trying to conceive

How thoughtful of you all! It surely is torturing, the worst I got was (and this is for real), "Your nose looks swollen, are you pregnant !?!

I laugh about it now but I felt like real a**e kicking at that moment..:hehe:

Re: trying to conceive

The following news article may be of some help for us to understand this topic more clearly.

BBC NEWS | Health | Daily sex ‘best for good sperm’

**Daily sex ‘best for good sperm’ **

Having sex every day improves sperm quality and could boost the chances of getting pregnant, research suggests.
In a study of men with fertility problems, daily ejaculation for a week cut the amount of DNA damage seen in sperm samples.

Speaking at a fertility conference, the Australian researcher said general advice for couples had been to have sex every two or three days.

Early results from the trial had already shown promising results.

But 118 men have now been tested and the benefits for sperm have become clearer.

Dr David Greening, from Sydney IVF, told delegates at the European Society for Human Reproduction and Embryology meeting that eight in ten men taking part showed a 12% drop in sperm DNA damage after the seven days.

Although there was a big drop in sperm numbers from 180 million to 70 million over the week, men were still within the normal “fertile” range.

Sperm also became more active over the seven days with a small rise in motility, he added.

Damage

The theory is the longer sperm hang around in the testes the more likely they are to accumulate DNA damage and the warm environment could also make them more sluggish after a while.

Sperm come under attack by free radicals - small reactive molecules which can damage DNA and cause cell death - in the tube that stores and carries sperm away from the testes.

Further work is needed to work out if daily sex for men without fertility problems has the same benefits but Dr Greening believes it is likely to be the case.

He warns that having daily sex for too long - say a fortnight - would probably cut sperm numbers too much.

But recommended “lots of sex daily” around the time the woman is ovulating.

He said it was best to “keep the river flowing”.

As men age they may not have as much sex as they did when they were younger, adding to the problem of infertility, Dr Greening told delegates.

"We are designed to breed in our youth.

“Perhaps we have been blaming the women as couples get older but perhaps there’s a contribution from the male because we’re not behaving as we should be.”

The findings may also have implications for couples undergoing IVF as men are commonly told to abstain from sex for a couple of days to try and boost sperm numbers.

Dr Alan Pacey, a fertility expert at the University of Sheffield, said the finding that daily ejaculation improved the chances of conception was interesting, but it would be wrong to apply the results to all men.

"For example, in cases where men have low sperm counts to start with, daily ejaculations may well reduce the sperm count still further and whilst sperm may be more healthy the reduced numbers could impede the chance of natural conception.

"The best general advice is that if couples are attempting to conceive naturally, intercourse every couple of days will make sure the sperm are as healthy as possible on each occasion.

“However, in preparation for IVF or ICSI treatment, this advice may well change in response to medical test results like DNA damage measurements.”

^ You're in my prayers, Dua. Have you and hubby started seeing a doctor about this? You'll be surprised how much relief you get, just knowing.

^ I can understand being scared. It's natural to feel that way. Especially as it seems that everyone is able to do this so easily, and there is something wrong. But really, I can tell you it makes a world of difference to see a specialist. In fact, I've heard from countless women that they wish they hadn't spent so much time being "treated" by their OBGYNs (who often don't have the authority or facilities to monitor as closely as specialists do) and went straight to a specialist (usually a Reproductive Endocrinologist).

Don't be scared. There's no reason you shouldn't take advantage of the resources Allah SWT has made available to you.

to all the girls trying to conceive....we r in the same position; docs have recommended IVF; however, i am worried that the huge onslaught of egg harvesting medicines will make me gain weight.

is that true? i tend to gain a couple of pounds (2-4) at least when they give me the HCG injection to pop the eggs - and this is with CLOMID 100 MG ONLY!!!

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE guide me as to how much weight did u gain BEFORE conceving, due to the CLOMID / HCG, for IVF

Insha Allah everything will work out fine for you. Jis rooh nay duniya main ana hai usko koi nahi rok sakta and haar rooh ka is duniya main anay ka time decided hai. Don't loose hope , think positive and have faith on the power of Allah.

Good luck everyone!

well they recommend ivf due to low sperm motility....rapid linear is usually zero, and total motility, usually 10-20%...they say its too low for iui - i did do an iui cycle but found it very painful when they inserted the syringe... :(

Hmm...I had IUI and it was quite painless, just a little discomfort that's all.

Rockon, did your husband see a Urologist, if the motility is too low then maybe it should be accompanied by some medication just to make sure of better chances. Hope it works for you, IA.

rockon, don't be so concerned with how much weight you'll put on, i mean, being pregnant means putting on weight, right? and weight thats put on can always be lost. do what you need to do and don't stress about this additionally.

good luck to all the ladies out there who are ttc
you just have to pray a lot and also try to get a second opinion from another doctor
A good friend was misdiagnosed with PCOS when she had none of the symptoms...she was really small (a size 4), didn't have much facial hair, etc. and her periods were late. This one doctor kept giving her all these drugs for PCOS patients and then she got sick of taking them and went to another fertility doctor. I think she took a pregnancy test as per the doctor and found out she was 7 weeks pregnant.
I think it helps to get a second opinion and keep on thinking positive plus lots of prayer and exercise.

Awww. Your Aunt has been through such a tough time. May Allah Talah bless her so much. At least she is so fortunate that she has one beautiful daughter Mashallah.

hey everyone!!
i just want to know does having regular periods means that you are fertile enough?
or still there are chances that you wont get pregnant or u r infertile?

^ In most cases, regular periods ARE a sign that your reproductive system is working fine. However, there are women who still have issues, either because there is a problem with their system, or hubby's. However, try not to think about all the negative possibilities. If there's an issue, you'll know after trying for 6-12 months, and you'll go to the doctor and get it addressed. InshAllah, there will be no issue.

thankyou so much sahar =)

wow, reading this article made me teary eyed ;(.

may Allah swt bless us all with healthy, pious, righteous children...ameen.

pumpkinpie- whats your progress now? i wish you all the best iA :).

this got me thinking....

how long does it usually take to get pregnant once you stop taking birth control pills?

hi guppis , i want to know side effect of 3rd degree 4ceps /big rapture during delivery

nabz, it takes the average couple 6-12 months is what my doctor told me.

hi all, iv been trying to conceive for 7 months now with no luck.. i really thought this would be my month but iv just come on & have been crying, i no its bad to cry but i just feel so frustrated & down, inshallah my time will come but its so hard to go through the same routine every month.. sorry had to vent somewhere, hp all u ladies are having better luck than i am x

^ Aishii -- It can be remarkably frustrating. How old are you? Do you have any health issues that may affect your fertility? Have you seen a doctor?

7 months isn't that long -- you're time will come, inshAllah.