Tragic Mistake in Chechnya

the aniversary of the first russian invasion is approaching and we should look at what has been accomplishd. the stated goals of russian in bringing “peace” to the region have failed and i dont see any sign that it is going to come through status qou. russia must realize that it can not hold other nations by force and MUST let them go otherwise the russian nation shuld not expect anything but what they sow in chechnya, which is death and destruction of scale never seen anywhere before.
[thumb=H]chechn_6045893.JPG[/thumb]
As Chechens marked Saturday, December 11, the 10th anniversary of the second [sic.] Russian invasion of their homeland, former Soviet leader Mikhkail Gorbachev regretted the invasion as a “great and tragic mistake.”

Gorbachev stressed that the invasion not only failed to solve any problems in the republic but also stoked war, terror and cost countless thousands of lives, reported Agence France-Presse (AFP).

“Certainly, what was going on in Chechnya at that time was alarming,” the ex-Soviet leader, who now heads the Green Cross International, an environmental group dedicated to preserving fresh water and eliminating weapons of mass destruction, told Russia’s Interfax news agency.

“But those problems were not unsolvable and the sending of troops into that republic was an absolutely inadequate measure. That was a great and tragic mistake which led to the military campaign and later to a terrorist war.”

Gorbachev, who served as president of the then Soviet Union from 1985 to 1991, said “thousands of people were killed, Chechnya has suffered catastrophic devastation, but the situation there still remains unsettled.”

The small mountainous Caucasus republic has been ravaged by conflict since 1994, with just three years of relative peace after the first Russian invasion of the region ended in August 1996 and the second began in October 1999.

At least 100,000 Chechen civilians and 10,000 Russian troops are estimated to have been killed in both invasions, but human rights groups have said the real numbers could be much higher.

Leila Malueva’s mother is a bit hesitant about giving birth to another daughter – it seems that every time she has a little girl, war engulfs her native Chechnya.

“I’ve got strict orders from my family,” the 35-year-old elementary school teacher says, smiling.

“I need to have a son for this nightmare to stop.”

Her first daughter and oldest child Leila is 10 now, with auburn hair, big brown eyes and a shy streak.

She can tell you all about war.

It’s when houses crumble and people die and adults pack their kids and clothes into cars and drive to strange new places. It has a burning smell and the rat-tat-tat sound of helicopters in the sky.

Leila knows how to act in war and readily shares her wisdom.

“As soon as there are booms, you run to a corner of the room and crouch there – to avoid being hit if the roof collapses.”

In fact she knows how to behave in war so well that it comes naturally, without thought – if she hears helicopter blades on the Caspian coast in summer, she dashes toward her mother and they cower as other beachgoers wonder why.

Leila is a small person who has led quite a life. Her lively eyes have seen much in their first two years – when war first swept Chechnya – even though she does not remember any of it.

It was on December 11, 1994 that former Russian president Boris Yeltsin ordered Russian troops into Chechnya to subdue an increasingly powerful movement there to separate the Caucasus republic from the Russian Federation and establish an independent country.

After two years of horrific fighting, Russian troops pulled out in 1996.

In 1999, then-prime minister Vladimir Putin pushed some 80,000 Russian troops into the Caucasus republic in what Moscow called a lightning-strike “anti-terror operation” but which has since degenerated into a grinding war with Chechen fighters.

The current conflict has driven tens of thousands of Chechens into exile within Russia and abroad.

Thousands of refugees from war-torn Chechnya live in battered tent camps in neighboring Ingushetia and refuse to return home because of continuing insecurity.

Moscow has been considering itself the master of the Caucasus ever since its troops first came to claim the lands in the early 1800s and Chechnya has always chafed at Russian rule.

IslamOnline.net & News Agencies
Kavkazcenter.com

I am ashamed of the Muslim countries who have not helped Chechnya at all they could have sent their armies they could have sent the best commanders and military experts to help the chechens rid themselves of Russia once and for all.

Instead you have the puppet rulers like the Saudi thieving family to Busharaff of pakistan helping Amerikkka by providing military bases, logistics and any help they desire to fight political islam.

The likes of the chechens resistance are inspiration to muslims while the Puppet rulers are the lowest of the low who are an embarrassment and disgrace to us all well to the sincere muslims anyway!

*Originally posted by ak47: *

Instead you have the puppet rulers like the Saudi thieving family to Busharaff of pakistan helping Amerikkka by providing military bases, logistics and any help they desire to fight political islam.

The likes of the chechens resistance are inspiration to muslims while the Puppet rulers are the lowest of the low who are an embarrassment and disgrace to us all well to the sincere muslims anyway!

janab AK47, again and again you have criticized muhsraff for helping USA by renting out all military bases in pakistan....OK FINE....he did very bad but how about if you ever enlighten us with your views about a possible alternative solution in those circumstances.....Before you respond, make sure you remember that our worst enemy India had already offered USA all of its military bases the very next week after 9/11.....so what choice did we have....please guide us......

we could have held hands with our afghan brothers and have said, our destines are togther, we will suffer togther and we will succede togther, if allah wills we will come out fine. just as the rasul :saw: his companions and even his kafir tribe were held in the wadi abi talib because they refused to surrender muhammad :saw: to his enemies. that could have been our example. we could have been severely punished even bombed may be, but i dont see that a life of innocent afhgan is somehow cheaper than life of a pakistani, so we already know thousands of innocent afghanis died so why couldnt it be thousands of innocent pakistani AND afghanis? why couldt we have sacrificed some of our blood in solidarity with our brotehers? i m sure all this talk of relying on allah and sacrificing for your brothers sounds really alien to materialistic hearts, but trust me, there is more to life than money money and money…

And certainly, We shall test you with something of fear, hunger, loss of wealth, lives and fruits, but give glad tidings to As-Sâbirin (the patient ones, etc.). (Al-Baqarah 2:155)

On the Day when that (Al-Kanz: money, gold and silver, etc., the Zakât of which has not been paid) will be heated in the Fire of Hell and with it will be branded their foreheads, their flanks, and their backs, “This is the treasure which you hoarded for yourselves. Now taste of what you used to hoard.” (At-Tawbah 9:35)

^jazakallah...this tandy brother is himself sitting in US and is urging Pakistan to help out taliban even if it needs to be bombarded..wah je wah

jazak allah brother…but also pay attention to what brother lussi said…

second, didn’t we send so many respectable religious delegations to taliban urging them to be reasonable and be logical…didn’t we beg taliban to listen to the voice of logic…even in our own religion , our own prophet PBUH (thousands lives be sacrificed on him) order Muslims to dig a deep trench around Medina instead of fighting the non believers in open field….of course Prophet Muhammad PBUH wanted to teach a lesson to his followers that sometimes it is advisable to be careful……

But Taliban refused to listen to their fellow Muslim brothers……. Brother, do u even know that days before USA attacked Afghanistan, a meeting of thousands of religious Afghan leaders took place in Kabul in which all those Afghan religious leaders urged Taliban to ask OBL and his team to go to a third country so that poor afghans could be saved from destruction but taliban refused to do so……. Taliban chose to follow their old cultural tribal values instead of listening to respectable Muslim religious leaders…. Alas Taliban decided to enforce death on thousands of innocent afghan Muslims……

So who is the real Culprit? we all feel pain for those innocent fellow brothers but they faced death and destruction because of Taliban not because of Musharff. Inshallah, Taliban will face death and see humiliation for what did to poor afghan muslims.

And I know that this thread is about chechnya so I better stop here…

*Originally posted by ThandyMazaq: *

we could have held hands with our afghan brothers ....

hah! go hold hands of your brothers and spare us Pakistanis. These Mullahtic idiotics sit in UK aloo stores, scratch their groins and give lectures to us. Our brotherhood with Talibobos was finished the day they went mad and started killing our Afghan brothers and torturing our Afghan sisters. These iditiotics became famous for:

1. Shaving the heads and arresting Pakistani soccer players.
  2. Closing down girls schools.
  3. Kicking Afghan-lady doctors out of Afghan hospitals.
  4. Beating our Afghan sisters in the streets
  5. Killing our Afghan brothers in Bamiyan, Punjsher and Mazar Sharif.

We advised these Talibobs to form a national government and sit with our Afghan brothers. We advised these Mullahtics to quit beating our sisters in the street and let girls go to school. We told them not to destroy our common heritage like the Bamiyan Buddhas. For the last 1000 years nobody worshipped them. They were the symbols of our past like many forts, graveyards, and other historic buildings. Off course these Talibobs were under the influence of Ex-Russian turned Mullahs and those damned anarchists from Saudi.

You tell us to hold hands of Talibobs the killers of our Afghan brothers. Damn Mullahtics from UK aloo stores.