Tour Da New Zealand!

Fantastic1 there is no way am i going to agree with you there. U know MIANDAD is the sole person reponsible for bringing AKRAM in the side. I dont want to repeat the whole sotry. Aap khud maloom kar lejeyeh ga.

I know miandad is not saint but you will be surprised if u get to know the truth about the so called SUPER STARS of the current paki team…

U mentioned two incidents above…i can mention 100’s more not to prove MIANDAD is sincere but he is relatively better and clean then guys like wasim and malik…

anyways…Behed ka koi faeda nahee…remmember we r here on a mission

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

There we all go again with our hypes. "We will beat New Zealand".

Let's say that we do. It's no great achievement. We are still a second rate team that is volatile and cannot deliver when it counts.

And I bet you, we are all going to hear the same ol excuses when we are in NZ :-

1) The pitch had a high bounce.

2) We had trouble playing under lights

3) And you know the rest - injuries, run outs, and all.

Just a few days back, Shoaib was proud of his great fitness. Few days later, he and Azhar back out of the domestic match siting health problems.

Don't you guys get it - we suck.

We all get excited and then ......... lose.

When we can lose to England, its amazing that you all still can have such expectations.

20 K pounds to Geoff Boycott for a bunch of sissy lectures. That'll sure help....NOT.

And just wait, very soon, we are all going to hear Moin and Wasim declare how we are going to crush NZ.

Then get ready to watch out butts get kicked.

Same story, different day.

Been there, done that.

So you finnaly changed you mind about Wasaim assu, I remember I could not say anything bad about wasim in front of you…what changed your mind.

By the way how much did you take yesterday, tell us what they paid you.

bring back Ijaz.. best batsman in foreign tours... but always sacrificed...

Behas ka bohat faida hey behas hi hamara mission poora kerey gi.
Look I know that it was Javed who brought Wasim in the team but that was 16 years ago. Things do change don't they. I already said there are other incidents the most famous being the one when Javed resigned before the World cup. Now the story was that he got involved in a fight with Moin and resigned, a fight that had nothing to do with Wasim later on he returned to coach and co-operate with the same Moin. Why he did not put his differences with Moin aside and helped Pakistan in the most prestigious cup. When the man incharge was not even Moin. Javed can co-operate with the person he fought with but could not do the same with Wasim who had nothing to do with the fight.

I know I can't change your mind nor I intend to in the same way you can't change mine because I have formed mine after viewing and reading about many an incidents.
I don't know who will be the captain for New Zealand but it would probably not be Moin. There is also news that Wasim Akram will be dropped as well. I am not sure I will be interested in the tour in that case. Although I would still want us to win.

Behas ka bohat faida hey behas hi hamara mission poora kerey gi.
Look I know that it was Javed who brought Wasim in the team but that was 16 years ago. Things do change don't they. I already said there are other incidents the most famous being the one when Javed resigned before the World cup. Now the story was that he got involved in a fight with Moin and resigned, a fight that had nothing to do with Wasim later on he returned to coach and co-operate with the same Moin. Why he did not put his differences with Moin aside and helped Pakistan in the most prestigious cup. When the man incharge was not even Moin. Javed can co-operate with the person he fought with but could not do the same with Wasim who had nothing to do with the fight.

I know I can't change your mind nor I intend to in the same way you can't change mine because I have formed mine after viewing and reading about many an incidents.
I don't know who will be the captain for New Zealand but it would probably not be Moin. There is also news that Wasim Akram will be dropped as well. I am not sure I will be interested in the tour in that case. Although I would still want us to win.

well kingshah facts opened my eyes regarding akram…i used to defend him but i realized i was wrong after world cup 1999…

fatastic ko paki woman team ka captain banao…fantastic humaap kay saath hein…

Aap kis siseley mein merey sath hein aur yeh women team kaha sey a gayin.

Fantastic1 bhai, Assu has been fanticing on becoming the paki women captain...I think what he really tryin to say is keep away from that position, its only surdar ji's position.

Shah jee now i dont even want to say which XI you want to captain

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

fantastic1, MISSION bhool gaen aap…??

Mujhey lagta hein mein kuch bhi kar loan mene bhai hi rehna hein.

The latest news is that Moin will play the last practise match but not as captain. Now Why is that?

Moin's fate hangs in balance as PCB play hide and seek

By Waheed Khan

KARACHI: The national cricket scene continued to change following speculations and indications on Tuesday that a shift in captaincy for the New Zealand tour might be in the offing.

However, a Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) spokesman was not willing to confirm this. The selection committee, headed by Wasim Bari, fuelled the speculations about Moin Khan's future as captain by including him in the Pakistan Probables team for the one-day game in Peshawar on Wednesday (today), but as an ordinary player.

PCB Director Brig Munawwar Rana confirmed that Moin would also be playing in the last one-dayer in Rawalpindi but again not as captain and that responsibility would be taken by Wasim Akram.

Asked as to what was the logic behind playing Moin in the two trial matches but not allowing him to lead the side as he had been named captain till the summer series in England, Rana remarked that that was being done under a policy, which had been formulated by the selectors, who had the authority to do what they felt was best in the selection process for the coming New Zealand tour. But as expected, Bari, who was in Peshawar, was not available to give his comments.

The selectors are likely to finalise the touring squad by Friday after the final trial game in Pindi, where Rashid Latif would be leading the Chief Executive XI. However, Rana only added to the uncertainty surrounding Moin's fate, when he said that the PCB as a policy did not appoint captains on long-term basis. "No one's been guaranteed anything. It's our policy to evaluate performance of players and the captain after every series."

He insisted that since the team for New Zealand had not yet been announced, he could not say anything on the captaincy issue. Asked if the PCB were going to review the captain's spot for the coming tour, the PCB director observed that was done under a regular policy. "Since Moin was captain for the series against England and no changes have been announced, technically he is still the captain. But as per our policy, a review would be made when the team is named."

Rana also stated that it was logical to announce the captain before every tour and the same had been done last year when Moin led the side throughout the year. Moin, for his part, had flown to Peshawar for the match, and according to sources he had been assured by the senior players that everything was under control and the PCB would not remove him as captain.

Another meeting of the players is scheduled today in Peshawar after which their representatives, led by Inzamam-ul-Haq, plan to meet PCB Chairman Lt Gen Tauqir Zia to sort out some matters.

However, Rana said the players had made no formal request for the meeting with the chairman as yet. Investigations revealed that Moin, who until recently was extended full support by Tauqir and coach Javed Miandad, has lost favour with the PCB and whether he can retain captaincy depends largely on how strongly the other players support him and on the meeting they plan to have with the chairman.

Tauqir is said to be upset with Moin and some of the other players not only because they had publicly expressed their displeasure over Miandad getting a share from the prize money and logo sponsorship amount, but also over a move made by some players to sign endorsement contracts with Coca-Cola in personal capacity.

Rana confirmed they had come to know that some players had tried to sign deals with Coca-Cola -- whose rival Pepsi happen to be one of the main and official sponsors of the PCB! Not surprisingly, Moin is said to be one of the players who has signed with a private marketing company, which started negotiations with Coca-Cola for individual endorsements.

Ironically, Tauqir is said to be the person who helped secured endorsement contracts from Pepsi for some players. Rana said the PCB's policy was clear on sponsorship issues i.e. no player could display any other logo or sign on his kit other than Pepsi's.

He, however, said that the PCB were not upset with the issue of the players being unhappy with Miandad's share from the logo money. "Miandad is getting what he's supposed to get as per his contract, and the players are aware of this. I think it's a matter of perception."

Moin's captaincy hangs in balance as PCB takes U-turn

By Samiul Hasan

KARACHI, Jan 30: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) known for creating controversies announced Tuesday that the captain for the tour to New Zealand would also be named alongwith the squad on Friday.

In an unexpected move director PCB, Brig Munawwar Rana, said from Lahore that it was not the policy of the board to appoint the captain on a long term basis.

Surprisingly, the chairman PCB, Lt Gen Tauqir Zia, on Dec 10, on Dec 10, had extended Moin Khan's tenure from December 2000 to June 2001.

Zia, who was a strong supporter of the wicketkeeper until Sunday, had then said: "The PCB is satisfied with Moin's leadership and with the hope that he will improve further we have extended his captaincy tenure until June 2001."

He had added: "Moin, Inzamam-ul-Haq as vice-captain and Javed Miandad as coach have been working well and we want to give them a continuity."

Miandad has been given the mandate until the 2003 World Cup in South Africa.

Nevertheless Rana, who took over the charge on Nov 21 last year, said: "PCB's policy is to appoint captain on a series-by-series basis. In the background of this policy, a captain might also be named when the team for the New Zealand tour is announced on Friday."

He added: "Until a new captain is appointed, Moin Khan will act as incharge."

Nevertheless, there was also contradiction in the statement of the PCB director as Moin, a last-minute inclusion in the teams for Peshawar and Rawalpindi one-dayers, has not been appointed Pakistan Probables captain for both the matches.

Inzamam-ul-Haq, Moin's designated vice-captain and fined Rs100,000 by Justice Malik Mohammad Qayyum, has been made incharge of the team for Peshawar match while Wasim Akram, who was censored and fined Rs300,000 by the judge, has been named as captain for the Rawalpindi game.

The Lahore High Court judge, who investigated the charges of match-fixing and betting in Pakistan cricket, had also recommended that Akram should not be appointed captain in future because his integrity was doubtful. It was on the basis of this recommendation that Akram was replaced after the disastrous Australian tour in late 1999.

However, Rana passed on the bucket to the selectors when inquired why Moin was not the captain for the matches.

"The selectors submitted the teams and recommended the captains. The PCB just approved them," he said.

Nevertheless, chairman of selectors Wasim Bari said late on Monday evening that Moin will lead the teams while explaining that the confusion has been created because he (Moin Khan) had been added late in the day.

No matter what explanations the director PCB or chairman of selectors give on the current crisis, the fact that is rapidly establishing is that the PCB chairman is trying to make his threat look reality.

Lt Gen Tauqir Zia, on Sunday evening, threatened that the players who raised their voice against the distribution of prize-money and logo share would be thrown out.

He had said: "Anybody who creates problem like dispute over prize-money, logo money or things like that will be out of the team."

But what remains unexplained is why only the captain of the team had been targeted. He was one of the several players who were docked Rs100,000 each and paid to Javed Miandad from the $1.3million Pepsi logo deal. While a regular member of the team collected an average of Rs1.4 million, Miandad, without taking the field, took home Rs1.7million though he claims he received only Rs1.2million.

"He has been targeted on the suspicion that he leaked the confidential report to the media," a source in the cricket headquarters said.

Interestingly, the PCB chairman has yet to fire or suspend any of his Lahore secretariat staff which has been leaking stories to the media from time to time whether it be the hiring of Geoffrey Boycott at a hair-raising 30,000 pounds sterling contract for 15 days or the PCB's assets which now worth Rs570 million or the players slab formula according to which the cricketers are paid per match at home and abroad or what transpired in the advisory council meetings.

"The simple fact behind the likely sacking of Moin Khan is that the chairman doesn't want to tolerate any protest and that too against Javed Miandad who is not only the coach but also in his advisory panel," the sources said.

The sources recalled that Iqbal Qasim and Ehteshamuddin, the two selectors, were primarily shown the door while the chief selector was retained earlier this month because they had objected against the interference of Miandad in selection matters.

As the PCB officials gear up to appoint a new captain, most likely being Inzamam-ul-Haq, the players were chalking out strategy as to how to counter the situation.

The latest word from the Pakistan camp was that the players were planning to meet Lt Gen Tauqir Zia during the Rawalpindi match and highlight their grievances and dismay against the deduction of Rs100,000 each from their logo share.

"There is no doubt that we all, including the junior players, are unhappy with the way our finances have been handled by the board. We want to explain everything to the chairman provided he is willing to give us a patient hearing," a senior player said.

But the PCB director said until Tuesday, no official request from the players to meet the chairman had received.

The present cricket hierarchy has made it a habit of triggering avoidable controversies before the start of any important assignment.

In May last year as Pakistan prepared to take on the West Indies in the third Test at St John's, Antigua, Justice Malik Mohammad Qayyum's report was released and then two days before Pakistan was scheduled to face New Zealand in the semi-final of the ICC knock-out tournament in Kenya last October, the PCB sent a recommendation to President Mohammad Rafiq Tarar to reopen judicial inquiries into allegations that Pakistan threw away World Cup matches against India and Bangladesh.

The report posted above by paglu and this report from DAWN suggests that its not the players fault atleast this time. Otherwise the tone of the report in the News in particular would not have been in favor of the players. Lets see what happends. We can only hope for the best.

Originally posted by Degas:
bring back Ijaz.. best batsman in foreign tours... but always sacrificed...

huh...Ejaz...
and in who's place?

Ejaz was nothing but a slogger...surprisingly he had a modest average...

/* ^You mess wid me....I mess wid U^- AlCapone *\

I don't give a crap on what or who or where the captain will be. To me it's just a waste of time to listen to the stories over and over again.

I am focused on some new players like the Farhat brothers. They could probably play Test matches really well. Also Humayun is a great wicketkeeper. Some people might not bring Misbah-ul-Haq in because he's "too" old? 26 only.

There's actually a lot of talented youngsters one can try out. Give everyone a chance...

Oh well, the team will be announced Friday, till then, don't stress yourself and take it easy.

Lankans thrash the kiwis.........ummmmm

I think you are right peoples champ we should wait till Friday I mean in the end nothing might happen after all we live in Pakistan and its PCB we are talking about PCB that loves drama.

Originally posted by Surdar Asif:
Lankans thrash the kiwis.........ummmmm

don't think so

Looks like Moin is on the way out. Afridi is in tremendous touch....May be carry this form on to kiwiland....

Too jaisey key hum ne uppar kaha tha ain us key mutabik PCB ney drama drama khelney key baad aik baar phir Moin Khan ko captan bana diya hey. Is key sath hey Pakistan cricket ki ye misahia kisst ab apney ikhtatam ko puhnchti hey agli dafa (jo bohat jald ho gi) tak key lia ijazat di jiye Allah Hafiz. Quaid-e-Azam zinda baad. Pakistan painda baad.