Transcript of live chat with Junoon

Transcript of live chat with Junoon, Pakistani Sufi Rock Band on May 28, 2002

Junoon > Nice to be chatting on Indiatimes.

Vedini > What do you think of the ongoing crisis between India and Pakistan?
Junoon > As inhabitants of this region, we feel that war would destroy any future for our present and coming generations.

Vedini > Can’t we have music bands from both India and Pakistan performing together to spread the message of peace?
Junoon > We performed with Euphoria at the UN General Assembly last year. Also we played with Sonu Nigam in Dubai where Indian and Pakistani fans were holding up posters of a heart made up of flags of both the countries. Recently in Boston our concert at M.I.T. was co-organised by Pakistan and Indian Student Association. There is a will; we just need to give peace a chance.

Wow > You say that people in both countries want to “give peace a chance.” But when you walk on the streets of either country war hysteria is pervasive, with support for militarism and armed action. Your comments.
Junoon > There is no war hysteria here in Pakistan. Maybe the media is showing otherwise. We don’t see the masses supporting anything like that here. When neither country has enough money to properly educate and care for its citizens, we don’t feel the people think that they can afford a war. Whenever we’ve been to India as well, the message we get from people is that people want to get on with their lives and any sane person could not possibly expect that war can help either country.

Fish > I’m your big fan. I heard that your band is taking up a collaborative project called `Peace Quest’ with the Indian band Silk Route. What are you planning for the project?
Junoon > Mohit and Atul are very good friends of ours and I remember when we sang in Dehli on the same stage and the world didn’t seem such a miserable and hostile place. So I would say sing for love of humanity. Pyaar Bina Hum Juda Tum Juda, Pyaar Bina
Wow > Who do you think is primarily at fault India or Pakistan? Please don’t be diplomatic. Express your actual thoughts.
Junoon > I think we all are at fault for not being able to talk to each other, know each other and tolerate each other. We need peace and prosperity.

Zerocool > When are you releasing your album, as a tribute to Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan?
Junoon > This summer.

Manzoor_khan > Do you think music can remove the distance between the two countries?
Junoon > Music is the force of love. It can do what guns and bombs can’t that is join peoples’ heart. Music knows no political borders.

Sufiboyz > Do you think you guys are going to make it to the top on Billboard charts with your English album?
Junoon > Well that is the goal. Only our fans would determine whether we are number one or not. We have a new album out which is only available on our website entitled “Daur-e-Junoon”. Click on www.junoon.com and check it out.

Hazelisaac > What do you think about Pakistan testing its missiles?
Junoon > The need of the hour is dialogue between the leaders of India and Pakistan.

Junoooni > Salaam. Hope all is well and that you have recovered from Daur-e-Junoon tour of US. When do you plan to entertain your fans in UK?
Junoon > We will be in UK on the 5th of July at Wembley Arena! Be there! Watch junoon.com for details! Glasgow and Birmingham too!

Intehaa > Dear Salman, Brian and Ali, yesterday I chatted with Lucky Ali, the renowned singer from India. On questioning him about his willingness to play with Junoon, he expressed great camaraderie between Junoon and himself. He would like to work with you, would you?
Junoon > Ali is a wonderful soul and a brilliant artist. We met years ago and immediately could identify with his approach to his art. We took him to the food street in Lahore and he couldn’t stop eating. He’s a great friend of Junoons’. If we ever get an opportunity amidst our busy schedule, we would certainly enjoy meeting each other again.

Varun > According to you what is the only solution to the Kashmir problem?
Junoon > Dialogue. People on both sides want to solve this problem like yesterday. The leaders have to come to a solution and then if necessary, they can put it to a referendum of their people.

Sufiboyz > When are you people going to release your next album. I just get bored watching those millennium videos again and again. Please don’t release on SADAF videos because I watched few of your concerts at Wembley based on the videos released by them, the quality was really poor.
Junoon > We are planning to come out with our new album by the end of this year and maybe earlier if possible.

Kareena > Do you think Pakistan did the right thing by supporting Afghanistan during the US attack on Afghanistan?
Junoon > Pakistan did the right thing. We don’t support war period. But the Taliban had to go. Any terrorist regime needs to be carefully and quickly eradicated to prevent scores of innocent victims of violence, which reflects neither the religion nor national consensus of such evil people.

Juno0oni > I’m crazy about Junoon. Just want to know if you are doing the music for one of Salman Khan’s forthcoming movies?
Junoon > Salman Khan did approach us. But we don’t really make music, which is similar to Bollywood music. We’ll consider it if the movie fits our music or if we find the movie particularly close to our hearts.

Preetam > Are you thinking of organizing peace concerts to ease tensions between India and Pakistan?
Junoon > Yes of course. We will continue what we have done for years i.e. create awareness through a peaceful art form. We did this even last year when Junoon performed in New Delhi to raise funds for the Gujarat earthquake. It was the first South Asian Music Festival, which had bands from Pakistan, India and Bangladesh. Every year we perform in the `One World One Music’ Festival in Dubai. We have played with Sonu Nigam there as well as Euphoria. We invited Euphoria when the UN called us over to play at the UN General Assembly last October. Also, we did an India Pakistan Peace conference.

Junoonshows > Do you think that the US should intervene to sort out Indo-Pak crisis?
Junoon > Both India and Pakistan haven’t been able to do this for over half a century. I think it’s time to accept some guidance. One of the noted commentators in US said that two nuclear powers that have weapons and armies facing each other can’t be left alone to decide there fate. We think the two sides themselves have failed miserably to come to a solution. In that case it seems that mediation is required, who that can’t be said.

Pkchanakya > Hi I have seen your album `Sayonee’ end number of times and I really enjoyed it as much as I enjoy Lucky Ali or Daler Mehendi. Few Years back a Pakistani Prime Minister commented that Indians like Pakistani singers because the singers in India aren’t that good. Do you agree to this?
Junoon > Not at all. I love Lucky Ali. I sing his music to my wife. No, there is talent all over the place. Beauty is in the ear of the beholder and what about Mohammed Rafi?
Who says there is no talent in Indian singers? I must admit that there is quite a bit of talent here in Pakistan too.

Junoonrox > Adding just one line of English in Pyaar Hai Zindagi wrecks the song. Why is Junoon still so insistent on using English lyrics?
Junoon > The story behind that song is like this: Nile Rodgers who originally wrote a song called “We are Family” back in the 70’s asked us to make an Urdu version of the song. And so, we added that as a nod to him! It will be out in a movie called “We are Family” in the US later this year.

Dynamite_gal_junooni_> Do you think it would be possible to defuse tension between India and Pakistan by releasing DAUR-E-JUNOON in India?
Junoon > We would LOVE to!!

Indiandove > Do you think Indians would accept your music now, when relations between India and Pakistan has already turned bitter?
Junoon > Well, we have no doubt that people will continue to listen with the grace of the Almighty. Last time when we were number one on Channel [V] and MTV in India, nuclear tests were being carried out by the two countries. I think in some ways that crisis was worse. But, that didn’t affect our popularity in either of the countries. People only care about your sincerity not your nationality.

Sign off message > Thanks to all our fans for bearing with us in this short but sweet chat session. We hope to meet you all as soon as possible. Do drop us a line at [email protected]. May the Junoon be with you!

They are soo not sufi, they probably don’t even know who rumi is

Sufi Rock Band…

thats funny…I wonder whos gonna be Pakistan’s first Sufi Rapper!!!

I don’t want to achieve immortality through my work… I want to achieve it through not dying.

Salman Ahmed is being diplomatic here. He doesnt want to lose fans in india.Obviously he will never criticize india..

Originally posted by sherrybaba:
**Salman Ahmed is being diplomatic here. He doesnt want to lose fans in india.Obviously he will never criticize india..

TRUE...n that SUFI ROCK thing is really funny.....they don't even know why sufis wrote their kalaam n wut sufis really r

~~Hum aah bhi karte hein to ho jaate hein badnaam~~
~~Woh qatal bhi karte hein to charchaa nahi hotaa~~