Travel to China from Pakistan

I been to china few years ago but trip started from flight via hongkong
this time I want to travel by train from Pakistan to China, via karakorum highway.
it may be rough ride but it would be great.

Plan is start from Islamabad fly or take ride to Gilgit from there enter into China travel accross China see all major cities and fly back from Beijing.

Re: Travel to China from Pakistan

Well if u really want to do this it would be a great experience man

Entering China from Pakistan through KKH will be a mind blowing experience

Either go to Skardu via flight and from there hire a jeep till the border enter China and enjoy

Else go to Skardu from ISB via road

BTW do u got Visa of China

Its gonna be an awesome trip, and its in my queue of journeys which i would love to go on some day...

but! unfortunately the KKH is severely damaged at two different places at the moment. some 150 meters piece had fell down into the river near Mansehra a week ago, due to a massive landslide, and the attaabad landslide lake which was naturally created last year in january is still there, and it has submerged a good 10+ KM area of the highway... works on an alternate route are in progress but they are not likely to complete by the start of this season...

although there is a "boat service" operating in the lake, which you can use to cross that area, and take another ride from the other end of the hunza... if you are planning to take your own vehicle, then i think its not possible this time...

please share with us any more details of your plan : )

Best of luck with this great adventure

If one wants to enter China then he should go to Gilgit, not Skardu.. If you go to Skardu, it will add an extra 225 Kilometers traveling by road (If taking flight from Isb to Skardu) or 360 Kilometers if on own vehicle coming from Islamabad (Its like going to Skardu from Jaglot and then coming back to Jaglot from Skardu and resume journey towards Gilgit). However, its whole different case if one wants to experience the beautiful Deosai Plains and other attractions of Skardu :) Best of Luck for the adventure, do keep us updated.

opps sufi bhai i didnt knew that......i always thought for entering China u have to go to skardu lol.........

true, but spending one day traveling from skardu to hunza is worth the hassle, isnt it? and i think even if one flys to gilgit he still needs to spend a night at hunza/sust to actually cross the khunjerab pass and reach the nearest chinese city in the day light : )

Hmmm.. If one plans to spend at least 2-3 days in Skardu then its worth it. Otherwise there is no point in just traveling by road from Skardu to Gilgit/Hunza. Kia khayal hai? The real beauty of Skardu is Deosai Plains, Sheosar Lake etc and by traveling from Skardu to Gilgit/Hunza wouldn't even let you see the glimpse of it.

My wish is too see Skardu and spend at least one week there …go to deosai plains

Dont know kab puri hogi yeh wish :bummer:

na i meant flying to skardu, hiring a 4x4, traversing deosai, and joining kkh near bunji/ jaglot and then heading to hunza, wont take more than 10 hours in total... that is if he's short of time and doesnt want to spend time specially in skardu, otherwise you are right, its better to fly to gilgit and reach hunza in couple of hours and then take rest before the real fun starts : )

for this year we have plan of a road trip from karachi to skardu… we are already 3 guys in a small car, if you have a ride and the will it takes, you can join us in july INSHA ALLAH

aww so sweet of you Aceones bhai …but for me its not possible :bummer:

But Thank you for giving me this offer

^ anytime... : )

BTW Best of luck for ur trip …do upload the pics here at GS :jhanda:

^ thanks, and INSHA ALLAH i will, though i still have to upload pics from my trip in december and did not get time to do that, will be uploading soon i hope...

plzzz upload it bhai :flowers:

I also have the plans to go Skardu in coming July InshaALLAH :) Shayad takrao ho jaye hamara :D

Wow cool ..........ur soo lucky Sufi bhai :D

haha good, lets c

Faisal Khan: sorry we ruined your thread, i'm out

Best of Luck for the adventure, do keep us updated.