Touching True Daily Life Stories (of our forefathers)

I would inshaAllah share one by one from time to time, from the authentic sources. My request to Gupshup authority to kindly let it be in this forum, because it has many daily life lessons for us.

** Story # 1**

Hazrat Rabee bin Sulaymaan Reh.A says: "I once went for Hajj together with my brother and a group of other pilgrims. On reaching Kufa. I went into the town to buy some of the necessities required for the journey. On the way in a desolate spot I saw a woman dressed like one of the poor, cutting pieces of meat from a dead mule lying on the ground: having a natural death. She placed the meat in a basket.

I saw all this; and it grieved me to think that possibly this woman was taking meat from a dead animal to feed others. Therefore I felt that I could never remain silent having seen such a thing. I followed her in such a manner that she did not know of my presence. In the town she came to a big house which had a very big door. There she had knocked, and after she had identified herself; four young girls came to open the door. She went inside and placed the basket in front of the children. The girls by this time were crying, and one could see that they were passing through a state of great want and misfortune. While I listened at the door, I heard the mother say: “Take this and cook it for yourself to eat; and thank Allah; Verily Allah is He Who has power over all; and He has power to turn men’s hearts.”

The girls cut the meat, cooked it and began eating. From where I stood, I felt such anguish that I shouted; "O you servants of Allah, do not eat it; for Allah’s sake!’ she shouted back to me; ‘Who are you?’ I answered: “I am stranger around here.” She said: “O stranger, what do you desire from us? We, ourselves are in a bad state and imprisoned by our predestined fate. For three years now we have had no helper and no earthly maintainer. What do You want from us?” I said: "in no religion is it permissible for anyone to eat dead animals; except among some Zoroastrians (fireworshippers).’ She replied: "we belong to a family of Rasulullah (Sallaho Alaihe Wassallam). The father of my daughters was a noble Sayyid. It was his great desire to get his daughters married among men of his own class and rank. Unfortunately before he could do this, he passed away. And soon what he left for us was exhausted. We know that it is not possible to eat from the carcass of dead animals, but at a time when circumstances force one to do so; it is permissible. For four days we had nothing to eat.’

When I heard her story I was move to tears and, greatly distressed, I returned from there. When I met my brother again I said to him: “Brother, I have now, no more the intention of proceeding for Haj.” Hearing these words from me, my brother did his best to persuade me to carry on. He expounded on the virtues of Haj and told me that a Haji returns as a newborn baby. I told him not to waste more time in trying to make me alter my decision, and took my ihraam clothes and all my goods plus six hundred dir’hams, and bought with it flour for two hundred dir’hams; and clothes for another hundred; and sent all that to the house of the girls, having first hidden the rest of the money in the flour.

When the mother received it she praised Allah greatly and said to me; 'May Allah forgive all your previous and future sins; May Allah give you the reward of a Haj and grant you a high place in paradise; May Allah give you a good return for this which you have given us-a return that will become known to you." The eldest girl said: “May Allah reward you doubly and forgive your sins.” The second one said: ‘May Allah grant you so much more than what you have given us.’ The third one said: ‘May Allah raise you up on the day of Qiyaamah with our grandfather Rasulullah (Sallaho Alaihe Wassallam). The youngest said: "O Allah the One that has favored us. You favor him abundantly soon; and forgive his previous and future sins.’ Hazrat Rabee (RA) continues the story: "the Hajis left and I remained in kufa. When they returned after Haj, I went to welcome them, hoping to let them make duaa for me. Perhaps Allah would accept someone’s duaa of my behalf.

When a group came into sight I felt a bit of remorse; for having missed Haj; and in this sadness some tears fell from my eyes. When I met them I said; “May Allah accept your Hajj and reward you for what you have spent.” One of them said to me: “Why do you say that?” what kind of prayer is this?" I replied: “It is the well wishing duaa for one who has been deprived of the blessing of being present at his door.” He replied: “What surprising words; how can you now deny having been there?” “Were you not present with us at Arafaat; You were indeed among us as we threw stones at Jamaraat; You performed tawaaf with us” I thought; ‘This must be Allah’s grace.’ While waiting there the Hajis from my own town arrived, and said to one of them: “May Allah accept your Haj and reward you for your exerting yourself and spending in His way.” He too spoke of me having been present at Aarafaat, having been at Mina and was surprised now at my denial of that.

One of them came forward and said: “Brother, but why do you deny?” You were indeed with us in Makkah and Madinah!" at Madinah when we came through Baab Jibra’il, you gave this bag to me as a result of the great crowd around us. On it was written Whoever deals with us; shall profit." ‘Here take your money bag.’

Hazrat Rabee (RA) says: "I swear by Allah that I had never seen the money bag in my life. Anyway greatly amazed, I took it home with me. Having performed Esha salaah and the normal nightly wazeefas, I lay awake wandering about this strange story about me having been in pilgrimage while I knew that I had not been there for Haj. At this thought I fell asleep in a dream I saw Rasulullah (Sallaho Alaihe Wassallam). I greeted him and kissed his hand. With a radiant smile he answered my salaam and said to me;

“O Rabee! How many more witnesses do you require before you believe that you have performed Haj? Yet you believe not. Listen! When through the kindness of your heart, you postponed your Haj and instead gave charity to a lady from among my children’ and when you also gave your provisions to them, I prayed to Allah to grant you a reward which shall be better and more profitable in return. Thereupon Allah caused an angel to appear in your form and commanded the angel to perform haj on your behalf annually and forever; and in the world Allah had granted you a reward of six hundred sovereigns in place of the six hundred dirhams you have spent. Whosoever deals with us; shall profit.” When I woke up from this dream I opened the bag and behold, I found therein six hundred gold sovereigns.

(Rush-Fatus, Sawee)

Re: Touching True Daily Life Stories (of our forefathers)

Jazakallah Khier for sharing, Please keep it coming.

Very beautiful story ! Please do keep adding these inspirational stories.

JazakAllah Khair for sharing the beautiful story. Please do keep em' coming. :)

Very beautiful sharing

^ JazakAllah khair everyone. This true story might be objectionable to many, but still I am quoting it as mentioned in Rowdh (name of a book written by a saint), because nothing is impossible. Miracles do happen, and Quran is filled with incidents that scientifically might not make sense to us.

**Story # 2

**A saint said in the book: "While performing tawaaf once, I saw a girl carrying a small child on her shoulder. The girl called out loudly: "O Noble Lord Great, thanks to You for Your great favor to me in times gone by." I asked her: "Please, tell me what is that great favor that has passed between Allah and yourself?" She replied: "We were once on a ship at sea, a great storm arose with hurricane winds blowing fiercely. With us there were many traders and as the ship sank they all drowned except myself, this child and one dark-skinned man. No one else was saved. I along with my child held onto one raft and that man held another raft, right through the night. When the light of dawn broke, the dark man saw me, and dragged himself through the water towards my raft.

When he came next to me he left his raft and held onto ours. He uttered evil words intending evil acts with me, whereupon I said to Him: "Fear Allah. Do you not realize the terrible danger we are in, from which it is very difficult to be released? How can you think of a sin at a moment like this?' he replied determinedly: "Shut up. Whatever I intend with you shall be done, no matter what happens." At that moment this child was asleep in my lap. Quietly I pinched him and he cried. Seeing the man's determination I said: 'Just wait a while until I put this child to sleep. And then whatever Allah had predetermined shall happen'. The man took the child from me by force and threw him into the sea. Seeing this I called out: "O Allah, Who intervenes between a man and his intentions. O Rab (Lord), please save me from him. You alone have the power and You have control over all things."

I swear by Allah subhana wa'ta'aala, these words had hardly left my mouth when I saw a huge monster raising its head from beneath the water. The monster got hold of him and swallowed him before it again disappeared under the water. Thus Allah saved me from this man. He alone has the power over all and He indeed is Great and Glorious. Thereafter the waves of the sea pushed me along until I reached an island, where I landed. I said to myself that I would eat grass and drink water there for as long as Allah pleases. For four days I remained there. On the fifth day I saw a ship passing near the island. I sought their attention. They saw me and three men came in a small boat and took me to the ship.

In the ship I was shocked to see this child also. This child that the dark skinned man had thrown into the sea. This was a great surprise to me and I fell upon the child, kissing him and holding him tightly to myself as I exclaimed: 'this is my child, this is my beloved child.' They said: "Are you mad? Are you out of your senses?"

I replied: "I am neither mad nor out of my senses. I have a strange tale to tell." Then I told them the whole story. When they heard it they lowered their heads in confusion and disbelief and said: "You have told us an almost unbelievable story. Now we shall tell you a similar unbelievable incident. We were sailing quite comfortably in this boat with the wind in our favor, when all of a sudden a huge monster came along side us with this child on its back. We heard a voice saying: 'If you do not take this child from the back of the monster, your ship shall be sunk.' One of us lifted it off the monster's back'. The monster disappeared under the water. Both your story and ours are amazing. And now we all promise that Allah subhana wa'ta'aala shall not see us again in sin in the future. We repent for all our past sins."

The girl continued: "How great is Allah, How Merciful He is, aware of the troubles of His slaves. Numerous are His favors and He saves His servants from all calamities."

(Rowdh)

Story # 3

**How did Tyrant Hajjaj killed Scholar Saeed Bin Jubair Shaheed (reh. A.)

**Hajjaj's harshness and tyranny are well known in human history. The rulers in those days, in spite of their shortcomings, never lagged behind in propagating the faith, yet we treat them as the worst among rulers because of the contrast with the just and God-fearing rulers. He was the viceroy of king Abdul Malik bin Marwan for Hijaz and Iraq. The king lived in Damascus and Hajjaj had his headquarters at Koofah. Saeed bin Jubair had fought against Hajjaj on the side of Ibnul Ash-ath. After the defeat, Saeed (Rahmatullahalaih) ran away and took asylum in Makkah. The Government posted a very stern person as the Governor of Mecca, with instructions to ‘arrest Saeed. The Governor assembled all the people of Mecca and read before them the order of Abdul Malik, which said:"Any person who gives shelter to Hadhrat Saeed (Rahmatullahalaih) shall meet the same fate as Hadhrat Saeed (Rahmatullahi alaih) himself."He then announced to the people:"By Allah, I must kill the person who gives shelter to Hadhrat Saeed (Rahmatullah alaih). His and his neighbor’s houses shall be razed to the ground."Hadhrat Saeed (Rahmatullahi alaih) was arrested with great difficulty and sent to Koofah. When he was brought before Hajjaj, the following conversation took place:

Hajjaj: *"What is your name?"

Hadhrat Saeed:
"My name is Saeed (lit. Auspicious)."

Hajjaj: "What is your father's name?"

Hadhrat Saeed: "Jubair (lit. Trimmed)."

Hajjaj: "No, you are in fact Shaqi (lit. Wretched) son of Kusair (lit. a broken thing)."

Hadhrat Saeed: "My mother knew my name better than you do."

Hajjaj: "You are wretched and your mother is also wretched."

Hadhrat Saeed: "The Knower of the hidden things is SOMEONE else ".

Hajjaj: "Look! I am putting you to sword."
Hadhrat Saeed**: "Then my mother was right in giving me this name."

Hajjaj: "I shall send you to Hell."

Hadhrat Saeed: "If I knew that you had that power, I would have taken you as my god."

Hajjaj: "What is your belief about the Prophet (Sallallaho alaihe wasallam)?"

Hadhrat Saeed: "He was an apostle of Mercy and a Prophet of Allah, sent 'with the best Guidance for the whole creation."

Hajjaj: "What do you say about the Khalifas?"

Hadhrat Saeed: "I am not a warder over them. Everybody is responsible for his own actions."

Hajjaj: "Who is the most exalted of the four Khalifahs?"

Hadhrat Saeed: "The one who had been able to please Allah more than the rest."

Hajjaj: "Which of them had 'been able to please Allah more than the rest?"
Hadhrat Saeed:** "This is known only to Him Who knows what is hidden in the chest and what the hearts conceal"

Hajjaj: "Is Ali (R.A.) in Paradise or in Hell?"
Hadhrat Saeed:** "I can answer only after I visit the two places and meet their dwellers."
Hajjaj:** "How shall I fare on the Day of Judgment?"
Hadhrat Saeed:** "I am not fit to receive the knowledge of the unseen?"

Hajjaj: "You do not intend to tell me the truth."

Hadhrat Saeed: "But I did not tell a lie either."

Hajjaj: "Why do you never laugh?"
Hadhrat Saeed:** "I do not see anything to laugh at; and indeed why should one laugh, who is created from dust, who has to appear on the Day of Judgment, and is always surrounded by tribulations."
Hajjaj:** "But I do laugh."

*Hadhrat Saeed: *"Allah has created us with different temperaments."

Hajjaj: "I am now going to kill you."

Hadhrat Saeed: "The time and mode of my death have already been decreed."

Hajjaj: "Allah has preferred me to you."
Hadhrat Saeed**: "Nobody can be proud of his relation with Allah, unless he knows his position; and Allah is the only knower of the unseen."

Hajjaj: "Why should I not be proud of my relation with Allah, when I am with the Amir-ul-Mominin and you are with the rebels."

Hadhrat Saeed: "I am with the other Muslims. I myself shun mischief, but nobody can change the decree of Allah."

Hajjaj: "What do you say about what we collect for Amir-ul-Mominin?"

Hadhrat Saeed: "I do-not know what you collect for him."

Hajjaj sent for gold, silver and dresses from the treasury and showed these to Saeed.

Hadhrat Saeed: "These are useful, provided you are able to obtain with them the things that may provide you peace on the Day of Consternation(i.e. Day of Judgment), when every nursing mother will forget her nursing, and every pregnant one will be delivered of her burden, and when nothing but goodwill be of any avail."

Hajjaj: "Are our collections not good?"

Hadhrat Saeed: "You have collected them, and you are the best judge."

Hajjaj: "Do you like any of these things for yourself?"

Hadhrat Saeed: "I only like the things which Allah likes."

Hajjaj: "Woe to you!"

Hadhrat Saeed: "Woe is for the person who is deprived of Paradise and is made to enter Hell."

Hajjaj: (Annoyed): "Say how should I kill you?"

Hadhrat Saeed: "As you would like to be killed."

Hajjaj: "Should I forgive you?"

Hadhrat Saeed: "Allah's forgiveness is real. Your forgiveness is of no value."

Hajjaj: (To the executioner): "Kill this man."

Hadhrat Saeed laughed while he was being taken for execution. Hajjaj was informed of this. He called him back."What made you laugh?"

Hadhrat Saeed: "Your boldness with Allah, and His clemency to you."

Hajjaj: "I am killing a person who has caused dissent among the Muslims. (To the executioner) Kill him in front of me."

Hadhrat Saeed: "Let me say my Salaat of two rakaats."

After finishing Salaat, he faced Qiblah and recited***:"Verily, I have turned my face toward Him Who created the heavens and earth, as one by nature upright, and I am not of the idolaters" (VI:80).

****Hajjaj:* "Turn him from our Qiblah and let him face the Qiblah of the Christians, who also caused dissension and dispute among their community."His face was immediately turned to the other direction.
Hadhrat Saeed*:"And wither-so-ever you turn, there is Allah's countenance"(11:115)*** Who is knower of the hidden thoughts."

Hajjaj: "Make him lie on his face. We are only responsible for appearance."

Hadhrat Saeed (Rahmatullahi alaih) was made to lie on his face.

Saeed:"**Thereof We created you, and there unto We return you, and thence We bring you forth a second time."(XX:55).

***Hajjaj:* "Kill him"

Hadhrat Saeed: I call you to witness what I recite: ***"I bear witness that there is no god except Allah, who is all alone and Who has no partner and I bear witness that Muhammad (Sallallaho alaihe wasallam) is His slave and His Prophet."

***He was then beheaded (Inna lillahi wa inna ilaihi raaj-oon).After the execution, too much blood came out from Hadhrat Saeed's (Rahmatullahi alaih) body. Hajjaj himself marveled greatly at it. He inquired the reason from his doctors, who said:-"His tranquility and composure at the time of death had kept his blood in its original form. Generally, people to be executed are so much scared and afraid of death that their blood curdles and does not flow profusely."