People who’ve driven to and from, whats the best route to take these days. Google Maps gives great directions but it would be nice to hear from experienced voices. Things like what roads to avoid, how long it takes, any decent stop overs on the way, how much toll charges should one be prepared for etc.
Re: Toronto to NYC
Driven many times using Google maps. They are pretty accurate.
Leave very early in the morning to avoid the delays at the U.S border.
buffalo side…
take $500 to $700 dollar as in cash just to pay the toll.
(jatay waqt or atay waqt, dono terf
)…i think initially u have to give some $5…but then get use to sometimes like $20-$35 vvery often:hayaa:
i think every stop over is a decent one.
Over the last 7 years, I’ve driven there enuf times, and in all seasons…if I was planning to leave for NYC around this time of the yr, I’d avoid the buffalo/niagara border, and the I-90 altogether…I just don’t like traffic, and this route is crazy bz this time of the yr…so eventhough the other route is slightly longer, the amount of time it takes balances out since there’s less traffic and virtually no wait times @ the border…just have peace of mind u know…
I’d recommend taking the 401 East all the way past Kingston, and from there take the bridge to the USA…u’ll end up on I-81 South, which u can take all the way down past Syracuse…at Scranton, u can take the I-380 to I-80 East, which u can follow all the way to NYC…
on this route, I usually make two 15-min stops…the first one is just past Kingston, get to recharge my batteries with some Tims coffee before entering the states…and the next one is usually at Binghamton or Scranton, depending on if I think I can endure another hrs drive/have enuf fuel for the car as well…the 2nd stop, of course, I end up getting some Gas for the car too…after that, it’s a straight shot to NYC…
Amount of time it takes depends a lot on the weather and traffic conditions - plus of course, ur driving speed
and for some reason, going from Toronto to NYC always takes longer compared to the return home…regardless, given the weather is OK and so is the traffic, and u’re not driving like a maniac (maybe keep it @ 115 KMs/Hr), with the 2 stop-overs it’ll take u about 8.5 - 9 hours to get to the outskirts of NYC…once u get there, u can’t really tell how long it’ll take u to get to ur actual destination in NYC…depending on how many bridges or tunnels u have to cross, and what kinda traffic conditions will u encounter in the city itself…to be on the safe side, u can add another hr to it, so round about 10 hrs to reach ur destination if it’s somewhere on long island…i’ve made the door-to-door trip from toronto to NYC in as little as 7.5 hrs, still with the 2 stop overs :halo: but i usually don’t over-speed that much, it was an exception, and I got lucky by not getting pulled over anywhere…
as for the tolls, i usually keep $30 and change, each way…again, largely depending on what bridges or tunnels u’ll be crossing etc, cuz that’s where most of it will go…I think if u’re going over George Washington, to get to the city, u need $7 to cross it or something like that…the actual highway tolls themselves aren’t as bad for the amount of distance u cover…
I hope this helps ![]()
what route(s) do u take to pay that much toll :-p
^ well i assume he is going to NYC city not just state ![]()
but since i am bad in directions
i only revealed about the tolls. near the city and in the city…jaga jaga per to bridges hain
or her jaga he toll do ![]()
Wow, thanks Haseeb. Thats exactly the kind of info i was looking for. The alternate route sounds very tempting. Mississauga to Syracuse is just a 100 km / 1 hour extra if you go from Kingston. Hmmmmmm doesnt sound so bad if it ends up being worth it.
phir chakar kab lagaa rahay ho? :p
mujhay bhi trunk main dal ke lete jana… :halo: ![]()
And don't forget to take 440 to Staten Island via Verrazzano Bridge. Its lovely sight and get $12 change ready.
woah!
return plane ticket ki price nahi poochi Cheegs ney.
DesiMunda yellow cab chalata raha hai Altaf Hussain ki tarah, sab pata hai usko.
(last time when my parents travelled)
its $200 from toronto ![]()
and $100 from buffalo ![]()
ps- jo paisay buch jaeyin gay us say wo app ka gift lain ga na ![]()