Hi!
In Lahore there is a famous monument called Anarkali’s Tomb–supposedly belonging to Anarkali urf Nadira Begum urf mashoor o maqbool qaneez e darbaar e Akbari…
what can you tell us about it since you have lots of knowlej of lahore.
Hi!
In Lahore there is a famous monument called Anarkali’s Tomb–supposedly belonging to Anarkali urf Nadira Begum urf mashoor o maqbool qaneez e darbaar e Akbari…
what can you tell us about it since you have lots of knowlej of lahore.
Barkhurdar Asif Jahan, Masti-e-Zulf Khan Bahadur Zindagan e Aalim
What do you suppose I am? Moghul-e-Azim? But anyway, here is what little I know about Anarkali.
Anarkali was Salim’s (Son of Akbar)mistress. After Salim came back from a long battle and was leading somewhat relaxed life, he sees Nadira (Anarkali) and is totally mesmerized by her looks. He starts a passionate affair with her. History tells us that Moghul Empire was based on sex, deception and plunder. And by the time, they wizened up, it was too late. The story of Anarkali is just a small instance that offers insight into the way their minds worked. I have read some accounts that the story is just a mythological tale, and it didn’t occur.
So what happens is that Bahaar (a rich and influential girl) is also in love with Salim and dreams of becoming the empress. She is very much willing to do anything to get Salim. She conspires with some guards, and somehow manages to convince Akbar that Anarkali is a danger for the Moghuals. Subsequently, Anarkali is killed and buried alive in Lahore (how lovely). How much of that is true, only God knows. Her tomb is not very famous and has not really been looked after. There isn’t much of a tomb, there is just a wall. Many tourists to Lahore, don’t go to that part. They visit the Bazaar named after Anarkali, and only a very few go to see the site where she is buried
I think, the best movie (and there have been many) has to be Moghal-e-Azam. Although the story has been satirized, but it does tell us a lot about the person of Anarkali. In any events, it is a beautiful story, and it does intrigue me. “Aaj KahaiN gay Dil ka Fasana, Jaan bhi laylay Chahe Zamana. Ishq maiN Jeena Ishq maiN Marna, aur HumaiN ab Karna Kiyaya. Jab Payar Kia to Darna Kya.”
Your Emperor,
NYAhmadi, Farkhand-e-Hindustan Saleem Agha Du Jahan, Nazar-e-Talwar, Biradran-e-Chunn
Biradran-e-Chunn
Who's 'Chunn'? Are you tunn?
Rom. These are the matters of hearts, although he lied to us, he let us down, but I still feel honored to be his brother. At times, I have felt to bury his lying butt alive, smack in the middle of Anarkali, but then again, my love of him subdues me. It is a big dilemma for me.
Mohabat ki Jhotee Kahani pey Roay, BaRi Choot Khai Jawani pey Roay.
If you ever communicate with him, tell him that his brother is very confused. He is not sure whether to sever ties with him, or to be madly thinking about him. Either way, it is hurtful. I feel like Anarkali. Damned if you do, and damned if you don’t.
I was just wondering, if there is a Chunn-Chowk in Lahore? If not, I think, we can start working on enshrining Chunn’s butt to honor our friendship (Moghal Style).
...butt to honor our friendship (Moghal Style).
You mean with a tall, huge Gunbad to top it?
I feel very flattered to have seen my name taken in the same breath with the likes of Shehzada Salim and Anarkali(and her butt).
Ahmadi yar tooN dosti ainnee shidat naal karda ain I wonder teri ashiqee da ki haal hovay ga.
Roman: Gumbad de ooper jhanda vi lagana ain. then their will be mela on my mazar every Thursday(Virvaar) when kaNwari girls will come to pray for their future lovers.
Chann ji not to mention Qawalis and pandaray di daal on naan. (I can almost visualize Ahmadi going galvanized over the last part).
For the longest time Mughl-e-Azam was my most favourite movie.
Ahhhh the riches, glamour and yes, utter ruthlessness of those times....what a magical time it must have been.
The dance sequence.....the rose with "behoshi ki dawa"...the courage to face a canon...what conspiracies, what show of power, what determination....
Now....was she actually killed and buried or was she buried alive or was she taken out the back cuz the woman claimed back her favour from the king????
What actually happened?
I remember I was a little kid back in Lahore, in 70's when Doordarshan broadcasted the movie on TV. The movie was so much well-known and popular that a lot of people from other cities like Karachi etc came to Lahore to watch it since those areas don't catch signals from Doordarshan.
I remember some of the out-of-towners even sleeping on chaarpais on streets to catch the movie next day.
Muzna, is it true about Karachi walay coming to Lahore to see a free movie? I bet this is sarasar ilzam mufatkhor Roman is layeing.
Waise I heard Mughal-e-azam ran 52 weeks straight in Amritsar and I still have not seen it
Channji,
I’m too young to remember the time that Roman is talking about.
Muzna I doubt if you were even born by then.
yeah right I forgot she was born after the Tianenmin(sp?) square massacre in China:)
Well i remember the time when movie was broadcasted from Doordarshan for the first time. My aunt's house was on top of a hill and almost half of the town was at her place to watch it....there were so many ppl that we had to put the TV in verandah and spread durries in seHn....
Chann ji tussi Mughal-e-Azam nai vekhi...haiN? shurram karo tussi....huh!