Tell us about a good day you had, something that you always remember or look back on and say “oh yeah, that day was awesome”
I’ll start with one august 2011, my first trip back to karachi in like 4.5 yrs the first day, was so happy to see my mom and then hang later in the night there was a pretty big gathering after iftar for a lecture at one of my cousin’s house and it was so overwhelming to see everyone after so long lots of hugs and tears, yeah that day was awesome
Some month in 2003, mere Mamo ki shaadi. Bara maza aya tha. Every male and female bacha/bachi had the same dress, and full on masti. Us bacha party buying chruan and imli in bulks with that shaadi money I was like 8-9 years old so I don’t even remember much but that day always sticks out to me.
4th of July 2009…my sister was living in NYC at the time and we planned a “cousins” trip to go visit her…no spouses or kids, just 11 of us all camped out in her Brooklyn apt. We spent the afternoon and early evening at Coney Island, and saw some pretty…errrr…interesting sites
My sister thought that there’d be a fireworks show but apparently she was misinformed as the real fireworks show was going on over the Hudson River
We decided to head into the city to eat anyway and then spent about an hour trying to find some hole in the wall joint in Chinatown my sister swore by
By this time it was near midnight and we were totally over our “host” lol…but it was still a crazy fun day/night and a great kick off to the ultimate cousins trip
Jan 21 2008. After being unemployed for over a year and trying to join my current job for over 3, I get a random call where my mom picks up. Someone asks for me and I get told to answer the phone. So in typical fashion I go get it after my game is over and someone (who is now a good friend) asks me “So where do you want to be recruited from? New York or Islamabad”. I am taken a back, like huh? I ask who is this “Oh its the organization I work for. You got the job did no one tell you?” My response is of course “Nope. Nobody told me…err…which job? I applied and interviewed for a few”. So on and so forth.
That day and the following 6 and a half years have really redefined my priorities in life and my view of the world.
the day i got my Immigration papers to Canada. that was a turning point in my life. academically, i would have been a lost soul if i stayed in India. thank God, i achieved what i lacked. a degree and the road to my career fulfillment. i’m NOT quite there where i wanted to be but yeah i’m on my way, iA.
I like this thread. :k: Happy moments should be remembered.
One of my fondest memories is from my family’s trip to Pakistan a few years back to attend my youngest khala’s wedding. Waise tu entire trip/wedding was really memorable, but the mehndi night especially was loads of fun. It was a girls-only event and sadly, given that so many of us were attending from different parts of the world, no one had practiced our dance moves. Still, at our tomboy bride’s request, we got up and did our thing and slowly everyone joined in.
My youngest khala has always been like an older sister to me, so it was a really big day seeing her as a bride and watching her get rukhsaty-fied. It was like giving a piece of my heart to someone … strange that I don’t actually live in Pakistan but I still cried at the thought of her not being there at my grandfather’s house the next time we would visit. Oh, she made such a gorgeous bride mA and the house was just gushing with pure happiness that day. Alhamdulillah.
I had an arranged marriage, it was winter aur mujhe sardi bohot lag ti hai… A few days into our lives together I came out of the washroom having done wudhu for fajr to find my prayer mat laid out with the heater positioned right next to it. My husband did it so that I could pray comfortably. It may seem like a small gesture to some but to me it was huge. It confirmed what I knew: that I’d be taken care of and that this man, my husband truly cared for me. Shukr Alhumdulillah.