Salam All
Do you people put tomatoes peeled or unpeeled?
If unpeeled what your method of un peeling it?
Looking forward to replies
Salam All
Do you people put tomatoes peeled or unpeeled?
If unpeeled what your method of un peeling it?
Looking forward to replies
Tomatoes in Salan Peeled or unpeeled??? Your method to peel
I do not peel my tomatoes, I’ve never seen it done in my family. We just chop/slice and put them right in.
Waisay, through watching cooking shows on TV, I’ve learned the pest way to peel a tomato is that you make an “x” with a sharp knife at the top, and then drop it into a big pot of boiling water for just a second or two…you take it out and the skin will have peeled back just a bit at the top where you scored it with the “x”. You then use a sharp paring knife to peel down the rest of the skin
Re: Tomatoes in Salan Peeled or unpeeled??? Your method to peel
I mostly add purree Same way like khati said boil peel n mash then add
I also never seen anyone peeled but my MIL does and so my husband is habitual of it may be, although he is not at all nakhrailu in eating but after 2 years we shifted from Pakistan and im cooking all myself today he said that I should peel tomoatoes
, My MIL basically do tomatoes halved and then put in the pressure cooker alongwith whatever curry and when open just peel the skin by using tongs, but i feel the tomoatoes texture is not that good in the salan when this method adopted I think i have to go for the method khatti is telling as i have no issues with unpeeled tomoatoes Ami ney aisey hee khilaya hai but i think i should respect my husband choice also
Here is a step by step picture tutorial of 3 different ways to peel a tomato
Yeah Khatti’s way is exactly how I do it for some of the recipes ..
but generally, I just chop them up in big chunks and in they go ![]()
JazakAllah Khair Khatti
CB yaar i also just chop and put but hubby’s farmaish. Khayal rakhna parey ga na
Unpeeled but I do de-seed
I peel them. I hate eating salan and you get that one random curled up peice of tomato skin lol. I use the method Khatti mentioned, or just peel the skin with a paring knife, or slice in half drop into the salan and cover for like 5-10 minutes…the steam just peels off the skin and u can pick it out easily.
Tomatoes in Salan Peeled or unpeeled??? Your method to peel
Seriously what’s up with peeling tomatoes and blending onions for a simple curry. If my husband required me to do that, I would never cook! lol
Anyways I like texture in my curries so I’m all about letting the ingredients just be instead of making a halwa out of them.
There’s also an option of not giving into some nakhray.
because…peeling tomatoes…really now? most of us have been cooking for years iwthout peeling tomatoes, it really doesn’t make that much of a difference.
peeled tomato saalan for your hubby ![]()
unpeeled tomato saalan for your MIL [mother-in-law] ![]()
We peel the tomatoes. Doesn’t take too long; not such a big deal. There’s no khaas method employed; just peel with a knife. Tomatoes aren’t a such a hassle to peel and chop unlike other veggies like onions, karelay, etc.
Ditto! Then we wonder why our husbands create issues out of small things and are uncooperative. (Making a general comment and not pointing at anyone.)
Never peeled a tomato in my life. You can never see the tomato skin in my salan.
Who has time to peel tomatoes anyway ![]()
I cut tomatoes in half and boil with small amount of water ( covered). After 15 min the skin become soft and separated easily. Then dried water, blend it and put in small portion and freeze it, as I need I use one pack of these frozen tomatoes, my husband don’t like skin of tomatoes , now I don’t like to use tomatoes with skin.
Exactly i also never heard of peeling tomatoes before my marriage, however my Father in law and my husband both are doctors and they say that the peel is not good for kidneys. Only my MIL (who is my Khala too) in out family peels or now her daughters, but if my nands’ husbands eat that peeled one my husband should eat unpeeled too.
S_punk my MIL aso does in half but somehow I dont find that tomatoes propely get mashed in salan like this.
And other all My husband is not at all nakhrailu but as a wife if he has asked for something I should at least try, my husband also does a lot for me so why cant i just peel off the tomatoes :D. However im gonna tell him thatit will be kind of 50-50% sometimes peel on sometimes off
I don’t blend exactly but for onions use very finely chopped opnion especially for rice and qorma in these dishes I don’t like pieces of onions and tomatoes coming in my mouth, for other stuff I don’t peel or blend tomatoes
Tomatoes tend to rot faster in the fridge, so we tend to put them in the freezer instead. When cooking, I just take a frozen tomato, run it under luke warm water for a few seconds, and the peel comes right off. Another thing we do is de-seed tomatoes before adding them to the salan. Heard they are not good for the kidneys
Yup that’s exactly what I do. Chop up the onions and tomatoes very very fine so they blend in completely. Never had to blend or peel!