Constitution in 1928.In 1924 the Shari'ah law was abolished. It was replaced by Swiss Civil Code in 1926 Waqfs and all religious endorsements were abolished. Madras education was banned in the same year. In 1927, the Western type of dress including hat was adopted, Hijrah calendar was given a good bye and the christen calendar was enforced in its place. In 1928 Arabic scripts were abolished and also Azaan in Arabic banned. English/Roman alphabets came into force. In 1931, the metric system was adopted. In 1934, family names of western type were introduced. In the same year, Western Music was also introduced. In 1935, Sunday was declared weekly holiday instead of Friday.

Even though Turkey tried its best to please Europe and tried to become a part of them, they never became completely European nation, but on the other side they also lost their Islamic heritage and pride.

Re: Re: Turkey's to make adultery a crime!

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Why is Turkey dying to be in EU anyway?

God knows why.....probably to improve its economic condition.... but turkey has literally begged EU for so many years to become a part of it. Turkish people are generally known for there high ego and self-esteem but I am not sure if Turkish government is doing any good to Turkish people’s reputation by begging EU for so many years. Just see how arrogant Mr Verheugen’s statement is:

“If Turkey tries to include crimes that are not in other countries' laws in its penal code, European Union countries could interpret this as Islamic law entering Turkish law," he told the paper.”

Hell with EU and hell with what they think of Islamic law.

well ironically even islamists wanted to be part of EU because atleast in EU, headscarf would not be banned..but times have changed. we have seen that even in europe, personal freedoms are at the whims of the leaders and now the direct attack at islamic law by EU has changed things.

I fail to understand why they are dying to enter the heaven called Europe, after which all problems will vanish from their lives. As someone said, I know many Turks who have a very high ego and are proud of being Turk, and then you see the whole country mad about entering EU. In ka dimagh ghaas charnay gaya hai kya?

And all because they have a few acres of land in “European” territory :rolleyes:

I fail to understand why they are dying to enter the heaven called Europe, after which all problems will vanish from their lives. As someone said, I know many Turks who have a very high ego and are proud of being Turk, and then you see the whole country mad about entering EU. In ka dimagh ghaas charnay gaya hai kya?<<<

Brother Islamabad, you are very right and I concur. I also think that just like many Pakistanis who want to be part of ‘white’ central asia, mideast, neareast, asia minor, etc (despite their dark skin), it is by the same token that Turks want to be part of EU (you can call it islamic phenominon of notbeinghappywithwhatyouare). I would say that Turks be Turks and Pakistanis be Pakistanis that once happened to be Hindustani South Asians and not Turko-mongolic-persio-arabic. Makes sense??

In terms of making adultery a 'crime', they can make it whatever they want to make it... creative people will find creative ways to do what they want (Consentually)…and some people will do Recep Tayyip Erdogan and he wouldn’t even know that he is being done.

Hey how bout while we stop being “white”, Indians stop waving there arms trying to get noticed by the rest of the world.
Last week I was reading Hindustantimes and a couple of articles cought my eye.
The first was about an “Indian Sensation” at the Olympics who was supposedly making waves in the US. Who was this Indian, Americans were supposedly hyped about?
Well there was an alternate on the US womens 4x400 m relay team who had some South Indian blood :rotfl: . Forget about this alternate girl, I’m not sure if I even saw any of the womens 4x400 m team on NBC.
I also saw an article about how the UK was supposedly in an “Indian Dominated Summer”. Funny, I’m sure you could have fooled most people in England…
So before you start talking about other peoples complexes, worry about your own.

Turkey ‘may drop adultery ban’
From Alphonso Van Marsh
CNN Correspondent
Tuesday, September 14, 2004 Posted: 10:09 AM EDT (1409 GMT)

ISTANBUL, Turkey (CNN) – A senior member of Turkey’s ruling party has said a proposed draft law to criminalize adultery has in essence been abandoned.

“Will there be a proposal (to criminalize adultery)? It is very likely that no proposal will be made from (party) members,” the party official, speaking on condition of anonymity, said Tuesday.

Prime Minister Recep Tayyip Erdogan’s ruling Justice and Development Party (AKP) – a group with Islamist roots – had been expected to submit the controversial amendment on infidelity as part of a reform package for Turkey’s penal code.

The reforms are largely intended to help Turkey pursue membership in the European Union – coveted goal for the secular, democratic and overwhelmingly Muslim nation.

However, many people say criminalizing adultery would be a setback.

Turkey’s parliament started debate on the reform package Tuesday amid protests by those who said the draft law would be unfairly applied against women.

The package of law includes tougher punishment for crimes such as rape and torture.

The European Commission is due to publish a long-awaited progress report on Turkey on October 6, according to Reuters. This report will form the basis of a decision by EU leaders at a December summit on whether to launch the accession negotiations.

*Originally posted by Islamabad: *
I fail to understand why they are dying to enter the heaven called Europe,

Turkey is already a member of North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO). Their yearly budget is around $70 billion. Their hope is to see a dramatic increase in that number after joining EU.

Smart nations these days work very hard to enter US or EU markets. Both of these markets do $trillion worth trade. China, Japan, South Korea, Singapore and Bharat are good examples that are working hard on capitalizing on their access to $trillion markets.

Just consider this staggering figure folks. Wal-Mart, the retail giant had annual revenue of $260 billion. Just to put this figure in perspective consider that the figure is:

20 times Pakistan's yearly budget,
4 times the budget of Saudi,
3 times the Bharati budget, and
Same as China’s yearly budget!

Amazing huh!

Pakistan MAToos won't understand this $ based analysis. Their heads would start hurting.

i believe homosexuality is also a big problem in turkey. if that is correct then, a new law shoud be considered for homo's 2.

Today's news is that Turkey dropped it under protest from women who say that the new proposed law will only hurt women. So you can sleep easy and go to Turkey if you wana have some sex.

*Originally posted by Madhanee: *
Today's news is that Turkey dropped ...

Women's protest is just a smoke screen. The reality is that EU was ready with a chappal in hand. Turkish Mullahs got the message and backed off.

One day turkey says it will ban adultury and next day they say no we not going to do that.

Clearly this was just a smokescreen to appease the EU.

Turkey has shown once again the secular extremists are the ones who hold the reigns of power for now, the allegation that turkey is run by islamist has been prooved to be false yet again what a pity its time will come no worries!