Train to Pakistan - Worth reading and learning a few lessons

Hi all,

This book is authored by Khushwant Singh (based in Delhi) who hails from Lahore. It is about the sad chapter of partition. This was first published in 1956. Later a movies was also based on this episode. Author himself was a witness to the orgy of violence which affected the two communities.

Another edition commemorating 50 years of the publication of this book has been launched but this time it contains several pictures from that era…no doubt very disturbing pictures. Most of them are captured by Ms. Margaret Bourke White, American photojournalist/photographer who was covering the tumultous events in Indian subcontinent during that period (1946 onwards).

This book makes a very poignant reading…irrespective of what your faith is, you will cry…wondering why all this all happened and have we learnt any lessons?.

I would suggest all to read this book and see for themselves how common people become victims in the hands of vested interests.

Re: Train to Pakistan - Worth reading and learning a few lessons

^ I saw a movie based on this book when you and your fellows were talking about partition [moin watched partition some indian movie] a month or two back.

This movie is utter propaganda. There never was and is such thing as a BSF in Pakistan and sikhs were no angels. It showed that muslims were 'barbarians' while this sikh guy fought off his own sikhs so muslims wouldn't be butchered [also to do with his affair with a muslim punjaban?].

Seems like Indian propoganda.

They never want to look at both sides of the coin, they've already made their minds up that they're complete angelz and them Mussley are pure evil.

Muslims might have done bad things but Hindus were no angels either, taali donon haathon se bajti hai. Train upon train of Muslim men, women and children were burnt alive by Sikhs and Hindus, and village upon village of Muslims was slaughtered, even their Hindu/Sikh childhood friends joined in sometimes.

It proves partition was a good thing, it showed just how fickle the relationship between the different communities was and how we could never have co-existed in one country.

I haven't seen the movie..but have read both the books..which have become best sellers outside India as well....

Those who don't learn from history are condemned to repeat it....so let us keep carrying the burden of our ancestors to next generation and so on...

Toone mere nana ko maara, main tujhe yaa phir tere poton ko maroonga...an eye for an eye will make the whole world blind.

^ That wasn't the jist of the movie. Btw, how does this khursheeed singh bachcha know what is happening in E. Punjab when he was in lahore?

The sikhs kind of got what they deserved for 1947 in the eighties at the hand of the hindus..

That's disguisting.

Nobody deserves to be punished for the actions of other indivuduals from their community.

do you have any e book link for free so that i can read it

The book is not like the movie. The movie is a typically biased version.
The book is indeed a good read - its more about humanity rather then whose right and whose wrong.

Jaga Rocked!

Good to note that there are sane voices around.

First of all it is not Khursheed Singh. It is Sardar Khushwant Singh.......You can google a bit to figure out who he is.

I don’t know whether free e-book versions are available. But this book is not very expensive. You can get it in Rs. 200-500. But you can read a comprehensive review..check the following link.

well it were kangresi so called most secular party in india who butchered sikhs in delhi.and it also included the likes of jagdeesh titler(christian) and ansari(muslim),sajjan kumar,HKL BHAGAT et.al. so it cant be entirely blamed on hindus.sorry for correcting u coz u ve been entierly brainwashed to the point of no return.

^^ Yeah, blame the muslims for massacring sikhs for killing a hindu PM.

It is you that is hindutva beyond any repair, boy!

yaar me to desi hun, kya desi log book kareed ke padte hi kya :smiley:

self edited

Yes, Congress represents all religions so well that it allowed hindutva mob to burn down Babri Masjid...

Now go and crawl back to the hole which is named "ajtr"..

self edited

Where I live, there is no osama. Plus, living in a hole is an indian trait since only your dark short ajtr type people fit into them... :D

self edited