to wear scarf or not to....

ok pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeee dont move to some other folder mods…get more replies and opinions here pleasee

ok well the other day me and my aunts and cusins having a chat, and the conversation came to scarfs/hijabs etc. none of us wear one. my cousin and aunty were saying silly uneducated things like `oh we wont wear one because weve seen other people wearing them, and they make muslims look bad, i saw this girl in hijab kissing/touching/holding hands/with boys/swearing etc
so THIS IS THE REASON i wont wear one.

NOW for me this is such a stupid statement…if others are wearing it and doing bad stuff, so what? isnt this an excuse for us women on why we wont cover our heards for allah…Now i dont wear it either, however i dont wish to use such petty reasons as to why i dont.

does anyone else use this/think this/know someone that does.

and whats a good answer to these silly statements…

same qiestion for beards…`such and such guy has a beard and he SMOKES/DRUGS/has a gf/is a pervert…whatever.

how can we diffrentiate peoples actions and their appearances and make more people educate themselves in the sense that they dont relate. yes, its bad, but why should that stop you.

my reply was well, non-muslims and muslims wathcing the news, will see that hey all these terrorists seem to be muslim, did that stop non-muslims from converting to islam, or did that make you want to convert to another relgion? if we can ignore the media with its anti-islamic hype, surely one or two people wearing a hijab and having a bf shouldnt deter you either from following whats right…??

Re: to wear scarf or not to....

one simple thing am gona say.. if they men/women are wearing scarf / have a beard .. but for the wrong reasons .. why shouldnt you / or anyone wear scarf / have beard for the Right reasons. if they are jumping in a kooaN/well .. it doesnt mean that you jump in after them .. you prove them wrong and do things for the right reasons ..

and if the society says .. these ppl do these bad things with scarf on . with a beard .. then do u want for the society to keep on having this opinions showing muslim men / women as bad .. abusing their religion .. if not .. then show them that there ARE good muslims too who submit to their religion and are proud of it .. and its only the minority ..if its not a minority in the community who are bad .. then make it a minority that only these minority of muslims are making Islam/ being a muslim look bad.

Like they say, charity begins from home. if evreryone changed for themselves .. its always for the greater good.

Tell them no matter how much you try to integrate into society, you will always be known as a Muslim at the end of the day. In Bosnia, Muslims girls and boys used to date non-muslims but those same non-muslims ended up raping and killing the Muslims they used to date. It's better if we recognize and obey the orders of Allah now and not be fooled by such illusions and hypocrisy before we end up in the same state.

i dont wear a headscarf but what i have noticed about girls who wear them they have numerous bfs and have very bad reputations. one girl i saw in a headscarf was wearing a short top were you could actually see her stomach, yes belly button and everything. she looked ridiculous. the other thing which annoys me and my mum about girls who wear hijabs are how their chests are never EVER covered. whenever my sees a girl/woman with a headscarf but not coverring her chest my mum always says 'why dont they cover their chests, surelly thats more important than covering your head".

wearing police's uniform does not changes thief to police. Scarf does not have a magic to change people. Its to protect already propagated positive changes... and NO i dont buy "iss sai tu acha hai k scarf na hee pehnoon" aur "iss leyee tu darhee nahi rakhta" theory.

Salam
We have to become a practising Muslim for our own selves because in my grave, it will be me who's going to be liable for my actions and intentions. In your grave, it's going to be you. So why use a bad example to harm your own self (in this case those who are abusing Islam by doing such things) Instead, we should try to prove them wrong who have negative impressions of Islam and practicing Muslims.

Re: to wear scarf or not to…

^well said :k:

I would say that there are people who go to school/college/university who also do all kinds of stuff that I wouldn't approve of (e.g. drugs, dating, sex, alcohol), so by the same logic, should we also avoid getting education and avoid educating our children?

I don't wear the headscarf. Some of my cousins do, some don't. But none of my cousins that do are hypocritical in their behavior, nor do they act all self-righteous around the rest of us. I have seen the women who proudly call themselves "ho"jabis -- it's best to avoid people who behave hypocritcally.

i wear it hijab, and i do it because I am a Muslim. At the end of the day, we will be accounted for our own deeds - good and bad. It has nothing to do with what other people will think of me - Muslim and Non Muslim.

People will always judge other people. Unfortunately, that is human nature. But Allah SWT will be your only witness.

There are hijabis/men with beards that do "unislamic" things, but that's their own business - we shouldnt judge. And who knows what goes on with other peoples' lives and the things they do. People will call them hyprocrites, while other people might argue that at least they are wearing hijab/having beard.

On the day of judgement, Allah SWT wont be asking what i think about these kinds of people, so why should we even worry about it.

Fix ourselves first. Judge ourselves first - then judge other people.

Good answer.

Sisters,

If you are not pretty don't bother wearing scarf. Plz don't give ruin our image.

Come one...

^ seriously?

I don't joke around.

To wear a hijab or not is completely upto you. If your heart says, you should wear it, then you should do it without caring for what anyone else thinks. Just whatever you do, do it wholeheartedly.

I agree with barqun and afshi! Everyone is going to be judged by their own actions and doings. We shouldn't be deterred to something because of what other might think or feel. Wear the hijab if you want to for the right reasons. Live and let live people!

I think the question you are asking is not really about hijab ... its about our perception of other people around us and how we form "stereotypes" based on one person's action.

I know a lot of guys who have beard and those who don't. Now I used to be in the same boat as the people you described. I used to form hard opinions based on one person's actions.

The problem with that is one day one of my friends who has a beard asked me if what if he generalized that all men who don't have beard are loose and have multiple girl friends, heavy smokers and are not honest. Would I be offended?

That got me thinking. Why am I so comfortable to say label every guy with a beard as "mulana", while I don't want to be labelled myself.

So don't make your decision of to wear or not to wear hijab based on these things. Do your research and see if it is really needed? If you find your answer to be yes than follow it.

The next time they make such petty excuses just ask them "do u really think this justification attempt of yours is going to work on the day of judgement?" ... and that should be enough... an answer to such silly statements is not needed.

I'm not saying it doesn't happen.. i myself know of bearded muslims who're the biggest retards in the world... but i'm not going to use this as an excuse...

please dont. I just dont understand the rationale. You dont want guys to see your head since it’s sexual in nature? i mean i dont many guys who get turned on just by the girls head. I mean sure luscious set of hair is attractive but its way way down the list. So protect the more important areas first. Defeats the purpose of wearing a hajaab and then wearing tight jeans and a “smaller than your regular size” shirt.

where in the quran does it say you should wear hijab? either wear a full ninja suit or get rid of hijab. I dont get this half ass BS.