me no Hybrid owner, I trust the ever reliable transit system
but if you have daily long commute then its worth it, it will save you money on gas, an approx estimation will be camry or matrix (take your pick) vs. prius, prius is expensive by 3,000 - 5,000 depending the optionall accessories you choose, and if you want to save on gas the initial cost will be covered in 2-4 years time period.
some esitmation agian only approx
Prius = 5.3/4 L for 100 km
Camry = 8/9 L for 100 km
Accord is more expensive, and as for the maintainence work well its more like a monopoly since it has a hybrid engine integration with the gas engine and it kicks in when you get loads of office rush hours (stops). not many mechanic’s are well versed with that kind of engine so you will have to go to only Toyota speaking of Prius only and pay the premium for their service.
and you can go to this website: http://www.drivingtelevision.com/
and get more info, even better you can ask them as well, and I noticed they have fusion by ford and prius by toyota for comparison.
humko hi-Bird lo-Bird ka tu nahe pata kai ye kia balla hai, pur hum sooch he rhai hain kai apne khatara Avensis bech kai kuch nae bailGardi lai lain ab apta nahe 7 series mai bail acha rhai ga ya ghora, Hybrid banainai kai lia hum usmai aik Bail aor aik Ghora lagain gai, hence Desi Hybrid.
I checked online review and they were very critical of the Prius gas performance. Many people measured their gas mileage at 38 mpg. 38!? Prius' claim to fame is 58 city, 56 highway.
Methinks, it's time to sit tight and wait till hybrid technology matures a bit.
well sure its time to wait if you are in no hurry coz there will be more hybrid car’s and then in 6-7 years time we will have HFC (hydrogen fuel cell vehicle).
The problem with a hybrid is that they cost so much more that it will take the average driver 5 years to break even. nd if you're keeping a hybrid that long, the long-term maintainance cost is very much an unknown at this point. Bear in mind that once its out of warranty you'll be paying to keep 2 drivetrains maintained in working order: the conventional drivetrain and the electrical drivetrain.
Hybrids make no sense today other than as a statement.
Maddy, you said what I wanted to, I read an article about hybrids. It’s more hype than performance. A person would have to drive a RIDICULOUS number of miles for at least 5 - 7 years to make up for the extra money that one pays for a hybrid. So essentially by buying a hybrid, instead of giving money to the oil industry, you’re just giving it to the auto industry.
Secondly, hybrids haven’t been out long enough to know what kind of maintenance and or performance degredation that take place 5 -7 years after buying the car. So at this point, like Maddy said, Hybrids are more of a statement than performance.
The only plus I see is that you get a tax break in the US for owning a hybrid. I don’t know the details though.
The Prius is priced ridicuosly high (~$36k out the door). The main reason people get hybrids is because they either care about the environement and/or they want to save up on gas expense. However as few people already pointed out, you'll have to drive a lot to break even with the markup you pay for hybrids. I think the mark-up on Prius is ~$4500. The tax credit on Prius is $3200 and $2200 on civic.
The only positive about Prius is that its got a lot of cool electronics like navigation, backup camera view, voice activated/touch command screen etc. However styling is a big let down. Civic hybrid is good on styling, but it doesn't have cool gadgets as prius, nor is it better in performance.
Depending on where you live, there is also HOV advantage for buying a Hybrid so it may be the only good enough reason for buying one too.