To Indian Fans : Please answer this for me...

Is DHONI a better batsman than YUVRAJ ?

Why else would you play TWO WICKET-KEEPERS and keep YUVRAJ out.

There is not much to choose between the wicket-keeping skills of Dhoni and Karthik…so what is the logic in playing both and keeping Yuvraj out. Somebody please explain…because this is driving me insane…the Indian Management have to be morons to not get this unless I am missing something.

First the preference of a highly inconsistent Jaffer over Yuvraj pisses me…but there is at least a theoretical explanation for that… Jaffer is supposedly a SPECIALIST OPENER (whatever that means). But this thing about Yuvraj losing out to Dhoni is…put simply…outrageous.

Re: To Indian Fans : Please answer this for me...

I agree if anything they should have had dhoni play as bastman and Karthick as Keeper/batsmen...but even in that case Youvraj better batsmen than Dhoni....

b4 the series started i was happyily lookinf forward to see Dhoni's bubble busted by Eng Bowlers but now with Both Harmisson and Hoggard out...Dhoni's chances or serviving this series have trippled......sad news for cricket

Re: To Indian Fans : Please answer this for me…

Yuvraj is one the best players they have. At times he has been more effective than Dravid. Unfortunately BCCI is willing to waste this great talent just like they wasted Mohammad Kaif.

I believe Yuvraj is a specialist player, which basically means he can play anywhere even as an opener. He could have been as a middle order player in the side in place of Gangu :smack:

2 keepers in the side and they dropped one key player :smack: :smack:
Aisa tu hum log kabhi kabhi galthi say FC competition may kartay hain aur phir DC ko paisay khila kar team change kartay hain :hehe:

Some1 Jee, you have every right to get outrageous. I am still trying to come to a logical explanation, and there is none which states why Yuvraj should be kept out. With Pathan already been downsized in Chappell's era, Yuvraj should be an automatic entry in the final X1. Dhoni and Karthik, I don't care who gets the gloves. Terrible decision by selectors, Dravid and that one stand-in coach, Chandu something. First slapped out of the captaincy circle, and now thrown away from the team.

People within the BCCI have to realize the fact that real match-winners are hard to come by. Yuvraj Singh have been a key figure in Indian cricket. An out-of-form Yuvraj is unquestionably better than any form of Dhoni.

Yea, drop a bowler or wicket keeper and put Yuvraj in. Forget bowling, India's batting need to be strengthened to save matches. who cares about winning.

Agree completely with fkhan2 and dhobi_bhai.

Yuvraj is being mishandled in his prime.....the guy is being left out when he is in great touch. And he is a super fielder unlike butter-fingered (when not wearing the wicket-keeping gloves) Karthik.

The sad thing is that a Cricketer's career span (when he is at his prime) is very short - possibly 7-8 years max...and if you don't give him the right opportunities at the right time - you are basically killing his career.

Re: To Indian Fans : Please answer this for me…

Nikema, dhobi, fkhan2 and Fayz, I am disappointed, the thread is for “Indian fans” … :naraz:

Agreed on Yuvraj. I think he desrved to be there in place of Dhoni. Not that it is fair but I sort of think why Dravid and Company would have decided this way. It may be because Dhoni has not done anything bad either in his test career yet. I dont agree with this line of thinking though. Best eleven should have played. Playing him in place of Jaffer was definitly not an option because this would have meant either Yuvraj or Dravid had to open. If Dravid opened and failed then many critics would have said and rightly so that you dont use your best batsman as makeshift opener. Similary, asking Yuvi to open would have meant that we are making him scapegoat. He is making a comeback and therefore should play at the position where he is more comfortable at.

Your comment on Karthik is really Knee Jerk comment. I have seen Karthik many times and although he is wicketkeepeer, he is by far our best fielder after Yuvraj. This was a one of incident (although costy) and should be ignored. Even Yuvi and Azhar have dropped catches in past.

You know what - my comment about Karthik's fielding skills was anything but knee-jerk.

Yes I know Karthik has taken some splendid catches - but guess what, he has DROPPED more than a few DOLLIES. I am not sure if it is a case of over-enthusiastic fielding.

I don't know if you followed the India-BD series. He DROPPED not one, not two, but THREE SIMPLE CHANCES in one single inning. But nobody took much notice because BD got dismissed cheaply anyways.

I don't seem to remember Yuvraj or Azhar drop such simple chances. They could have, but the fact that I don't remember them means they must have been very rare and far in between.

You may be right. I didnot follow Bangladesh series very closely. My impression of him is based on whatever I have seen on TV and I have only seen some splended ground fielding and catching from him.

Dhoni is the new Sachin for BCCI's vaults. He is getting big endorsements and draws public attention. BCCI will do everything to keep Dhoni and yes even at the expense of a classic left hander in the middle order of a test batting lineup! Go and sulk, you were born a desi.

Perhaps less So to BCCI and more to Indian people+media

I must say, I am highly surprised that he was left out. In this form, he would probably walk into the Pakistani batting line-up.

That is why I loved Greg Chappell. The man chose horses for courses and did not believe in "stereotyped players".

He saw Irfan Pathan could bat as well as some of the top batsmen. Gave him opportunities at the top of the order with fantastic results.

If it was not for Chappell, Dinesh Karthik would never have had his second incarnation as a specialist batsman (The morons at the BCCI would never have got past his being a "specialist wicket-keeper").

Chappell dared to bring Ganguly to task for his non-performance, even though he was the Captain of the team.

Jaffer is a very ordinary batsman...specialist opener or not - I have little doubt that Yuvraj will outscore him 9 out of 10 times if he opened, and so will Laxman.....but then again...it does not matter...as Mr Jaffer is an "specialist opener".

Here is one possible scenario, based on the long-standing phobia of our middle order bats to opening. (Historically, Dravid has been the only one with the balls to step up and open, and even he got skewered by the press after he opened in the last test against Pak in Pak. "doesnt make sense to sacrifice our best bat at the top" etc etc).

Yuvraj and Laxman have both said in the past that they would prefer to play in the middle order. Consistent with past history for our super bats, so no real surprise here. So Jaffer is in as opener, and Karthik as the other one. Tough to ask Karthik to open after wicketkeeping for multiple sessions, so that brings in Dhoni as the other wicketkeeper. (Also helped that Dhoni made those runs in the last inning, otherwise I think they would have bit the bullet and dropped him).

Not saying this is an ideal explanation, just offering up one line of thought. Problem with this reasoning is that it gives a clean pass to Ganguly - he is the guy I would have dropped instead of Yuvraj.

^ I remember both Laxman and Yuvraj being quoted as saying that they are ready to open the innings if they are asked to.

Also, this thing about "it doesnt make sense to sacrifice our best bat at the top" is total nonsense in my opinion. If you have a weak opener, Dravid is coming in to bat within a few overs anyways. Does it make any difference whether he starts his innings from Over Number 1 or Over Number 3.

It's a great tragedy that someone of Yuvi's ability Is being played around with In the TEST arena. He Is a complete cricketer, a classy text book batsman, superb fielder and a handy bowler.

I have never believe in this specialist opener bull$hit when it comes to Indian or Pakistan cricket. We have seen the caliber of these so called specialist openers and the pressure they put so often on the 1 down batsmen or the middle order.

Cricket is evolving rapidly but what beats me is that why it is so difficult to experiment with your 1 down batsman and bring him up the order as an opener????? On an average he would be coming to bat anyway in the first few overs. Or in this case instead of dropping a player like Yuvraj, play him as an opener. I am sure the reasoning of the team management would be that they don't want to shatter Yuvraj's confidence by sending him as an opener. As if they are doing wonders for his confidence by dropping him.

That was the most ''****tiest '' decision ever .How can any one drop Yuvi ?