toronto high speed internet - p2

furqan raised a good thread, unfortunately choices that were even AVAILABLE weren’t something compared with states/euro areas of the world..

so NOW! lets take the $80 out and write down what u KNOW of getting highspeed connections ranging from 4m to 10m, available for BUSINESS or PERSONAL connections, at residential addresses.

so far we’ve got dsl connections, available publically, but monopoly of ‘bell’ plays vital role in controlling. turnoff, 4m connection MAX and u need to be in that CLOSE area where its offered. (otherwise its pretty much 1.3m connection)

cable - again, monopolized by ‘rogers’ and when i use the name rogers, i MEAN rogers, cogedco whatever, and shaw (scarborough/toronto/markham/blah) they have JUST started capping publically and from the looks of it, and they survey i took the part in, looks to me PRETTY soon they’re gonna limit your traffic from 1 ip address.. now i understand 60gig traffic limit they will be asking pretty soon is like A YEAR’s traffic for their 90%+ customers and for 10% their network is $hitting bricks!

but again, u have their ‘extreme’ service thats SO FAR kickin’butt, i’ve maxed out my windows connection at 500k incoming without tweaking networking and with tweaking, i’ve had 630k+. i say plus because the file i was beta-tasting over periods of time, would get complete while the connection reporting it going faster and faster.. (well not really, connection remains but resources it opens up was going better and better) until the file would complete..

satellite - objectional/debatable and tricky. monopoly isnt there THAT much. there is ‘look’ , ‘bell expressvu’ and few not-so-famous there. LIL expensive to get the ‘bidirectional’ satellite connection. as mostly they try selling u SUPERfast downstream via satellite, but u have to buy an uplink which is based from telephone line.. WHICH defeats the purpose. expected speed varies from sometimes 100k, to advertised 6m (which i’ve never witnessed, ever).

having these choices (which arent really choices, but limitation of options) SUCKS!:mad: reason i’m ‘forced’ to stick with rogers is cuz i use their @rogers mailing, its linked WITH the yahoo and gives a HHHHHHHUGE mailbox, better reliablility than that .. errr.. femail thingy (dont ask!)

also, main reason is i save SOME money cuz of utilizing the yahoo’s PHOTOSTORAGE which lets me upload UNLIMITED pics.. 'n as everyone knows, i have LOADS of pics all the time to upload and share them allll over the world in family relatives and friends..

bad points are when i DO run into connection-related problems.. DAMN! i tell myself, thats it.. it takes ages to get it resolved.. it was VVVVVVVVERY nice to have this service as wave online when it wasnt under rogers, but under ‘wave’ that was back in 1997 when i saw 3m+ connection, THAT time. it was BETTER when “Rogerswave” and later “rogers@home” and @work brands kicked in.

now its just getting crappy! friggin every new computer thats being sold and bought by a desi is getting ‘rogers’ installed. and they arent really GROWING their capacity as their customer base..

sympatico hse, i can open a whole can of whopa$$ so i will save my breath.. service is great for residential customers, that have ONE phone, (device) and they practically live in the provider’s basements.. tricky setup, BLESSINGLY software-dependent solution (unlike cable which really 'n truely is a hardware-based solution), 'n to top it all, in MY personal experience dsl traffic starts to crap itself when plugged into like a routing device such as those broadband routers where nat on one side, and 1ip on the other and 4-8 comps feed from it.

where cable has i guess ‘bigger’ traffic whatever chunks so it flows a BIT better.. not good, but BETTER!

so i dunno, either i’m gonna burn all bootp chips in the networking cards of this world.. or :bummer: DUNNO What’m i gonna do..

sighz anyone has an idea? :bummer:

Re: toronto high speed internet - p2

yaar aisee batain na karoo naa,, hum 3000th world countries kay log are stuck with 1 mb Dsl and 56k dialup.. please dont give us heart aches.

chanda.. yaar we're spoiled brats :-)

but think'bout it.. 14.4k modem i started when 288 was fastest.. didnt really had 288, i jumped straight up at 336, then 56k i still remember it was fight between rockwell kflex and usr's x2, eventually adding up into 'v90', but right away before FULLY seeing v90, i had already started 300k type cable connection.. i studied and worked at one time at one of the FASTEST available connections.. i've personally seen 700mb shrinkd svcd rip being transferred in UNDER 2 mins - i mean THAT time PCs had hard drives that were SLOWER than the connections i played with :-)

so u know what, now its just FAST, faster and EVEN more fast!

array bhayee Faizy, I know what you are talking about. but its just matter of vision naa.. these middle eastern countries and sub continent dont ahve the right vision. my office connection is 13 Mb. and its pretty much fast aswell. but its divided to a thousand users as well. but when I see ppl using like 4 mb connections for them selved then I get a :smack:ed.

Coz why these countries who have got all the resources inthe world to improve their infrastructure , arent doing much. you know the I read some where that the whole bandwidth of Pakistan is not more 1 gig, I think its lower than 700 mb even.

I am confused. Are you in Pakistan or the US/Canada? They have 4mb connections in Pakistan now for home use?

Brother, I m not in Pakistna I m in middle east. and dear I dont think any one is providing 4 mb connection for home use.
Btw, even in middle east, its a dream.

move to montreal :)
Videotron here offers 6.5 mb down and 900k up at 70$/month, without tweaking i have got speeds of arround 2mb down :)

:-) u have NO IDEA! mp how MUCH i wanted to be in montreal.. khair, get ready.. i will be visiting montreal this april-may season..

faizy, kuch zyada hi dardnaak kahani nahee khainch di Internet ki Toronto mai? :s

With all the monopolies and small companies around, Rogers cable is still much better. Although it's bandwidth and all are pretty horrible. Phir bhee it's better than the rest.

UAE?

What’s the fastest connection you can get whereever you are for home use. Can corporations gets T3 lines or higher? Since it is the middle east, I am guessing it costs an insane amount, that the average person is left thinking “Who is this really being marketed to?” Is the connection monitored and censored?

faizy bhai i feel ur pain on this one! :( I am researching my self...inshaAllah we will have something fast available to us soon! How about opening up a business account and getting business internet serivce line? how much would that cost? T1? ;) hmm that was some interesting stuff u said about the wireless satellite that has to hook up through phone....let me do some research ..

KSA…
well the fastest connection you can get for home use is DSL with having 1024Downlaod and 256 Upload, but that comes at a cost, which is more tha 125 US $. and if you are talking about T3, then just forget it, you can only get if you have very good connections with the higher authorities.

I tell you something I work for one of the biggest Univ of KSA and we were jsut acquiring another line of 4Mbs ( already 12 is there). We are uanble to get it even in 3 months time. So you can just imagine the service. Thats why i said keh they have the best resources inthe world but they dont know what to do.

and the censor ship is offcourse there. ( no comments on that) , but there are ways to by pass it.

someone find me something fast!

Hey I’m going to be in Montreal next weekend. Wanna have a meet? :hehe: