What is traditional Punjabi attire? Pictures would be appreciated.
I’ve always been curious as to what people mean when they talk about “Punjabi clothes” as I assume they are not referring to Pakistani clothes in general and mean something that is specific to the Punjab area.
(I posted a thread about this in another section related to another reason for my asking.)
When I think of traditional punjabi attire it’s always patiala shalwar (which you’re right isn’t common in Pakistan), a punjabi jhooti, paranda, etc.
But there’s also the punjabi ghagra but that was something my nani use to wear in her punjab village and not really something worn that frequently anymore.
Nowadays, girls wear modern types of punjabi clothing and honestly the trend changes every season.
When I think of traditional punjabi attire it's always patiala shalwar (which you're right isn't common in Pakistan), a punjabi jhooti, paranda, etc.
But there's also the punjabi ghagra but that was something my nani use to wear in her punjab village and not really something worn that frequently anymore.
Question, what is the difference between a ghagra and a lehenga? If I'm not mistaken, they're both skirts, right?
The shirt of the ghagra is always long and ghagras sleeves are typically full or 3/4. Nowadays people change it to make it look more modern but the lengha’s shirt is shorter, some even wear it like a bikini top nowadays (a bit too much for my taste). I know in Pakistan, the gharara kind of looks similar to the Sharara. But I think the Shararas typically worn in Pakistan have longer shirts and are a bit looser.
What is traditional Punjabi attire? Pictures would be appreciated. :)
I've always been curious as to what people mean when they talk about "Punjabi clothes" as I assume they are not referring to Pakistani clothes in general and mean something that is specific to the Punjab area.
(I posted a thread about this in another section related to another reason for my asking.)
Something like this with paranda would be considered traditional Punjab attire. The skirt is called *laacha *in Punjabi.
This is Heer from Pakistani movie Heer Ranjha wearing laacha.
Generally speaking, shalwar kameez is very the traditional Punjabi dress code.
Covering of head is a prominent part of traditional Punjabi culture as well, and it’s followed in the same manner amongst Sikh women as well. The Similar to many other cultures, duppata or chahdor is considered female honour in Punjabi culture.
A gharara differentiates from a sharara in that it is 2 legged/has 2 painchas.
A sharara also has more "ghayr"/volume than a lehnga or ghagra.
I've always thought of ghagras belonging with shorter blouses/cholis as in "ghagra choli" and being shorter in length (at or above ankle) then a lehnga.
Razi U. Ahmed (July 11) makes the point that apart from issues like corruption, one major reason for the gap between Pakistani politicians and the masses is their Western style of dressing. While symbolism may not be everything, it helps to build the ‘we are one of you’ image, says Ahmed, citing the example of Indian leaders as well as Muhammed Ali Jinnah and Zulfikar Ali Bhutto. Though Jinnah was not fluent in Urdu, his style of dressing, especially the Jinnah cap, built a sense of national pride, just as the Westernised Zulfikar Ali Bhutto popularised the salwar kameez. Their traditional style helped them strike a chord with the masses.
Har har banday par nahi jajta… altaf bhai nay bhi kurta pajama pehan kar mohajiron ko lubhany ki koshish ki… mager bechar jawani main kamzoor sa machar aur burhapy main saandh maloom deta hai…