I’ve noticed how there are soo many wedding parties, like the engagment, the nikkah, the rukhsat, the mayon, the walima, the henna and all. Man thats soo much, thats crazy. We have all that done in Yemen, but we don’t do all that here. Arabs here tend to do things low key compared to back home. I want my engagment and nikkah done at the same time, then only a henna night, and then the wedding (walima). I don’t think I can go through all those parties.
Things are different in the Middle East they have parties when you first get engaged till you get home from your honeymoon.
yep yep.. i love them all. i am soo looking forward to all the hulla gulla, parties and dressing up. pakistan ki shadio ka maza he kuch aur hota hai. n ofcourse my favourite part which is lots n lots of mithais :D
i wanted something lowkey... but seeing how happy one small gesture makes... and how excited loved ones get... im all thumbs up for the party... from the engagement till whenever... its all soo exciting ya know...
Interesting. I’d like to hear what other married male guppies have to say about the shaadi experience. For girls, its such an exciting event, with all the colors and pretty clothes, and jewelry, etc.
I always get the feeling that sometimes the groom is just bored at his own wedding.
Aunty at wedding: “Mashallah Mashallah, kitni Khoobsoorat jori hai”
Bride: (thinking: oh this is sooo beautiful…the hall…the people in their colorful clothing, the music…I feel like I’m in a bollywood movie)
Groom: Shukriya. (thinking: okay, so its 11 o’clock…I think we should be done with this by 1:00…after all the hall will shut its lights off at 1:00 anyway…that would suck if the lights go off and we’re still stuck here after 1:00…hmm that biryani looks good, why dont they bring some of that here? Wait what are those people doing? Are they eating it all up? Isn’t someone supposed to get me some biryani. Its my damn wedding, and I dont get biryani? By the way, who are those people eating that biryani? I dont think I’ve ever seen them before…in fact, I dont know who 75% of the crowd is!)
^ they do all that in the Middle East. I would get scared to have my wedding else where than here. This is my home, my family is here and all my friends.
lolz pcg, pakistan mein wedding dont start till mid night.. n the rukhsati is usually around 3 or 4 in the morning n apparently things are pretty bad with the “no food” policy now adays.
PCG, i reckon the groom is prob just as excited... the brides prob going "Geez i look fat.. man this is a tight dress... i look lik ea clown.. how on earth am i gonna egt this make up off... great... i have to go thru this all over agian tomorrow"
groom: "she looks beautiful... im so happy.. who are all these people.. do i know u.."
^ maj: no food as in nothing big like biryani qorma, u can serve halka phula stuff like chai pakoray, dahi barray etc.
its banned because food is the biggest expense of the weddings and ppl waste a lot and not lot of poor people can afford that kind of expense. :-)
needless to say ppl have still found ways to serve food.
PCG : well it won't but it is actually enforced by law, apparently u can get in big trouble if get caught. hey its a start. atleast its a teeeny meeeny step in the right direction.