Visit pakrail.com, it will tell you about all trains on this route, their timings, journey duration and also about fares.
No train goes directly to Islamabad, instead they will take you to Rawalpindi Jn. The only train which goes to Margala is Islamabad express and it leaves from Lahore very early. I traveled through it last year, can't remember exact time but it was very early in morning.
You can get taxi from Rawalpindi station to Islamabad (not sure about cost).
Yeah I meant other than Faisal Mosque. Can you also answer about rawal dam? I wanted to visit for boating but someone said that was a very boring place and I should rather spend time shopping. What are the good shopping places other than Jinnah market?
I'm from Karachi and have been to Islamabad 4-5 times only so my knowledge is kind of limited but still I'll try to answer a few of your questions.
Yes you are right about Rawal dam. I visited it in 2004 and sadly it was disappointing visit. The place looked dirty and smelly. And yes they do have boats.
Pir sohawa would give you a birds eye view of Islamabad which is very scenic, definitely worth visiting. There's also a very good restaurant present there.
In terms of shopping, Islamabad has markets like Jinnah supermarket, Supermarket, Kohsar market etc. Any local would guide you better on this one ;)
If you have time you can go to Ayubia (56 km from Islamabad, 26 km from Murree) which is 100 times better than Murree because it is not very over crowded like Murree. They also have chairlifts (but no cable car).
I'm from Karachi and have been to Islamabad 4-5 times only so my knowledge is kind of limited but still I'll try to answer a few of your questions.
Yes you are right about Rawal dam. I visited it in 2004 and sadly it was disappointing visit. The place looked dirty and smelly. And yes they do have boats.
Pir sohawa would give you a birds eye view of Islamabad which is very scenic, definitely worth visiting. There's also a very good restaurant present there.
In terms of shopping, Islamabad has markets like Jinnah supermarket, Supermarket, Kohsar market etc. Any local would guide you better on this one ;)
If you have time you can go to Ayubia (56 km from Islamabad, 26 km from Murree) which is 100 times better than Murree because it is not very over crowded like Murree. They also have chairlifts (but no cable car).
Rawal dam is no more smelly. They have completed re-constructed whole area a picnic spot (road, hotels, walkways, water sports, etc). Back side of Rawal dam. Same is the case with Pir Sohawa, a lot of renovation. Do visit Dam-e-Koh which is mid way when you go to Pir Sohawa. All three places are a must visit in Islamabad.
Can you please tell me if the train schedules on pakrail.com are reliable? Someone said those are not & one must visit the railway office to get the accurate schedules & other info.
So Jinnah market is a super market? Strange.....
A friend who's going with us is scared of heights & moutnains so we cant go to murree / ayubia & further.
Sufi Bhai, do visit Islamabad again. You will see the difference. :)
Glamor, Jinnah Super market is basically a market with various shops, eateries, etc in F-7 sector. It is a hangout place. You can go there to chill or do people watching in the evening. Super market is also not so far from there. That is is F-6 sector. Both sectors are posh sectors. F-6 being home to the elite in Islamabad. Both sectors are divided by the road which goes straight to Daman-e-Koh and Pir Sohawa.
I suggest you must visit Murree, Ayubia and Nathiagali while in Islamabad. Scenery between Murree and Nathiagali is amazing. Stop at a place called Murti mid way from Ayubia and Nathiagali. Sit and relax. Look deep down the Wadi....like Switzerland :)
Schedules are accurate on this website. However, trains do get late and never maintain the schedule ;)
You should go to Ayubia & Nathiagali.. You won't be scared at all. It's not like you are going on a mountain peak ;) Great safe route. May be hire an experienced driver on this route to be extra cautious other than that its no problem at all. We went there on our own car and didn't had any problems.
The name of the train(s) one can take from Lahore to Islamabad & the ticket cost.
The time of any / all such trains or any local number one can get this information from?
The duration of the above said train journey.
Distance from Islamabad station to the main city / F sector?
What kind of conveyance is available from station to the city & the cost.
Other Questions:
Are there any chairlifts in the Islamabad area (Not Murree). If yes, where?
Does Rawal Dam have boats for public leisure?
What exactly is Pir Sowaha?
How many days does one need to see the whole city including shopping?
Any must-see places & why?
Any serious security issues for the travellers presently? Is it adviseable to visit during this time?
Urgent responses appreciated.
Lots of chakka's going on--hence I thought to jump in:)
**There is no railway station in Islamabad because rail doesnt ply there and will not...due to the area being Federal Capital. Yes--they may get METRO after 50 years!. You have to take Lahore-Rawalpindin RAILCAR which plies 3 times a day from Lahore. Last one leaves at 8 PM. Ticket for 1st class AC is Rs.1800/-
**Journey takes 4 hours--but mostly and usually trains are late--hence could be 6 hours or more!
**Aray Bhaiee...hum koi gaoun mein nahin rehte..Pakistan mein bhi bohat kuch hai..kabhi jhaank ke dekho! You have taxis, coaches and what not from Rawalpindi Station to take you as far as Murree even....
**No there are no chairlifts in Islamabad. Yes--there are near Islamabad at CHATTARBAGH on way to Murree from old road...but for pleasure rides only...
**I haven't seen people taking boat rides while boats are there.....not many but they are there.
**You may need a few hours to do shopping (at Raja Bazar near Liaqat Auditorium) while sight seeing (if any) may take a week or more....
**PIR SOHAWA is a hilly tract where they have made tourist attraction by way of a restaurant MONAAL which ahs awesome food. Otherwise there's nothing there except chilly weather close to the one in Murree.
SECURITY MEASURES rule Islamabad currently. There are 110 security hurdles within Islamabad. I felt like a thief when I drove there some weeks there!!:) BTW--it is advisable to visit all the time!
mm, Sufi bhai & arjay, thanks for all the information.
mm, we have been to all those places (patriyata, murree, ayubia, nathiagali) many times as my uncle owned a hill top house in nathiagali. but this trip we cant cause of this friend who's scared of mountains so...... ill remember that 'murti' spot on our next visit to those places.
Sufi yeah but we cannot leave this friend behind at the guest house while we enjoy in the mountains :) also we have only 3 days. thanks for pointing out the railway 'delay' factor. didnt think of that.
arjay, true with those delayed trains, even if we take the first train of the day, most probably the entire day would be a waste.
arjay, maybe you dont know but in lahore there are no cabs or taxis in the entire city but only and only rickshaws for the past 5-6 yrs as far as i can recall. nobody has a clue where all the cabs have disappeared so people who do not want to or cannot drive by own car are forced to use rickshaw to move around the city. eg; driving on lahore roads is highly stressful for me so i always prefer if someone else can drive me to whereever i wish to go or take a cab / taxi cz not always someone is available to drive you. so then i have no choice other than taking a rickshaw. that truly gives a feeling of being in a thirdworld country. no one has been able to resolve this mystry of disappearance of cabs / taxis from the entire city of lahore. there are some private cabs but you have to go out look for them and also you cannot trust these privates cabs to take you around. that's why i was wondering if the same was the case in rwp / isb (disappearance of cabs) especially on rwp station as i wasnt sure if many people still travel by train.
can you please mention how far is CHATTARBAGH from F7 area please?
Raja bazar sounds like a big market if you need a few hours for shopping. will surely visit there.
thanks for information on pir sohawa. so monal resturant.......... maybe will visit daman e koh, rawal dam & pir sohawa all three on the same day then. should be enough time.
security guards checking is not an issue as we know this is neccesary due to bomb blast threats but i was concerned about security of the travellers because someone said one must not be out on the roads after 7-8pm. so was wondering if that's true and we really need to make sure to be back to our guest house by 7-8pm.