Travelling to pakistan - MRP

hey guppies and guppans

I am travelling to pakistan in order to get a computerised passport on urgent basis as embassy here sucks and takes two month even on urgency terms there is so much blah blah to it.. no point the only way to get passport in 10 days is to get it processed back home.

The point is address on my passport is off sialkot, i m going to lahore as i feel its a bit “secured” than sialkot as m going to b staying at PC and knw a few people in lahore also have some official work to finish off. The only thing i m scared abt is their are 80% chances they wll ask me get it processed in sialkot and i got nobody there to help out i dont even know a secured hotel to stay in sialkot..car rentals and all. I just feel i m so going to b shot dead there …

Any tips what can i do in such a situation. Any help would be sooo much appreciated. Just want to come back with a computerized passport in single piece and asap :frowning:

PS :- I m leaving on the 1st …

Re: Travelling to pakistan - MRP

itnay bhi buray halaat nai hain sialkot may !!! I think there will be 100% chances they will tell you to get it renewed from sialkot !

is it possible for me to get it processed from directly from islamabad ?

prototype ho sakta hai nahi hain mager past aik week se mein jissey bhe baat ker rahi hoon they oweys end up saying tum akeli jaa rahi ho??? and the reaction is O.M.G its not safe car rentals waalon pe bharosa na kero A.B.C.D not even a single person with some positivity ! !

any help on locating a secure reknowned hotel in sialkot ? something similar to PC who offer car rental, driver and all.

I wud really appreciate it .. thanks

Hotel One - Our Hotels

If you need to stay in Sialkot, you can stay in hotel one, or better than that is if you stay in Cantt, if you ask to go to Cantt restaurant called silver spoon, on the right and left hand side above the shops there are 2 hotels, I've visited them, they are cheap, clean and safe. (around 1800 rs a night) hotel one is overpriced and debatably less safe as it isn't in Cantt. I've stayed in hotel one, not brilliant.

what is wrong with manual passport?

^ Manual kahan bante hain ab??

u cant travel without a computerised passport within a few countries in middle east, europe and a few in sub-continent the manual passport is creating hinderence for me in getting visas for a few countries i need to travel on biz

At almost every Pakistani embassy in the world. My wife had a manual passport issued at the embassy here in Vienna. Last year we were planning a stopover in Dubai, I called up the Embassy and asked them what we would have to do to get an MRP. The guy replied: "Aap ko Frankfurt jaana parhe ga." I was like: "Seriously?????"

The reason is: Currently there are only three Pakistani Embassies in Europe that have the equipment to take a digital photograph and digital fingerprints. So only these three embassies accept applications for MRPs: London, Rome and Frankfurt. All other embassies in Europe are still issuing the manual ones.

We ended up not stopping over in Dubai and got a new MRP for my wife during our stay in Pakistan. Had the Dubai stopover this year then. :-)

^ Thanks for the information, I didn't know.