now is the tuff decision to come, that is the man of the match, there are definately from pakistan but who, Younis Khan for his /1 & 149no (total of) or Mohammed Sami for or Saqlain Mushtaq for 8/72
Kaun hoga logon, jaldi batao, in few mins that will be announced.
Well i would go for Younis Khan, as it was a gr8 effort frm a young coming batsman, thou the pitch was easy to play n evry1 was scoring lekin still its really tuff when there is alot of management pressure!
SAMI is decleared MOM.
Yonis Khan and SAQQI should be happy for him as it was his debut on a dead wicket where likes of WICCKI stuggled.
ALlah karay paki batting aisay hee perform karay. Groundsman of JADE STADIUM reckons there is lots of bounce and pace on the wicket for the 2nd test starting thursday.
Sorry junoonie...its Sami who is elected as the man of the match.
I think Younis Khan deserved it more cause it was because of his two great innings that Pakistan was able to put up a big target....which was almost impossible for the Kiwis to chase, even if Sami and Saqlain would not have done the damage.
Anyhow.....just look at Salain's figures for today....12.4-10-3-4 - absolutely brilliant.
Farhat (tremendous potential and confidence showed in his very first test, good catchs too turned the game for pakistan)
ELahi (good start in the first inning which was crucial, fielded well)
Misbah (clean fielding)
Yosuf (lead the batsmen from the front, Great stuff yosuf, you are ever consistent)
Yonis (what can i say about this guy, absolute beauty of innings, great fielding too)
Faisal ( proved the critics wrong, genuine test batsmen who could stay, pakistan have been dreaming to have a batsmen like him, good fielder too)
Moin (Great batting in the first inning, Improved captaincy. This win is owed to moin who has kept the team together and kept them going even though the lost the ODI in very bad fashion and they were expected to go head down in this test, that too with 4 debutents.Handled the bowlers brilliantly. 6-4- combination worked really well for pakistan, they should always play 6 batters from now on in tests. No allrounder pleaseeeeeeee)
saqlain ( AWESOME stuff saqqi. Slap on selectors face who wanted him back in pakistan)
Waqar ( u r a legend. Lead from the front and set good example of the field)
Mushy (always cheering other mates. Mushy fielded well and was never short of advices for the youngies)
Sami (what can i say, u r the MAN)
well i guess after a long time PAKISTAN was gr8 in evry aspect of the game, they showed a full-time disciplined performance, maybe because of captaicy, ab now i think the palyers have got this morale support, i think they should now practice with more josh, as Paki's find it tuff playin on bouncy track, n the next test mach which is in Christchurch is a fast wicket, so i guess they should work out accordingly!
so guys do u think there will be any changes for that match!
The team after a long time, seemed to play with patriotism and love for the game...
We should get rid of players who play for their own self benefit and pride.....Shoaib, Afridi, Akram should leave the game for good. Enough talent has been destryed!!!
What a fourth innings, i thought only Pakistan is capable of such a collapse, my oh my!
Not playing all rounders in tests is a good idea, maybe its time to have 2 distinct teams for tests and one days.
Although all newcomers were great, Younis, Faisal, Sami and Imran take the cake. These 4 are here to stay.
I am curious what will happen when Saeed and Inzi return, or when Akram returns for that matter, not to mention allrounders Razzaq and Azhar. Who will be axed and who remains?
For the third test, if its a fast track then maybe a fast bowler (Fazl-e-Akbar) might be substituted for a spinner. I dont see anymore changes in the team.
All said and sone i think it was a huge effort by this new look (and honest???) young team.
letz hope that this knock of success continuez…debutantz showed a lot of character and potential, especially younis, faisal and sami…faisal is a soild player who can occupy the crease for the longest of the timez if needed, youns, what can i say abt this guy?..the way he went after the bowlerz, that was just amazing, itz sad to c him not posting his century in the first inningz but he came bk with a vengence and scored 149 n.o runz, and again the two young gunz faisal and younis stayed there when it was needed the most, youhana is a genuine stroke player, saqi did pretty well, teasing and annoying the batsmen with his off and in-cutterz…sami did equally well, a wicket where waqar had trouble in bowling, sami took full adventage…
weldone boyz!!..
Alf Allah Chunmbay Di Booti…Mere Maan Vich Murshad Lai Huu..
Naffi Asbaat Da Paani Mallaya…Har Raggay HarJai Huu
[Sultan Bahuu]…
WHAT!!! I am soooooooooo sad to see afridi’s name amongst these guys. Lemme tell you brother, afridi is the only guy who you’d see giving his 100% each and every single game. You see him get out cheaply and he will be so keen to make up for it when he is either in the fielding or bowling.
Afridi also is the first one to cheer the bowlers up when they are down.
Most of the paki players i.e. Akram, Akhtar, Inzi and ijaz have the talent but they dont have determination or hunger to do well consistently.
Afridi might lack skills or technique but i can assure you and you will agree me on this that he is always very very determined.
You guys might remmember 1997 Carlton and united series when afridi and Elahi were batting and Ambrose showered a few bouncers at elahi, afridi was very young and inexperienced back then but he appealed to the umpires who took no notice and next over once afridi got to face Ambrose, believe it or not he charged him and scored heavily off him.
Love him of hate him, you gotta admire his determination to do well for the country. I think in lasy few years he has grown alot and matured himself heaps. He has most certainly turned into one of my favorites cricketers, even though i hated him few years back.
The gorunds man reckon that the pitch will produce lots of bounce and pace. Therefor some changes must be made. I'd pick the following team:
Imran Farhat
Inzamam-ul-Haq (should be fit)
Yosuf Youhana
Yonis Khan
Faisal Iqbal
Moin Khan
Saqlain Mushtaq
Waqar Yonis
Mohammad Sami
Fazl-e-Akbar
I am not sure who to open with Farhat. Salim Elahi will always struggle on the Jade stadium wicket. Auckland wicket was to his liking where there was no bounce whatsoever, yet he scores 80% of his runs in the third man region. I leave it for you to guess where the ball will end-up in tests if Elahi Plays.
Who do you guys think we should open with? we dont have many options do we!
Congrats to all.
Mein choti choti batoon pey naraz nahi hoti its just key Wasim Akram ki itne ziada najaez borai mujh sey bardasht nahi hoti.
By the way exactly how many of you abused Saqlain and said that he only plays for his county, line mein lag gao foran I don't know when we will learn to respect these people who very rghtly deserve it.
Sardar bhai ab zara mujhey batain Was what Miandad did yesterday justified Now don't tell me you don't know what i am talking about.
What a performance by the youngsters. Mohammad Sami was just incredible throughout the game. Hes far quicker by the way, but he bowled with relatively slower pace than he usually does, and concentrated on swing which is what got him 8 wickets in the game. Excellent stuff from Sami. I hope to see him bowl at his usual pace in the next game, now that he has some confidence that he can perform at this level. Hell even in this game, he wasnt bowling flat out and he was constantly around the 140 mark! I think Younis Khan was also brilliant throughout the game - 91 in the first inings and then a chanceless 149 - reminded me of Saeed Anwar's 169 in only his 3rd test against New Zealand at Christchurch. Saeed just went from strength to strength following that knock and I hope Younis does the same. Faisal Iqbal is a goos solid - Mohammad Wasim type - player. Lets hope he isent fed to the wolves as Mohd Wasim was - because hes a good solid player with probably the best defensive technique in the Pakistan side at the moment. Youhana as usual was consistent and showed his class but I wish he would convert those 40's into big hundreds a little more often. Saqlain bowled allright but Mushtaq Ahmed was extremely unlucky not to pick up more wickets. He bowled really well did lil Mushy - and lets hope he keeps it up cos Kaneria isent too far behind. Apparently Pathan Bhai, Saeed Anwar is still in New Zealand and he`s trying his best to be fit for the game - if he is - then he would open with Farhat with Elahi sitting out. If he isent fit, then Elahi is probably the best bet to open with Imran at this point. Misbah will probably be dropped if Haq is fit which is unfortunate because I would have given Misbah another shot since he was clearly not out in the 2nd innings. I think the bowling is solid - 4 bowlers are the best option in test matches because the fifth bowler ALWAYS gets under bowled. So 4 bowlers is the way to go, if the wicket is quick then Saqlain can sit out and Fazle-e-Akbar or Mohmmad Akram(who's in NW to replace Razzaq) can play. Mushy should stay in the side because the Kiwis have no idea how to pick the leg spinner. They could'nt even read his top spinner, let alone the googly or the wrong 'un! Anyway, it was a fantastic effort by the young players. This coupled with the new pay system for the players should give the seniors something to think about.
fantastic1, Kiya kya thaa Miandad nay???? I honestly have no idea what u r talking abt?
He was our neighbour in paki (not next door but lived pretty close) and lemme tell u....he is one of the coolest,funniest and down the earth guy you will ever meet.
WAisay kiya kya middan bhai nay aap bataein? I am waiting......
Originally posted by Surdar Asif:
**fantastic1, Kiya kya thaa Miandad nay???? I honestly have no idea what u r talking abt?
He was our neighbour in paki (not next door but lived pretty close) and lemme tell u....he is one of the coolest,funniest and down the earth guy you will ever meet.
WAisay kiya kya middan bhai nay aap bataein? I am waiting......**
well maybe shez talking abt the incident where miandad told moin not to declare the inningz until faisal getz his 50...
i might be wrong...
not sure...
Alf Allah Chunmbay Di Booti...Mere Maan Vich Murshad Lai Huu..
Naffi Asbaat Da Paani Mallaya...Har Raggay HarJai Huu
[Sultan Bahuu]...
Yes it was Faisal Iqbal's fifty that i was talking about, i knew you wouldn't see any harm in that because it was not Wasim Akram who did that.
If Javed let faisal complete his fifty why the hell he did not let Younis complete his 150. Did any of you see; when Javed after faisal's fifty asked the batsmen to declare after the over, the reaction of Younis Khan he was at 144 at that time and he signeled that if Faisal was allowed to complete his fifty why he can't complete his 150. Is it alright for a team coach to do a thing like this i guess it is unless the coach is not Wasim Akram.