Too much caffeince...

hiya…

alrite, university is over and I survived because of coffee… Preety much, I had a tim hortons cup at univ, and mug in hand at home.. All the time.. and during that time, used to go to bed between 3-5 am(depending on study load - which btw never seemed to decrease) and always got up around 8-ish… always had labs and lectures in the morning..

and now I’m soooo used to that sleeping pattern… can’t fall asleep before 4 am . and get up by 9:00 am max. and mind you, I hav been going to bed EARLY.. 2:00 am max.. I have tried every thing.. surely decreased to only 1 cup of coffe a day since past month…

Still cant fall asleep… tried reading novels, reciting surahs, even tried to go over my lecture notes in my head(summer school), while I lie on bed.. :frowning: but nothing works.. I just lie for over a hour and a 1/2 every night.. and see the hour go by, on my alarm clock. :frowning: aur phir pata nahin ankh lag he jatee hai.. its been almost a month since univ ended, and I dont know what to do anymore..

Give me some tips, to make myself fall asleep early.. 4-5 hrs of sleep is too less.. I want to catch up on as much sleep as I can, before next yr of univ starts again :frowning: ..

Re: Too much caffeince...

oh i suffer from the same problem :(....it been 3-4 months since i graduated and hence dont need to stay up till late at night but ofourse now it has become a habbit as that was my routine for the last 4-6 years. But ya now i am trying hard to change this habbit as than i get up kinda late at morning and thats not good. And if i sleep late and than get up early in the morning that would mean me having a bad day so thats not good. Anyways i have heard having milk at night helps but i never tried it.

Also, try sleeping one day earlier somehow....maybe tire yourself too much lol...and than when you will wake up early in morning and go thru a hectic say you will automatically feel like sleeping early and hence that will become your routine :D. If anything works for you let me know too :).

Take a warm shower and use a chamomile/lavender scented lotion before you lie down in bed. It relaxes you. For 2-3 days, take Tylenol PM half hour before going to bed. It is nothing but Benadryl but it will help you to sleep. Once you are back on schedule, you will not need to use it again.

Good suggestion! A warm shower releases the sleep hormone in your body, known as Melatonin. Thoroughly shower yourself an hour or two before the time you want to go to bed at and apply the procedure that Niksik mentioned above. Hope you get a good night's rest, soon.

I hate coffee but I had to have it everyday to keep me awake. Phew! exams are finished :D Today was my last one :@:

hey, tiring myself, already tried.. didn’t work.. my body is so used to it now..
I don’t even feel tired anymore, even after less sleep.. but you know, when I go home over weekends, I get my amme janee to put me to sleep .. I just put my head in her lap, and before I know, I m asleep..:wub:

hey thanks Niksik.. showering before going to be is one of those die-hard habbit… so I always take a shower before I sleep. But I will try Tylenol… :blush:

Thanks for the info, dhobi_bhai.

haha, sweet… lol.. sleeping during lectures is so heavenly… :smiley:

valerian herb will help u 2 fall asleep and drink chamomile at bed time with it also.

Alongwith all the other suggestions try going to bed early by 15 minutes each week. This way you can slowly bring your body back to its normal routine.

this works for me...go for a brisk walk for 90 mins..take a hot shower...this wud help!

i wuz under alot of stress during my examz too as a result i developed anxiety disorder,couldnt sleep at all,my doctor prescribed me xanax it worked but very addictive!!