I am doing a tribute slideshow at my wedding to my MIL who passed away two years ago. I was confused about the song that I could use that wouldn’t be too sad, maybe upbeat but sentimental and beautiful. Nothing depressing that would make everyone cry but would still be appropriate and help honour her in a beautiful way…
I would go with instrumental music, that way people will focus more on the slideshow and less on the words of the music. I would stay away from Kal ho na ho- the song or the instrumental version- too depressing. I found this one that is sentimental, yet not depressing and has a good feel…
Instrumental is a good idea. I originally was going to play Kinha Sona Tenu because it starts off as a slideshow of our childhood photos it was a nice piece that wasn't too sad so I'm still contemplating that. I'll try and find some nice instrumentals. Theres In Lamhon Ke Damaan Mein also a nice one?
I really like the instrumental idea. Or you record various members of the family making little speeches about her and use that as the music? Not sure if that would be too emotional though, could trigger some tears.
It's a beautiful idea though, very thoughtful of you. I'm sure many will appreciate it.
Instrumental is a good idea. I originally was going to play Kinha Sona Tenu because it starts off as a slideshow of our childhood photos it was a nice piece that wasn't too sad so I'm still contemplating that. I'll try and find some nice instrumentals. Theres In Lamhon Ke Damaan Mein also a nice one?
Kina Sona Tenu would be fine for you and your fiance. However, I wouldn't have that playing for the tribute. It's a song that a lot of people know, they know the words to it. So when your MILs pics will be up, they'll be thinking of the words to the song and find it strange because the singer is admiring a really pretty girl he loves.
For your MIL... In Lamhon Ke Damaan Mein (instrumental) is a really good choice too along with Yeh Dooriyan that I suggested... not many people can figure out the words to these songs, so they just sound like really nice instrumentals. In Lamhon Ke Damaan Mein (the song/instrumental) could also work for the slideshow on you and your fiance.
Thank you for the suggestion guys! Still looking though, these are all great but I need something with a little bit more of a beat and because our baby photos will play before i start focusing on the pictures of his mother I need something thats not depressing at all. My fiance doesn't want that, he says he wants people to remember his mother in a happy light, not a sad one. Her passing came at a time of one of my other cousins wedding and they showed her pictures with some other family members who had passed with sad music, and everyone was cryingggg aloot so thats what we don't want to happen again, but its so tough choosing a song with the right words and lyrics and music.
Actually, with Kinha Sona..first our pictures play and then her pictures are playing at the part of the instrumental of the song and because its nusrat and a classic ...need one that doesn't have a bollywood feel you know? I'll check out all your suggestions, keep em coming! :)
Or Zindagi Ke safar mein : The wordings of this song is just amazing.. Below is the original and then a remix version too if u dont want the olidsh touch to it..
I don’t know… IMO it’ll be tough to find a song. From what I understand, you’re looking for one song that you’re going to use for your slideshow that contains pics of you and your fiance (from childhood to present), then go into a tribute to your MIL. You’re looking for an upbeat song that isn’t depressing. And a song that isn’t bollywood.
That’s really difficult, because then you’re left with RFAK, NFAK, and other pakistani singers. It’s tougher to find a song that wouldn’t be tactless when it comes to the tribute. I would suggest using two different songs, or go with Yaadein that zainykhan posted (but it’s bollywood).
The only other suggestions that I have are 3 songs:
Maybe have the tribute at the sort of upbeat instrumental parts
Same thing, tribute at the instrumental parts, but it’s a bollywood song
bollywood, upbeat… but somehow make it tasteful when it comes to the tribute?
The first thing that came to mind when I read this thread was something instrumental. As soundarya said finding a song will be very difficult as you need something with the appropriate words/meaning. Going instrumental means that you can keep everyone happy without the risk of offending anyone due to song choice.
Thank you for the suggestions soundaraya! You know what I totally forget about Tere Bina and it could totally work with the slideshow. I guess Bollywood songs would work since there wouldnt be too many options with out. My only thing with instrumental is that it makes the slideshow a little boring. Maybe I can try and get the instrumental for Tere Bina if I can find it and put it against the slideshow to see how it would look together. I had asked my Dad about Kinna Sona and he said the song the words were okay because hes mentioning how beautiful god has made the person hes referring to so for the case of the slideshow would be fine. I tried looking up some lyrics for some more background and this is what I found, so now its giving me a little peace of mind that the song is a good choice but I just want it to be perfect so I'm going to keep on looking. If I still don't find anything better that I like, then I'll know I made the right choice. I made my fiance listen to and he said he liked it but it was up to me if I wanted to change so decisions decisions decisions..
Here are the lyrics I found, let me know what you guys think! :)
inna sona tenu rab ne banaya.../how beautifull god has made you kinnna sohna tenu rabb ne banaya../how beautifull god has made you ho dil kare vekhda rava../i wish i keep watching you forever kinna sohna tenu rabb ne banaya..../how beautifull god has made you
dil murda nahi laakh samjhaya../my heart doesnt understand, i made it undertsand a lakh times dil murrda nahi laakh samjhaya.../my heart doesnt understand, i made it undertsand a lakh times dil kare vekhda rava../i wish i keep watching you forever ho kinna sohna tenu rabb ne banaya../how beautifull god has made you
kinna sohna tainu rabb ne banaya...../how beautifull god has made you
Dil vich tera pyar vassake../with your love in my heart vekhi java kol bithake../i wish i make u sit close to me n keep looking at you vekhi jaava kol bithaake.../i wish i make u sit close to me n keep looking at you ho tenu dil waale sheeshe ch sajaaya../hey..i have decorated u in the mirror of my heart tenu dil vaale sheeshe ch sajaya../i have decorated u in the mirror of my heart dil kare vekhda rava *.../*i wish i keep watching you forever
**ho kinna sohna tenu rabb ne banaya../how beautiful god has made you
Pyar tera e zindagi meri../Your love is my life karni e main pooja teri../i want to worship you tenu akhiyan de vich mai vassaya../i have absorbed u in my eyes tenu akhiya de vich main vassaya../i have absorbed u in my eyes dil kare vekhda rava .../i wish i keep watching you forever ho kinna sohna tenu rabb ne banaya../*how beautiful god has made *
The first thing that came to mind when I read this thread was something instrumental. As soundarya said finding a song will be very difficult as you need something with the appropriate words/meaning. Going instrumental means that you can keep everyone happy without the risk of offending anyone due to song choice.
Thank you for the suggestions soundaraya! You know what I totally forget about Tere Bina and it could totally work with the slideshow. I guess Bollywood songs would work since there wouldnt be too many options with out. My only thing with instrumental is that it makes the slideshow a little boring. Maybe I can try and get the instrumental for Tere Bina if I can find it and put it against the slideshow to see how it would look together.
Here are the lyrics I found, let me know what you guys think! :)
You're welcome :) I know that instrumental can seem boring. That's why I was suggesting using two songs... one with words for the slideshow on you and your fiance, then the instrumental for the tribute. But Tere Bina (the full song, not instrumental) could work for the entire slideshow because it has quite a few long instrumental parts in it, like the "dum tana mast mast... Oh hooo." If you time the tribute correctly with those sections, it could turn out great. Even Chaand Sifarish might work if you have the tribute at the SubhanAllah and whistling parts.
The lyrics for Kina Sona... your dad is correct in that its admiring someone... but it's admiring the person in a romantic way... "dil kare vekhda rawaan." I would find it a bit strange. But it's your wedding and if you and your fiance are happy with it, go for it. If I can think of any other suggestions, I'll let you know. And let us know what you decide to do :)
So I finally picked a song and since I was feeling a little stressed about the slideshow with everything else, I decided to let my cousin take over and she will be finishing it for me. After a lot of consideration, we decided to use the song Kaise Mujhe - from Gajini. It has beautiful vocals with nice music and we decided we wanted to go for a romantic song instead of one that was talking about loss and sadness. It didn’t feel appropriate to play a sad song and we just didnt want instrumentals to be too boring. We also couldnt use two songs because it wouldnt flow together, so finally picked this song and although I wont be seeing the slideshow till the wedding, I think its the best choice!