Turkey poised to lift hijab ban

Re: Turkey poised to lift hijab ban

Do you realize that you are being just as bad as the narrow-minded religious folks that you are against? You're just on the opposite end.

For the basic broad things, yeah. Like uh....don't kill innocent men, women, and children in warfare - oh guess, what? Your Taliban broke those rules.

*Right, taliban are the only force in the world who do that and its their only mandate, When extremist hindus blow themselves up I'm sure they have strong links to the taliban. *

*And when PPP freaks attach random people on the street, im sure they have strong links to the Taliban. *

Like uh...teach messages of love and peace...pshaw Taliban + love/peace? RIGHT!

I think a Taliban captive would prove you otherwise. Its the Pakistanis who do not tolerate peace. Don't blame it on the movement.

Like uh...rules and regulations of physical jihad...all broken time and again.

Oh right, I remember now:
"Invade, carpet bomb, rape women, extract resources, defame a nation, virtually imprison groups of people, blow up madrassas" Bukhari, Muslim?

right?
Wow, the allied forces seem to be adhering to Islamic regulations :O

Like uh...prohibiions ag/suicide. Again, broken.

*Again, haram as it may be, you left them with no choice, when you psychologically, and physically destroy and defame a nation, you will get this animosity. You condemn and kill one, 100s will be born. *
*Dont go running anywhere then, this was your problem to begin with. And majority of this, comes from Pakistani mentality, not Islamic. *

*Palestinians were the first to do it, their condition was understandable, undeniablly wrong, but THEY could justify it for you. *

Like uh...commands to educate women - are you hearing the bombs thrown on girl's schools in NWFP by the Taliban?

Right, Hijab is being banned around the world, and sisters are being raped by invading forces, and you accuse them of killing girls with bombs?

Like uh...no destruction of someone else's property...did the mass attacks on CD shops in NWFP escape your notice?

Yeah I'm guessin Ibrahim A.S. was violating a tenant of Islam (Nauozubillah) when he broke the Idols.

You tell me when to stop. I can keep going.

I dont know if injustice stops, it remains and will remain. **
**We just cant stop standing up for the truth.

Well it all depends on what one's measure of "success" really is.

The purpose behind education isn't always to get the "top postition"/ good money. It may be to open one's mind... to learn/ to see all that there is to see in their respective fields.

In terms of contribution to a society, I imagine a good teacher with professional education, good morals and a thorough understanding and application of deen is a lot more worthy then a CEO of some random orgnaisation. Plz, I am not trying to dis ppl in high position, as the have their role to play out too... but you really cant measure a society by how many women are in "high position".

Success for a Muslim is to eventually end up in heaven, and who's feet is it beneath which heaven lies?

An effective mother does and can contribute to a better society by working at the grass roots of all societies; the family!

JazakAllah for this.

And they call the learned, Narrow-minded religious fanatics.
SubhanAllah.

Heck even a good mother to me is like a good leader because she strengthens the very fiber of the country on a micro-level. How many mothers do you know of who care about what their kids do?

It's all dependant on the mindset, and thinking. To each is own, but we must remember to respect each other regardless of our difference of opinion.

Right and women who bare their bodies are supposedly in higher positions throughout society and better educated? Where are you getting your assumptions from? From one event in the news?

Tell, how many niQabis did you go to high school / college/university with? How many did you get to know personally to make such sweeping judgments about them?

Do you even realize how absolutely absurd such an assumption is, that a woman who covers her face is less likely to work or go to school?

And if by any chance, a woman chooses not to go for a higher education or turns down a high paying job to stay home and take care of her family---what is the sin in that? As long as she is not being forced to not do it.

You should know better than anybody that its not right to assume things about one's character based on the clothes they wear (or don't wear), or to judge someone b/c they wanted to go for higher education or choose to work instead of be stay-at-home mothers. So why is it someone who wears a hijab or niQab or chooses not to work shd be scrutnized and judged?

Seriously; pay a visit to Karachi University/ NED (Engineering) / Dawood (Medical).... go and see how many sisters do observe the niqaab, Alhumdulillah. You may be pleasantly surprised :)

Mothers? Good mothers? I couldn't agree more. You educate your women --> their skills as mothers will skyrocket.

Now, I must pose this question to you: Where were the good mothers when people were running around on the streets of Karachi as in many other cities post-Benazir's assasination, burning down over 100 banks across the nation, damaging factories, and burning down apartments/businesses??? Watch the videos - you will see LOTS of kids present in that criminal population. Where were their mothers? Surely, they're not all motherless.

Many of your comments are good and on target, but I'm sorry, the evidence points otherwise. The evidence shows that are women, globally (muslim women that is) are NOT very educated on average. That most of them do not hold their own jobs/careers on average. And you want to talk about the aalimah teaching her deen? How many clerics do you see on Pakistani TV that are female? Lets forget about just talk shows. I mean, clerics get interviewed all the time on television - where are all the female scholars? There are women, indeed, but in a minority. I do support women getting involved in religious disciplines too! But I don't see it happening.

I do see lots of women increasingly taking on the niqaab.

Doesn't measure up, does it?

Behn jee, I am well acquainted with professional schools in Pakistan. Now lets do some rough stats. I can take out all the women in professional schools in Pakistan and count how many of them wear a niqaab (minority, by the way, NOT a majority, not counting hijabs - which I don't think are backwards necessarily).

Now take all the women in Pakistan who wear niqaab and count how many of THEM are in professional school?

The problem isn't the garb. The problem is when a cleric comes out and says "look this is a woman in a niqaab. She doesn't work, sits at home, tends to her husband and children, and stays quiet in the affairs of politics and the public. She is a good believer and will go to heaven."

Do I disagree she's going to heaven? Not my position, I don't play God like some of you.

Do I think that this sort of preaching is safe? Absolutely not. Because the cleric, very intelligently, has now tied the niqaab with that of a image of a quieted woman. Which is exactly the OPPOSITE the world needs right now. The world needs active women!

So, that's why I don't think lifting this ban on hijaabs is bad at all. But if it leads to that sort of preaching, as you see quite often in places like Pakistan (and don't even start with me, I've seen it myself), then yes, it becomes VERY DESTRUCTIVE. The fear of which led to the ban in the first place.

Peace PyariCgudia

Alhumdulillah when a mother becomes more skilled at becoming a mother she realises that her children are her priority and not her career.

And Alhumduillah when knowledge is gained it improves faith also which is the reason why I guess the sisters want to observe inward and outward hijab with rigour ... It does measure up from where I am looking from. Perhaps you can take look from this perspective if this perspective makes things clearer then this perspective may be more accurate ??? Just a thought

^ and above is an excellent example of confusing a garment, the "niqaab", with the social position of the female - a woman to stay at home and pay attn to her children as his primary responsibility, thereby taking her away from the debating grounds, taking her opinions out of those opinions used to shape society, taking her skills out of the workforce, etc etc.

Let me remind you. You were more than likely born, because some woman had the courage to not listen to people like you and be there for YOUR MOTHER when she was giving birth to YOU by delivering your sexist behind to this world.

^ I dont know what islam you study, if any.
But the Prophet pbuh did mashwara with his wife, women for the first time had the right to express opinion, and they willingly stayed at home.

Please look up islam on google.

Uh , NO. Bibi Aisha was instrumental as a teacher - she had students. She put together a number of hadith. This was a monumental achievement. Oh by the way, she fought a war, ya remember that? I don't recall anyone telling her to sit home then, and sure as hell not the army of men that followed her calling.

Khadija was quite the businesswoman. It wasn't like "Oh, honey, can I sit at home now that you're a Prophet? Okay great". In your dreams. They handled the business together until it was time to move on to greater things, and even then she was there beside him throughout the early days. Again, quite the opposite of our content desi aunties who sit on their arses on the couch all day watching Aunty Farkhunda's cooking show.

The hadith's are rich with the deeds that these women did. They did A LOT. So quite making it seem like they chose to sit at home like noble and obedient women - those sorts of women are NOT what these women were. They were strong and dealt with a whole lot of crap that I don't think your pinky can handle.

Right, our patriotism is weak so therefore we see PAKISTANI suicide bombers all over Pakistan…I tell you what the real problem is?
They dont have people going against their own country (as worse as It may become) (and I mean country not leader) and give such statements like you, while living in Toronto or other cities abroad. Secondly, they dont let themselves influence by propaganda by the west like many of us do (the brainwashing is not only done by wahhabis and extremists. There is another force too!).
Finally, this is how you start propagating wave (directly or indirectly) against your own country (men!).

Last but not least, this move is very much appreciated :k:. Hope that the Army does not barge in.

Don't know why you posted that as a response on Crescents last post. I think Crescent was stating a pretty simliar opinion. Or Is there a misunderstanding on my behalf!?

This is excellent! JazakAllah.

If only people could read it with open mind and understand the message but than the guidance is in Allah :swt: hands and Allah :swt: will guide those who wants guidance and do strugle for it because that “want” and “strugle” part is in our hands. I pray may Allah give guidance to me and all Muslims. InshAllah.

If needed I can provide a proof for the above bolded part seen with my won eyes. :) A women who had higher education, turned down a good paying job and ended up staying home taking care of the family. Ofcourse it was her choice not that her husband forced her. :)

^ And that's fine. She'll probably be able to better educate her children on life than the woman who rarely leaves her home. No?

:salam:

PCG, just to put your history in the proper chronological perspective. Aisha RA retired to the scholarly life and immensely homely life only after her defeat at Basra during the Caliphate of Ali RA. And this was because Ali RA reminded her that the Prophet SAW had in particular advised his wives not to indulge in affairs of the political society after his demise. This is no way is meant to say that women belong in the house 24/7 but just adding a little perspective to your comments. In the society of that time it was probably wise for women to not indulge in the affairs of the society of which all its major aspects of politics and business were heavily dominated by men, today society is much different though.

No such thing. If that were the case, everyone in society would have hushed Aisha (R) from the beginning. How did she marshal the army support that she got - it wasn't an army of women, may I remind you. And Ali (R)'s gave no such reminder to her - she chose to withdraw to a more private life after the war was over. Regardless of who won or not, he steps were taken and an army was formed, and that alone should tell you the roles women took.

Women fought wars at the time, in the Prophet's army. A minority, sure, but they were there. Those who didn't fight, were in the support staff - providing food and shelter and clothing and doing all kinds of things to help their army. They were doing much more than cooking and changing nappies.

The Prophet WORKED for and MARRIED his female boss; if he disapproved of such roles, he would never have married her. He sure didn't marry women who did wrong sorts of things, did he? Weren't his marriages examples?