another blow for Pakistan for the first test, maybe Abdul Razzaq will be ruled out as he was in hospital due to food poison, hope he is fit to play, a key all-rounder!
~ mera Junoon, meri DIL KI BAAT hai!!!!
another blow for Pakistan for the first test, maybe Abdul Razzaq will be ruled out as he was in hospital due to food poison, hope he is fit to play, a key all-rounder!
Ijaz Ahmed not expected to make it in time for first Test
Pakistan have sent out the SOS but it may be too late to allow the most experienced of its batsmen called up for a mercy dash to New Zealand, Ijaz Ahmed, to arrive in New Zealand.
He is scheduled to arrive in Auckland at lunchtime on Thursday, two hours after the first Test has started at Eden Park.
The Pakistan Cricket Board confirmed overnight that all rounder Wasim Akram, opening batsman Saeed Anwar and all rounder Azhar Mahmood were going home.
But in a way that is becoming increasingly typical of the way the Pakistan side does things, Saeed and Azhar had not been told today that they were going.
Wasim Akram's side strain which became apparent in the last few overs of New Zealand's run chase to win the National Bank one-day series decider, is of sufficient concern to mean he will not be available for a month.
Saeed Anwar has groin and hip problems while Mahmood has foot and groin injuries.
Complicating selection issues for the first Test is the fact that Abdur Razzaq, who was hospitalised in Dunedin with suspected food poisoning, still has stomach pains. Saqlain Mushtaq was also under an injury cloud but he passed a fitness test and will stay on tour.
Joining Ijaz in the party will be Fazl-e-Akbar, Faisal Iqbal (a nephew of coach Javed Miandad) and opener Taufeeq Umer.
It seemed at one stage that off spinner Arshad Khan, who only arrived a week ago as a replacement, would also return but it is understood that team management wanted him to stay.
New Zealand, by comparison, has its only concern centred on fast-medium bowler Daryl Tuffey. He didn't stretch out fully at practice today but is expected to be able to take his place in the Test.
Aucklander Chris Drum is on stand by if he should break down before the match while provincial, and New Zealand A, team mate Kyle Mills bowled with the team today and will do so again tomorrow.
Alf Allah Chunmbay Di Booti...Mere Maan Vich Murshad Lai Huu..
Naffi Asbaat Da Paani Mallaya...Har Raggay HarJai Huu
[Sultan Bahuu]...
Weird happenings over in Kiwi land people…apparently there are reports that Saeed Anwar told management he would be ready to play the test even though he`s injured - but the selectors decided to send someone else over and called Saeed back - Moin Khan found out and freaked out at losing his best batsman and apparently now Saeed is staying in New Zealand along with Inzamam!
Anyone else confused?
Yaaaaar jaldeee sey Meera ko bullao!!!
Originally posted by ManiaX:
**Moin Khan found out and freaked out at losing his best batsman and apparently now Saeed is staying in New Zealand along with Inzamam!
B]
WHATTTTTTTTTTTTT! where di u get this news from??? lemme go anc check cricinfo!
well Saeed is staying, but he may not be playin in the first test, Inzamam is uncertain, let see, in sometime we will knw ke who is in the playin 11
Great decision.. Ijaz is the best.. hes a great strokeplayer ... Youhana is the only sold player in out team though... Ijaz record in Nez Zealand and Australis is very good....
no degas, there are many others.
we are just not sure.
Here is my selection (selection! if only there was such a concept in PCB)…
Saleem Elahi ( 30/40 .. not a bright prospect.. martee kyaa na kartey)
Imran Farhat (chance to shine)
Razak (always reliable but I hope he is fit)
Yohana (Now he is the daddy of orphaned Pak batting)
Misbah-ul-Haq (I hope he lives up to his hype … but that’s only his first outing)
Younas Khan ( the current Mansoor Akhtar!)
Moin Khan (time to retire ..Big s..t no chief!)
Waqar (still got some steam left)
Saqulian (stay out of politics .. he has the stuff)
Sami (my pick for the future .. he will be an excellent bowler)
Fazel-eKabeer (the poor guy got the selection blues)
You can not make an omelet out of chicken po … but this is what we have to work with .. .there are too many problems facing Pakistani team … management (aka general’s army) … now that clown general sahib will be better off representing KFC’s general rather the Pakistani cricket … its sad and pathetic that egos and personal (nepotism) is the soul that drives the Pakistani institutions.. We need some one who plays for the country and the sports not for 100km barrier and records … what does an active General has to do with cricket? … wont you be worried about you country’s defense? since he is handling two big responsibilities ..? I think Ramiz Raja (or any of Miandad’s relatives) should take over the Mangala core so that General sahib can concentrate on messing up the already messed up Pakistani team!
Hey one more thing
These things are hard to explain
For some it seems strange... to swallow
The frontier of our minds
Is the last place we find
But maybe the first place we should go
well the match has started and Pakistan team is looking new, apart frm the bowlers, the batting line up is different after a long time, hope they will find players frm these in the coming future, well in the bowling department Waqar and Saqlain should be performing relatively well so that the youngsters get into the groove, well i am not sure of Mushtaq Ahmed thou, n i think evry1 should be tried for bowling, like Imran Farhat, Younis Khan, n Misbah-ul Haq, so that they can become temp bowlers!
Hey one thing guys the pitch on which the match is played is something new, whats new abt it, can some1 xplain!!!!
well not a bad start by the Pakis in the first session, the 2 openers in, they could have been there longer, lekin still.
Pakistan 75/2 27ovrs [Lunch]
Guys o guys....i know the wicket might be slow or slow but YONIS khan is playing a wonderful knock....CRICINFO commentator is saying "WHAT A SHOT" to almost every single shot Y.Khan is playing.........good on him.....may he goes on...ameen
well i think the Paki young batsmen performed maturely thru out the day, the wicket mite be slow, but they have the initial pressure, u mite have seen youhana play a quick innings, so it shows that the wicket is easy to perform but not to throw their wickets like our earlier players used to do!!!!!
Excellent stuff by the youngsters!
Two words - Brilliant Batting.
This was the best batting performance by the side throughout the tour..no doubt. All the youngsters played beautifully. And quite frankly, they did a far better job than the out of form seniors would have done. What was so good was that all of them developed partnerships. Not just Younis and Faisal - but also the openers and Misbah Ul Haq who was very shaky but stuck it out. I was really impressed with Younis Khan's batting - he rode his luck - sure - but he played some beautiful shots. Faisal Iqbal and Misbah Ul Haq were solid and Faisal looks particularly good. Hopefully, they'll get around 350 which would be a good first innings score if they bowl well and if Waqar doesent start thinking he`s Shoaib Akhter and pitches short - letting the Kiwis of the hook.
Despite the impressive batting by the youngsters - I think everyone should realize that we have 4 debutants in there today - and its a very inexperienced side. So, the test match is still on. And Pakistan will have to work very hard in the field. But definately, today was a day that should bring some smiles to all the fans - if these youngsters are persisted with - they will only get better. They will definately have the odd failures but given the circumstances - ie..flown in to NZ just days before the game, having never played there before, making their test debuts, and lacking any experienced batsman etc - they did a wonderful job. Hats of to them.
Believe In Angels.
Laterz,
ManiaX.
270/4
no bad at all..
every1 played well…
younus and faisal are betting really well and i hope younus getz his 100 and faisal getz his 50…both are close!!!
Alf Allah Chunmbay Di Booti…Mere Maan Vich Murshad Lai Huu..
Naffi Asbaat Da Paani Mallaya…Har Raggay HarJai Huu
[Sultan Bahuu]…
The guys batted well. However they still seem to be chasing the odd ball. Younis has batted well, so too have Faisal, Imran and Misbah.
Doesn't Misbah look like Saqlain when he is batting - he loves to put his back knee on the ground.
Pakistan should be aiming for 400+ but something like 350 would be OK too.
Waqar - bowled well in the last match and I am sure he will bowl well again. I am also hope to see Sami bowl as I have heard so much about him.
Al least with all of these youngsters the fielding might improve.
Haven't seen any of the cricket so far but I've heard it's on Sony TV so I'll check it out tonight.
Great start, but honestly, if we can come away from NZ without getting beat in this series it will be a great achievement with so many key players missing.
Hey Junoonie,
Yaar have u heared junoon’s new album yet.
Whenever i hear the song “Dharti kay khuda”, mujhay WASIM BHAI yaad aajatay hein yaar…what do you think???
yes i have heard the new album, well at the moment havent gone deep into the song, lekin while listenin to it was on paki politics again, what do u think???
~ mera Junoon, meri DIL KI BAAT hai!!!