Re: Traditional Pakistani weddings against Islam?
exactly. I don’t think it’s so much that our people are ignorant of Islam as much as the fact that they do not want to follow all of it.
all those people who are against colourful/extravagant/haraam weddings, i would really apprecaite if you take a stand on ur weddings and go for a simple ceremony and let the rest of us have fun. Thankyou.
what exactly is our culture?
If people wnat t have fun on their own damn wedding let them.
ditto, we always find excuses to justify our actions.
[quote=Sharaabi]
:k: Although I think we can do more about the killings/rape too
prohibiting these kind of weddings is one of those social evils that can be easily discarded.If we ALL start on an individual level it can really catch on…
teach knowledge....try going to a weddin wheres theres no cameras allowed..men and women are sperated...shocker right? yeah its not that bad...u still get to see some women if u really want to...lol
Our culture is based on the indian movies including "Hum aap ke hain kaun","Kabhi Khushi Kabhi Ghum","Baghban",etc..........
and Star plus's crapy saas bahu's dramas........
it exists…I went to one, in pakistan pashtoon area, :halo: in a village..gender were strictly separated..and if men were to enter women space , like to take the bride to the groom house, then women would cover their whole face…but it doesn"t mean no fun:hoonh:, women danced and sung…and had nice outfits, and the bride was mashallah really well dressed and make up:k:…but she was not showed to everyone as a trophee ![]()
Masha Allah, that's the way it is back home for us too, even over here Pashtun and some Urdu and Hydros (top Muslims masha allah) families have gender segregated weddings and if they record film then they only record the stage/mandap and family members but Punjabis and other Desis usually have mixed.
Traditions of grooming and beautifying the bride which have no basis in Hindu religion are fine, in fact Hindus adopted things such as Rasme Hinna (Mehndi) from Muslims and there’s nothign wrong with dancing and singing, Huzoor Pak :saw: allowed it on weddings, just keep parda/segregation in mind.
I agree 110% with the article. I am an Indian and some of the things that are done in Indian weddings are against Islam. My friend's sister just got married and she told me all the things that she did, and all i did was shake my head. These new innovations are total b/s.
I have discussed this with my family, and my family has decided when I get married, Inshallah it will be simple. Nikaah in a masjid and the valima. No faltoo rasme's, no gaana bajaana and a wedding that is celebrated with religious boundaries and not culture!!
Sadly, nowadays, culture is of more importance than religion.
And it's true, when you tell people about these things, people just make up other excuses and justify their actions, because they don't want to change. They just take other examples of things are not done Islamically. Well we are talking specifically about weddings here. Sad.
does anyone know what color the bride should wear ISLAMICALLY? I guess the trend in PK has always been to wear red/oragne ect but i think that this stemmed from hinduism... right?
I heard somewhere that in Islam a bride should wear white b/c it symbolized purity - but i don't have any backup for this so i don't know how accurate it is.
If it is true however, i can see why it would be tabu'd in PK b/c widdows wear white in hinduism...and 98% of PK weddings have hindu traits....
any thoughts?
EXCELLENT POINT!!:k: ![]()
Is that how you would like your wife to be, all eyes on your wife on the day she will be looking the most beautiful?
Um, lets see...
Yes.
Um, lets see...
Yes.
No, you really don't need to wear any one specific color. You can wear whatever you would like.
I agree that materialism is a bit out of hand these days, but I'm sorry. Then dont dare buy a mercedes, don't dare buy any clinique make-up, don't dare put on any gucci perfumes, and throw away your designer purses. It amazes me how most of these "oh-paki-shaadi's-are-so-haraam-we-shouldn't-talk-to-our-cousins-etc" type people are the ones in the mercedes, dabbing on their clinique lipgloss, toting a designer purse and spraying on gucci perfumes. The list is quite endless.
Spending a bit of money on yourself and on your happiness is a good thing. You are fueling the economy with your purchasing power.
I mean, its haraam to have money piled up in the bank, its haraam to have chicken tikkas at your wedding, its bloody haraam to talk to people who are going to be part of your family...
If you really believe in all this nonsense, then you follow it. Don't expect everyone to buy into this nonsense, whilst you post pictures of your self in Images. I mean, what about vanity? That's halaal?
^ There is nothing wrong in riding a mercedes, as long as it doesnt puff you up with pride.
There is nothign wrong with with putting on clinique makeup or gucci perfumes or designer purses, as long as there is parda.
and its definetly not haraam to have chicken tikkas at ur wedding because, chickens are halaal and valima is wajib.
typical desi..getting worked up and going on a tangent..lol
I mean, its haraam to have money piled up in the bank
IT is????
LOL, u just need to see, who's talking.
So to all the experts here...what would you recommend a bride to wear during the nikaah day in the mosque? Obviously Nikaah day is done from girl family's side and they would also wanna have their daughter look nice with nice dress and jewrelley. Is it recommeded for her to wear a full flash wedding dress like most Pakistani weddings have or something simpler?