Top Of World!!

on TOP of the world!

December 19,2002. Today Me, and Qrius baji had planned to meet the “…Par Excellence”, Mr.Faisal (and his lovely family). Don’t know if we were the first guppies to meet this family (from toronto) from but it was definitely a pleasure to meet Faisal after knowing him via gupshup and then later from msn and telephoning.

Night before, I was at my friend’s place and lost track of time until i felt pretty tired and saw it was 2:30 in the night, and i realized oh damn! .. gotta meet faisal in the morning and need to return car before 6am warna mom wont be able to get to work .. khair, blew off to home .. slept near 4am, TOTALLY forgetting that had to meet faisal .. qrius baji mausoofa shook me up at 9am .. (bummer face, zaalimon, ye PAKKI neend ka time hota hay.. sighhhh).. ke utho, jana nahi hay milnay? mulla ki dorr masjid takk, jiss hulyay main thay, usko THORA sa upgrade kiya.. my definition of upgrading = halka sa cologn and some water, kanghi waghaira! heehhe .. from shoppers world in brampton to square one in mississauga, to where faisal was staying, trip took close to an hour and half.. couldn’t wait to meet him finally.. got off at designated stop, called him up, and notified that okay be ready we are here.. then fooled around like for 10 minutes, went to almost every single block of that area before actually finding the unit# where faisal was hiding .. heeheh..

khair, met his family .. and what a lovely family that is :k: .. bhabi ji say baat karnay ka time pahli baar mill raha tha .. so it was new.. but kids.. darn! .. just TOOCUTE! me and faisal sat down, started talking on almost.. well everything’cept gupshup (specificly) meets, cars, azkar’s schedule, my studies, job, weather of toronto, weather of his city, EVERYTHING!.. then later decided okay what he’s seen so far and what he still has to see.. turned out that they really wanted to see CN tower/SkyDome area.. sure not a problem i thought.. years and years of living here in toronto canada, i personally never had time or will power to visit and go up in CN tower.. so i thought why not faisal be the reason? .. sure thing:k: .. we got ready .. and when faisal says ready, that means, kids putting on their shoes, jackets, detached hats of jackets, jackets, hats IN them, (double hatting?:D) and then .. gloves. .. THATS our canadian ‘being ready’ folks! :slight_smile:

from Q.E.W. to Gardner to Heart of Toronto, in no time we were near CN tower.. lookie lookie:
[thumb=A]onway2cntower.JPG[/thumb]
sighhhhhhhhhhh and every time the sight of this structure brings a coldness in my back and neck’s bones.. a kapkapi! standing in the low visibility area of the sky, this tower is by specific definition, tallest structure of the world!, provides 3/4th of the wireless traffic by its antenna on its top to toronto region and is visible even from my window here in brampton on shiny days..

khair, moving right along, we parked the car right in front of Air Canada Center, and then got the kids to get ready again <:D>.. i am TELLING u .. its a VERY different experience when u travel with lil kids and when u just hangout with your college friends.. after parking, (and getting ready) we started to walk towards the dome, and being the sharaarti mood that took me over, i couldn’t resist in thinking WHAT if i capture the hooters poster in the parking lot.. it was kinda far away, but the zooming worked in my digicam, and i took it..

dartay dartay posts:
[thumb=A]harkatain.JPG[/thumb]

khair..then we turned around.. qrius baji and faisal’s wife were saying something about the ‘gold building’ .. i tried capturing it right then .. couldn’t tell in that light whether its gold or just shining shades of yellow due to its glasses:
[thumb=A]skyline1.JPG[/thumb]
its the one from the second-right. from parking lot it was looking golden.. good view though of royal york hotel.. specially in the night time :k:..

finally we started walking towards tower, passing through convention center, when we reached near the tower’s entrance.. i remembered that saying in urdu: “itni oonchi hay imaarat, ke ooper dekhnay ki koshish karo to topi girr paray gi”. Living proof of that saying:
[thumb=A]topi-giray-gi.JPG[/thumb]

acha ji .. so now we into the tower, took the lift to go up to actually have the "top of the world" experience i kept hearing about .. moment i heard the operator saying we are now going up at 22km/hr .. (and yes i DID feel that speed), i thought inna-lillah, bus lift giri abb ke tabb.. ! khair.. finally we hit the first observation deck .. its the blue-glass part of the cn tower that many of u might have seen in postcards, pictures etc... from THERE here are some views of the toronto area: (u can easily see the spots like gardner expressway, toronto's airport (not pearson international), skydome's top itself, and .. hmmmmmm.. some tall buildings etc..)
[thumb=A]dome.JPG[/thumb]..
[thumb=A]worldtop4.JPG[/thumb]..
[thumb=A]worldtop3.JPG[/thumb]..
[thumb=A]worldtop2.JPG[/thumb]..
[thumb=A]worldtop1.JPG[/thumb]..
[thumb=A]torontoairport.JPG[/thumb]

after seeing from this level, we went down one level to Glass Floor, my primary goal was to push Qrius on the glass floor.. couldn't (the first time) .. she just jammed herself at the edge ke nahi nahi main nahi jayoongi..
so khair left the idea .. first asked her to take couple of my shots:
[thumb=A]faizy-on-glassfloor.JPG[/thumb]
after this shot, gathered a lil bit of courage, and checked the solidness of the glass, went further.. and then sit with my back resting on the wall of cn tower, and body's weight entirely on glass, asked Qrius to take this pic:
[thumb=A]faizy-on-glassfloor2.JPG[/thumb]
now, felt pretty good that yeahhhhh, glass is good, view is pretty mind blowing too, so thought to reminder in the future that YES darpok faizy was there, took the pic with the shoes(DONT START!:D)
[thumb=A]faizy-glassfloor-certification.JPG[/thumb]

After the glass floor experience, everyone said to go to the SkyPoD, the HIGHEST commerically-open-observation-spot in the entire world.. to get there, u need another elevator from one story top of first observation deck.. so everyone started to walk over there, and me, being the always sneaky type, went outside in the open area of the glass floor, (beneath the observation deck) where there is no glass walls, just open structures, covered with steel fences though, having holes only big enough to get cold, and air in.. went around and THATS where u ACTUALLY feel the thrill that YES you are THAT high above the ground.. it almost felt as if u were in an airplane.. thats how much higher it feels from that openair deck.. here is a pic of that place, it was shivvering-cold and u can see from the light and my daant-par-jamay-daant-effect that i was kapkapaaying:
[thumb=A]faizy-sardi-thee.JPG[/thumb]
i SO MUCH wanted to sit on the OUTER part of the railing .. but sigh it was freezing cold and my hand ALMOST got stuck on the railing itself.. :-(((

anyway, we started goint towards the SkyPod, the highest observation deck, took the elevator, reached up .. and .. WOWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW when we came out of the elevator, we looked at our back, saw this sign in that congested space of the elevator and deck:
[thumb=A]highestdeck.JPG[/thumb]
now u can feel reading this, who will NOT get excited, so yeah, i ran up the stairs from the elevator to the deck, and daaaahaaaiiiiimmmmmmmmmmm.. my jaw dropped, eyes popping out .. i just stayed in stunned-mode.. thinking silently in my head..

"NOW THAT IS THE TOP OF THE WORLD. FAIZY U R LUCKY TO BE HERE"
anyway, took a last snap from there:
[thumb=A]faizy-worldtop2.JPG[/thumb]after this, we all re-checked our valuables, 'got ready' and started taking elevators to go down and grab a bit to eat.. entire checking out of CN tower took like.. 1+ hour.. prolly more than that since no1 could keep track of time.. :)

oh another thing, we came out on gift-shop level once came outta last elevator, and found this REALLLY huge bear..(grizzly?) so all kids started to get in its grip and ask to take their pics.. **bechaaray ke khofnaak naakhunn takk jharr gaye thay logon ke sath pics laitay laitay:rotfl:**heheehehehe..

when my turn came, faisal was looking into the camera and i thought hey WHY NOT??? heheheheehe.. here is what i did: (looks as if bear is strangling me to death) heheehehehehe
[thumb=A]faizy-strangled.JPG[/thumb]
Note: Pics of other personal nature, for example Faisal/family/etc will be posted by the individuals who own them, this thread is more like a tourism thread than of a meet thread.

very nice pics faizy :k: :slight_smile:

cn tower:(

WOW faizy yoon lag raha hay k hum bhi tumharay saath ghoom rahay hain in jaghou pay")faisal mian kaha kaha ghoom rahay hou or hamain barish nay gher pay baandh rakha hay:(waisay jaldi say faisal and family ki pic bhi lagayoo daikhoo tou in ki family kaisi hay?/;)

bbg.. :slight_smile: ooper parhain khatoon .. faisal bhai ki family masha-allah BOHAT hee cute hay.. bachay bohat hee sharaarti lekin cute hain masha-allah say .. main to buss fida raha tha continously unke baitay parr.. bohat hee magann banda hay yaar wo .. :k: ..

aww, i love faisal bhai. he's such a sensible guppie. i would love to meet his fam. u're so lucky faizy:) nice pics!

Mashallah kyaa pics hain.. aap tu barrey achhey lagtey ho.. agar mainey apni pics post keen tu is forum se banned ho jaaoonga..

Nice pics. faizy :k:

Wow.. agar sheesha toot jata to app bhartae? :smiley:

hehe.. bear is sho cute, just wait till app ki yae khuahish bhi poori hojaye.. :clown:

everything Masha’Allah seems great, faizy bhai when are you actually gonna stop making us jealous eh? :grumpy:

Faisal bhai, I hope he didn’t bother you as much as I think :smiley: and do post kiddos pictures please!!! :slight_smile:

w:eek:w Faizy great pics:k::k:

tumhain itni unchai sey darr nahi laga? :eek:

humm tu faisal bhai menar dekhney canada geye ??

YAr faizan bhai Yeh wala menar kitney ka lugta hay hum ne bhi lugwana hay :p

:eek: pretty cool : )
hmm…y’all didn’t show 'em Royal York or Eatons or the downtown strip?

nice snaps but…how comes u didnt use the thumbnails???:hoonh:
I tell u guppies..this is DISCRIMINATION against us poor guppies!!!(taaliyan)

it scares the hell out of me when kids jump on that glass. why you ask?
well acouple of years ago there was a chinese man in the canada trust building(u can see it in the pic). to impress clients he used to run and jump onto his window. like the stuff you see in movies. this would scare clients, but got him deals. his purpose was to show how strong the glass was. it was very strong indeed. but one day he tried to show off to his client, but the glass gave way and he fell to his death.

cool pics :k: looks like y’all had fun :slight_smile: