today i've REALLY seen it ALL!!!

errr... weren't you the one who said not to "judge" someone who's buying alcohol from the Duty Free cuz he may be buying it for someone else - how can you then go about judging that couple... if they indeed are a married couple, then I don't see anything wrong in showing affection publicly... and as far as being decent goes, she was trying to cover up in front of other strangers (na-mehrems - so to say) wasn't she!?

UT - u might think there’s nothing wrong with PDA by married couples and u have a right to ur opinion but i think PDA is just disgusting. period.

Mehnaz, hey… :slight_smile: thank u… :flower1:

5Abi, u’re totally right abt niqab as a disguise, i think living in amreeka i had totally been bought into the niqab/hijab signifies religiosity n had forgotten about the fact that in pakistan a lot of galz wear niqab and burqa to hide who they r!!! and nope the KFC staff dint do anything coz there wasn’t any around on the upper floor coz KFC is self service n the counter etc is downstairs.

Faisal bhai aap fikar hi nai karein i’ll be around with some more juicy threads… :smiley: bas aap ki dua aur hosla afzai kee zaroorat hae :smiley:

CA - kya matlab yaar? :confused: dont take it so serious man, if u notice, i dint even wana take a seat next to em coz i was like let em do whatever they want who cares its none of my business, but the point is i just dont like this kinda PDA n they shudnt have been doing it.

Shak Kills u r totally right

teKno thank u bery much :slight_smile:

sadzz yeah u r right
waise i dont think i gave anyone a bad name coz i havent revealed anyone’s identity…lekin i do get ur point..
:slight_smile:

laeeqkhan i dont think i did anythign wrong by opening this thread coz we all had quite a shughli interesting conversation, atleast i had fun :halo:

A_S u r lucky!

hey irem :wave:

na i didnt mean u were giving her a bad name… just generally i think the niqab or no niqab shouldnt need to be stated :slight_smile: everyones a human afterall

also, sorry i didnt mean to say U were giving anyone a bad name..

Umer bhai true totally

Lily, ladies I was not the one who was SPYING! they were just there in public.

FF it did affect me. made me feel hecka uncomfortable not to mention put in me thought abt ‘where is pakistani society going’.

Matsui, lol, yeah I should have called the MMA hotline to come and get them innit :wink:

50-B i was not staring. in fact i took a seat that was not even facing them and thruout lunch i did not even look at em.

fair_&_balance chill dude :halo:

M yeah coz we had already bought our food and secondly i dint wana make it obvious that that was happenning coz my brother was with us as well. besides i wasnt facing them and i tried to ignore them the whole time.

Fayz, my cousin is a she and she was just mad at their PDA and thought our sitting there would make them stop but they were obviously too dheet.

Devil yeah

funguy lol

ahmadjee, Kaleem bhai got it :smiley:

JB tum karo na phir waisi threads open :hoonh: mein to aisi hi karoon gi kyun k mujhay to isi type kee threads hi open karney mein maza ata hae :stuck_out_tongue:

wud yeah i know KFS sucks!

hey sadzz :wave:
all’s cool no need for sorry etc
and yeah everyone’s a human, true :slight_smile:

An Eye opener for Irem, who conveniently ignored my post!!!.

So, do you take a girl out for coffee in Pak?

Kalyani Chandoorkar
Posted online: Thursday, June 24, 2004 at 1054 hours IST

JUNE 23: Eight is a nice number. It evens out the oddities, and facilitates some honest-to-goodness bonding.

And when eight youngsters from either side of the LoC talk about their respective homes on the third day of the youth conference at the Mahindra United World College of India, and the challenges confronting each one, the single-most profound question that stands out is the gleefully voyeuristic: So do you take a girl out for coffee back home?

And even as the target of the question, Osama Jamshaid from Lahore, blushes all shades of crimson, looking upwards, sideways, backwards, the others led by Mumbaikar Deepti Rao, are not letting up. Finally, the grand confession: ‘‘Yeah, we do go out…as friends.’’

Why the appendix ‘‘as friends’’?

Maybe, just maybe it has something to do with the fact that Osama comes from Islamabad, that ultimate haven for bureaucrats. By his own tongue-in-cheek admission, the people out there are ‘‘perpendicular.’’ But he’ll have you know anyway that it is a culturally vibrant and metropolised city. Not the least among its quirks is that ‘‘it is annoyingly clean.’’

Says 18-year-old Ali Abdullah. ‘‘Peshawar is a conservative place, simple. The guys have it easy, not the girls.’’ But the private parties rock, as they do all over Pakistan. Juxtapose that confession with Delhiite Uday Raj Anand’s prime challenge. ‘‘I haven’t had a girl friend for sometime now. I must get one, soon.’’ Are the Pakistanis mesmerised by that instance of youth-with-a-crusade?

Not really, if you consider that 18-year-old Zahra Sheikh insists: ‘‘Karachi, her hometown, is like the New York of Pakistan. Stratified, layered, happening. In fact, now that I’m living at Oxford, I’m a lot more conservative than I was in Pakistan. Western society doesn’t have patience with nuances: you are either one of them, or you’re not. And since you can represent your own self best of all, you may as well be you.’’

Meaning, she adopted the hijab amongst other things. But, she adds wickedly, she had much more ‘‘fun’’ in Pakistan.

A fascinated Yasmeen Sayeed from Mumbai adds in hushed tones: ‘‘The youngsters from Pakistan that I’ve met so far, are in no way as orthodox as the Muslim society I hail from. My mother will be really surprised.’’

Zahra and Anita Nagi from Lahore point out that the concept of girls from achche ghar se using public transport is not on. Contrast that with Leeza Mangaldas’s ‘‘fun and open, career-oriented’’ upbringing in Goa. Then again, if the outspoken Zahra and articulate Anita symbolise oppression, there should be more of it around!

The one person who seems far-removed from the jollies of fun and frolic (until he gives you one of his warm, crinkled smiles) is Sajjad Hussain from Kargil, now living in Srinagar. Talk to him about girls and you’re likely to draw a blank. ‘‘What sort of an education can you have with the frequent calls for hartal?’’ he counters

http://www.expressindia.com/fullstory.php?newsid=32963&headline=So,~do~you~take~a~girl~out~for~coffee~in~Pak?

What makes you think you’re any better than that girl? You’ve basically seen something in public and then come and posted it on the internet. Isn’t gossip just as big a sin as any other?

Ps) what’s this obsession you seem to have with stating people’s ethnicity in every thread you start. If you must insist on doing it then at least use the proper term. What’s a pathan?
:rolleyes:

*Originally posted by irem: *

Minerva haanji dil hotay hayn bilkul hotay hayn laykin thori sharam bhee honi chahiyay....i mean sitting in a public place and doing all that...specially when u r wearing a niqab...it just looks odd.

so u should have told her then,

sharam kar haya kar, apni pehn da waya kar,
plz ethay ei sab kuch na kar

Ok on a serious note, I do understand where you' re coming from But it happens...not on a scale as you would see in the west. But some years back I remember my friend whose parents own a resturant in one of the posh areas in karachi... tell us that they have kicked such people who were openly making out. Now this was years back and there was no curtain, nothing at all. But as this is not a common sight in Pakistan so such incidents seem out of the blue...and hence your reaction.

As for why they did what they did...who are we to judge. But it happens when you levy so many restrictions and curbs on even harmless show of affections. What if they were nikhafied... and as is the case in our society were not allowed to see each other.

As I always say we are too uptight...we need to loosen up a bit.

Minerva Aa Gale Lag Jaa,

:hug:

^ Yes, lets all of us have sex on the beach.

*Originally posted by teKno: *
^ Yes, lets all of us have sex on the beach.

Tekno Bhai,

That is Sarcasm Unlimited!!!

About Sex on the Beach, I will let you have that privilage. I am not Into Voyerism.

OH THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR PERMISSION BLINKING EYES RAPIDLY

Permission and Privilage are 2 different things.:mocking:

Blinking eyes rapidly = REM = Rapid eye Movement = Dreaming.

Bhai sahab yahan koi beach weach nahin hain, please jaag jaao subah hou gayi hain.

Now thats sarcasm unlimited for you,

and please dont scream at me, it scares me!!

:smiley: :smiley:

*Originally posted by Lily: *
Irem love, what people do is between them and God.
You really need to find a life child. Did it ever occure
to you that maybe they have their Nikkah done and
are meeting chori chori chupe kay? This spying
really needs to stop. Your second job should be going around
judging people.

The rest of you need to get laid so you stop taking interest
in such tabloid like stories.

totally agree...

pathetic thread, and shame on u for pointing fingers at others. What makes u any better than her? and what exactly is ur point? its NONE of ur business. Wonder why desis are just busy pointing fingers and gossiping about whos doing what and whos doing who. i,m sure u,ll love it if some day ur spotted with a couple of ur male friends just having a quiet lunch or whatever and someone started spreading ur "rangeen mazajiyan" around... even though u were just with ur colleagues having a lunch. Get a life sister... and worry about ur own self.

minnu, you are such a cutie pie. I think u said it, we( as in Irem and co.) need to stop being the peeping Tom that we have turned into. Maybe they were married, and even if they weren't, it's really none of our business.

And if u can't breathe without judging people or pointing fingers, u better bring the guy into
it too.

Irem continues to post 'Aaa bail mujhay maar threads' :-D but I like the fact that she keeps her calm even after getting hit by so many bails :-)

*Originally posted by Fayz: *
Irem continues to post 'Aaa bail mujhay maar threads' :-D but I like the fact that she keeps her calm even after getting hit by so many bails :-)

LOL yes that is quite admirable.

**Maybe they were married. But 'ilzaam tarashi'
on a pious woman's character specially is such a huge sin that it's
worth it to give her the benefit of the doubt. That's why at times
one's tongue can be a much worse assault weapon than any gun.

The woman could have been married in which case, you're guilty
of gossiping as well as slandering her otherwise pious character.

By the way, It's Pushtoon not pathan. **

I havent read the whole thread. But Irem if you think you have seen it all, come to my university sometime. I bet you will faint there.

~NiQ@Bi~