hey guys,
my mum and alot of ppl around me including sum doctors believe that admiring beautiful things around u helps developing a beautiful baby.Alot of ppl keep posters of cute babys or sceneries or look at there hubbies etc. Im 9 weeks pregnant and all i look at is my cat!! that doesnt mean my baby wud endup looking like one lol its ridiculous, wel hard to believe on my part atleast scientifically doesnt make sense. however i wud like to know how many of u do follow this and if u believe it realy does make a difference? because alot of things our elders tel us is usualy sensible.
Also, can certian types of food (ie chocolates mangoes daals etc) be harmful for the baby in the first trimester?
its definitely a myth! lol
your genes determine how your baby looks and that's hard-coded into your future baby at fertilization, so unless you're Brangelina, there is no guarantee how good lookin' your baby will be hahahahah :p
i think foodwise you're not supposed to eat unpasteurized cheese and any raw meat like carpaccio or sushi.
BUT... looking at nice things, being in a good environment, keeping your feelings positive, staying happy etc etc will help you stay in an uplifted mood which is both good for youself and the baby.
oh my god sajal baji is that your baby's ultrasound? are you almost there?
OH MY GOD again :D
and oh for the topic.. my sister thought a lot about me in her second pregnancy and her kid is a ditto copy of me in everything.. go figure :D
ps: isn't true that cat litter contains some parasite that's not good for pregnant women? please dun kill me if I am wrong.. I just heard it somewhere long time ago!
I've even seen a pregnant woman put up a poster of a beautiful baby in her room, because of the idea that looking at it will make your baby beautiful as well. You never know how kids will turn out. You'll see adorable babies turn out to be average looking adults. And you may see the average looking kids turn out to be good looking adults.
I've even heard that the baby will bond with whomever the pregnant woman was close to during the pregnancy. Lots of myths.
I have read....and I don't know if this is true.....that a woman's mental state can affect the temperament of the baby. (If someone knows more about this...then it would cool to get some insight). For example, I read that there was this woman who was engaged in some sort of substance abuse that triggered mood swings/irritability in her.....and as a result her baby was a hyperactive one. But then again, what you consume...will enter your bloodstream...and affect the baby. I've also read an example where a woman had no desire to have her baby....felt resentment toward it......and the baby was not a calm/happy baby and had a hard time bonding with its mother. Of course...it takes time for newborns and moms to adjust to one another in the beginning. But the idea was that the pregnant woman's state of mind has some bearing on the mood/temperament of the baby. It might be that when you're stresses....hormones are released in your body....which can affect the baby within you.
Rather than believe in superstitions................a picture of a pretty baby does not have the power to make your baby pretty.............ask Allah to give you healthy, beautiful, and naik offspring. He has the power to create.
oh my god sajal baji is that your baby's ultrasound? are you almost there?
OH MY GOD again :D
and oh for the topic.. my sister thought a lot about me in her second pregnancy and her kid is a ditto copy of me in everything.. go figure :D
ps: isn't true that cat litter contains some parasite that's not good for pregnant women? please dun kill me if I am wrong.. I just heard it somewhere long time ago!
Ok Sajal...please dont kill me,but it does not look like an ultrasound in the profile picture...to me it looks like the moon or something...sorry...
GtG...your sister must regret it now...:p...muhahha
And cat litter thing...yeah its a risk factor for toxoplasmosis so its suggested for pregnant women to avoid changing the litter box and stuff
To the original poster...its definitely a myth...but I have heard it and seen it (in bollywood movies...:D...)
hahahahha ok I take my words back.. now it does look like a moon.... I swear it looked like a baby ultrasound at the first sight.. like a full term baby :$
chipsy.. not only she regrets but she just doesn'tmiss me anymore and has enough of me bugging her going on :D
GTG,
It’s not an ultrasound. I better remove the pic before others start seeing it as one too… lol.
Ps: I wish I was almost there. We still got a loooooooooooooong way to go.
Chips,
thanks for not seeing it as an ultrasound… hehehe.
RV said everything I wanted to say and she has said it very well :k:
Regarding mental state of mother on unborn child. I was being told by my mom that tumharay bachay ka pata nahi kiya hoga , she was really worried ! I experienced worst of my life when I was pregnant. Was sad and under depression . Most of the time I was upset & my mind was filled by negative thoughts. I had no sukoon at all. I was so much sure that my baby would get affects of it. But Alhamdolillah …A Million Thanks to Allah my baby is not at all what I was fearing her to be. She is friendly , playful , she hardly cries , she is masha allah a smiling & happy baby. Overall she is no fuss baby. But yes one thing is there she rarely gets angry but when she does it’s really bad.
Regarding looks she does not look like any of those people whom I used to see when I was pregnant. It’s genetic . Kids take their looks from parents (most of the time).
Remember babies change their looks everyday & every month ! Like RV said You’ll see adorable babies turn out to be average looking adults. And you may see the average looking kids turn out to be good looking adults. When my baby was born she was red as a tomato , her eyes were fused and she was very small ! But now she no longer looks like tomato
I'd like to share this with you....i'm 6 weeks pregnant!!! MA...i'm so happy!!! But i'm also very afraid to have a miscarriage... I had a miscarriage about 1,5 yr ago....what should i do???
Iksa- don’t think negative that is the best you can do ! Read Sura-e-Maryam and Sura-a-Waqea whenever you get time ( I am not saying that you read it everyday ) but try to read them as often as you can.
Just think positive . Take all precautions , follow your obgyn advises , eat healthy food , drink plenty of water , & juices , take plenty of rest & keep praying Almighty Allah.
Regarding mental state of mother on unborn child. I was being told by my mom that tumharay bachay ka pata nahi kiya hoga , she was really worried ! I experienced worst of my life when I was pregnant. Was sad and under depression . Most of the time I was upset & my mind was filled by negative thoughts. I had no sukoon at all. I was so much sure that my baby would get affects of it. But Alhamdolillah ......A Million Thanks to Allah my baby is not at all what I was fearing her to be. She is friendly , playful , she hardly cries , she is masha allah a smiling & happy baby. Overall she is no fuss baby. But yes one thing is there she rarely gets angry but when she does it's really bad.
in my case i think it was opposite. i was totally stressed out and wud think negative all the time.. i m a bit pessimistic by nature anyway. plus my MIL was to come for my delivery for 3mnths and i spent my entire preg worryin abt her taunts and stuff rather than focusin on the future wid my baby. i regret it now. cus the day she was born everyone noticed oski eyebrows hamesha chadi rehti thi aur mathay pe line thi. she wud frown. even now sometimes she frowns. honestly i didnt know it wud affect ehr this mch.
^ mall she is a new born. like you have mentioned in other threads that she cries alot which I believe is due to cloic. So that means she is in pain. Even when we adults are in pain we frown. She is just a baby off course she won’t giggle & smile when she is in pain. I spoke of my daughter who is 8 months old now masha allah . Now she can show emotions and understand things too. No comparison with your little angel. Give her sometime all babies are like that for a few months of their lives. Insha Allah she will grow up to be a healthy & happy baby.
and yes you should see my daughter when she gets ziddi over something. Asmaan saar pay utha leti hai. All kids are like that and we were too when we were kids , ask your mommy
and please don’t take MIL tension , koi faida nahi hota . just concentrate on your baby.