To reflect upon this world

So it’s 3 AM and I’m supposed to be studying, but I’m desperately bored. A good time to reflect upon the diversity and beauty of this world.

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/BK-SeeingGardensp57.jpg

The word ‘paradise’ comes from Arabian culture and so probably does our idea of enclosing nature with walls.
Photograph: Sam Abell, Marrakesh, Morocco (1998)

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/NGM1998_03p9LoLe.jpg

Tentacled green anemones.
Photograph: David Doubilet, Channel Islands, California (1996)

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/BK-SeeingGardensp17.jpg

Skeletal trees, remnants of an ancient forest that had been buried centuries ago by shifting sand dunes. Over time the sands shifted again, revealing this scene.
Photograph: Sam Abell, Fraser Island, Australia (1995)

So on the ocean of life, we pass and speak one another / Only a look and a voice, then darkness again and a silence ~ Henry W. Longfellow

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/NGM1993_09p116-7.jpg

Britain’s hedgerows
Photograph: Sam Abell, Somerset, England (1992)

So on the ocean of life, we pass and speak one another / Only a look and a voice, then darkness again and a silence ~ Henry W. Longfellow

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/NGM1999_04p35.jpg

A marine iguana grazing on green algae.
Photograph: David Doubilet, Galapagos Islands (1998)

hey nads.. where'd u get this stuff? ive been lookin for these pictures all over!

i wana be a nature photographer.. one day.. sigh :couch potato wala icon:

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/NGM1998_09p75-6.jpg

Sunlit frost painting a windowpane.
Photograph: Michael S. Yamashita, Vermont (1998)

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/NGM1999_01p24-5.jpg

A greenspot nudibranch sensing the sea with its touch-sensitive organs.
Photograph: David Doubilet, Western Pacific Ocean (1996)

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/NGM1999_02p34-5.jpg

Urubamba River of south central Peru.
Photograph: Frans Lanting, Peru (1998)

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/103179bp.jpg

Circling Pacific barracuda.
Photograph: David Doubilet, New Hanover Island, Papua New Guine (1987)

nadia those are some great pictures :)

Nadia go and study…as long as people keep posting nice posts as such, one can’t control the urge to reply -more distraction . Well, it’s twelve and I am still at work

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/soldier.gif

or at least trying to work.. but hey not rest for the weary.

Galapagos

PS good luck in the exams.

[This message has been edited by Abdullah k (edited April 04, 2002).]

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/103177ap.jpg

Moray eel in soft coral, Izu Peninsula, Futo, Japan, 1983

cHEeGUm, hehe I copied all of them from the National Geographic website. They have a ‘Photo of the Day’ section where you’re allowed to save their pictures if you want to e-mail them to a friend, save as wallpaper, etc. It’s cool, check it out: http://lava.nationalgeographic.com/cgi-bin/pod/PhotoOfTheDay.cgi

If you are interested in this field, then why not? I am certain you would be great at it Insha’Allah… and don’t feel bad, we are ALL couch potatoes one way or the other. Infact if you want to know more about NG’s photographers and how to get an internship with them, check out http://www.nationalgeographic.com/photography/qanda/index.html

Sehar, thank you:) Made my day.

Abdullah,

are you a fellow insomniac or just doing your duty? I’m sorry to see you have got the graveyard shift:-( Must be tough.

I am in a computer science building where I am literally surrounded by hundreds of computers, so the temptations, I am afraid, are too severe.

Many many thanks for the goodluck on the exams; by the Grace of God they have been postponed until the 25th of this month. After that, freedom and an opportunity to see my family Insha’Allah:) Have a good night; hope you don’t sleep on the job

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/flower1.gif

aww thanx nads.. checkin that stuff out right now. which comp sci bldng u at? i was thinking u'd be surrounded by chinese folks all over the place. where theres comp sci theres chinese. umm well desi too!

Great PicS!

btw itni hi bore ho rahi ho to Pakistan kae rural areas kae images ki bohat zaroorat hai gadhay ko, i tried to find some, but my net is not working properly, har web kholnae per error day raha hai...

~The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams~

LOL...well maybe I can send you some of data files and you can crunch out some programs by morning. I am also at our college lab doing work and pulling long hours these days- you can call it work till three four am and then be back in five hours.

Have fun and inshallah talk to you.

lemme join the club

i am pulling an all nighter

I have an exam in 7hrs!!!

cHEeGUm, yep usually this building is packed with desi folks. A group of desi guys left about two hours ago, one of their friends is still here; he is making me feel extremely guilty, he has been seriously studying nonstop for the past four hours. What self discipline! triple guilt and couch potatoes wala icons

KK, at your service… I’ll try to find some Insha’Allah.

Abdullah, errr awfully kind of you but umm on second thought actually maybe I should go study

Me and number-crunching do not go together:) Take it easy on yourself, don’t stress yourself too much with a hard load of work and studies.

Sehar, aw best of luck with your exam.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/flower1.gif

I hope you do well on it, Insha’Allah.

Sehar. good luck to you , inshallah you'll do well and get some rest before the exam.

awwwww :)

Thanks a bunch both of you.

Subhan Allah very nice images nadia..

thanks for sharing.. and good luck in exams..

Dont think "you can" know "you can"
.::. ¢¼ ﷲ ﻼﺃ ﷲﺃ ﻶ ¢¼ .::.

That is amazing beauty indeed.
Thanks Nadia_H.

“wHy is It thaT iF yOu kiLL a Man in waR yOu aRe a hEro**,** but
if you kIll a maN outSide of War you are callEd a murdeRer ?

Ohh wooooow that waterfall in Peru…

Thanx Nadia! GRRRRRRRReat pictures!

There’s A Thin Line That Separates Sanity and Insanity
I Stand With One Leg On Either Side Of It!

ASHHADU -AN LA ILAHA ILALLAH WA ASHHADU- ANNA MUHAMMADUN RASULLULLAH

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ALLAH HU AKBAR^^^^^^^^^^^

[This message has been edited by Warrior of Allah (edited April 04, 2002).]