To change your looks ...

During one of the dinner parties recently, the discussion moved to Michael Jackson and how he changed his appearance, using a variety of means.

Then a lady criticized the fascination of Americans with the newest treatments available for cosmetic surgery to improve your looks… she was particularly annoyed over liposuction and breast enhancement. Her argument was that people should feel proud in what God has given them, without trying to alter the body by artificial enhancements.

Another person opposed this approach and suggested that if a new method is available and one can afford the treatment, there is nothing wrong with improving your look. Its just a personal choice. If you don’t like it, don’t do it for yourself.

The lady disputed this argument. But then another person pointed out that ladies are always rushing to beauty parlors to get facial hair removed. So in a way, that is also altering your natual face.

Obviously the lady felt that removing facial hair is akin to getting a hair-cut (for men) and there is nothing wrong with that. The discussion, therefore, reached an impasse as to what level of cosmetic alteration is allowed.

Is it ok for a small level, but not good if you cross a certain line in the sand? Is it just a personal choice, or an inherent irritation at other folks who can do something you can’t?

Is there anything wrong with trying to improve your looks, enhancing breasts or getting a liposuction done, getting your hair straightened out or having plastic surgery to improve your skin complexion etc?

[This message has been edited by Pristine (edited October 07, 2001).]

i'd say it has more to do what the intention is.

Girl A has some serious self-esteem issues and she wants breast implants. She thinks that'll help her.

Girl B just wants bigger Jugs so that the guys will notice her more.

Both want the same thing, but for different reasons..

but then again, its your body, do what you want with it.. i doesn't concern me

You’ve been given the greatest gift. Its a body, it has its defects in it and that in itself is beauty.

The societal aspect of having big jugs, round buttocks, elongated shwang, tight stomach muscles, big biceps will change from one turn of the century to another.

An example can be taken from the Mesopotamian/Greek times when the nobility set a guideline that skinny people are only fit for slaves and those who are fat can only be the nobility because of their husky physique, they are well fed, well educated and better off than the skinny peasants. Now skinny people are the sexy ones. Go figure

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/hoonh.gif

There is a BIG difference between removing unwanted hair to augmenting your body by unatural means.

This body that you behold for a temporary lifetime is a temple; you have to take care of it, not exploit it, to satisfy somoeone elses hunger or for that matter your physiological well being. To be one at mind will in turn make your body flourish naturally. And I don’t mean taking natural drugs like marijuana for all the friggin’ hippies out there. It is how the balance of ying and yang work.

Our state of mind is manipulated to believe that certain sanctions/guidelines are to be withheld in order to fit the societal quota of being sexy or hot.

Fashion is a fad, either your hot or not. Fads fade away. Everyday we’re bombarded to look a certain way. If you don’t wear versache your not, but if you do then your hot. It all comes from Le’IMAGE.

Whats in a label? Whats in a hideously chizzled body? Whats in a deformingly curvacious body?

Get with the program, you wanna improve your body. Do it by natural means. Just don’t over do it.

Why would you want to scar your body? Why would you want to inflate your body with plastic and salene solution? Why pump your body with uncessary manmade byproducts? Ever thought about the side effects? Can’t be young forever and neither can you be immortal. So if your gonna age, do it gracefully.

Come to think of it, we as muslims are told not to show off our bodies. This entire ordeal begins once we started wearing revealing clothes.

You wear a scanty bikini or clad speedo and expect not to be judged on how you look. Get real! We’re humans, we only judge what we see. Thats our first common instinct or should i say animal instinct.

As for personal choices, you dont have one because your using what one man created for you to look a certain way.

Personal choice is only when you are in control of your own body and not exploiting it to look like spice girls or boy toys etc etc.

Be happy with what you’ve been given in ALL aspects and by chance if your not then do yourself a favor, don’t abuse your body.

Jitna Diya Sarkar Nay Mujko, Itni Meri Auqat Nahi, Yeh Saab Tumhara Karam Hai Aqa, Mujh Mein Aisi Koi Baat Nahin.

Love happens once . . .

CocoNut I agree with you

well said, one thing I want to add to remove unwanted hair with natural products with wax like the old Egyptian did is not the same to be cutting (plastic surgery) your body to look like some model or hero.

Most important we have to accept ourself the way we are, the way God made us and only if we accept ourself will the others do the same.

>>Just don’t over do it<<

Who decides it? Is it a personal choice or does someone decides it for all people?

>>Most important we have to accept ourself the way we are<<

Reminded me of a survey Vogue magazine did in collaboration with GQ magazine, 8-9 years ago. According to the survey, 89% of people are dissatisfied with their nose, and if given a choice will get it changed!

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/redface.gif

LOL!

The way I look at it is, basically, we all accept the way we are (as far as looks are concerned), but if they had a choice, most people will always opt to better their looks. It may just be to go to a hair-dresser and ask them to cut the hair in a more modern and fashionable way, or to go to a gym 5 days a week to work on their abs and upper torso, or it may be something more expensive and radical (like surgery). They tend to think, maybe rightly, that it is their face and their body, and they have a right to look as good as they can, and its no body else’s business to criticize them for this freedom of choice.

Its a personal choice

Your choice.

Jitna Diya Sarkar Nay Mujko, Itni Meri Auqat Nahi, Yeh Saab Tumhara Karam Hai Aqa, Mujh Mein Aisi Koi Baat Nahin.

Love happens once . . .

Wisdom dictates it thar dont try to fool mother nature i.e. Interfere too much with it ,it has side effects.We worry about thousands of sideffects of one tiny cold medicine but for vanity sake we are taking so much risk as to lose our life .Stomach stapling for losing weight Fascial surgery & liposuction have resulted in deaths,scarring grotescue looking face,out of shape (assymetrical didtorted) bodies torso etc.

Then there are not so wise & carefull ,who do not care for the risk .let them play russian roulette after all this country is about letting yourself kill only dont inform the govt .Dont tell dont ask policy as far as public preventive health is concerned!

Bik Gaya Jo Woh Kharidar Nahi Ho Sakta

would this apply to braces too? so many people get them aj kal, it really doesn't matter. however i have met a few muslims who say that braces alter what god has given you and blah blah blah... what do you think?

barysh

You are talking of Dental brace obviously.

First who ever told you ,its his interpretation from whatever his school of philosophy aligned ,i mean wahabi ,hanafi maaliki,****e,sunni,bohri ,khoja …you know sects.

For such matters like brace which does not involve surgey just straightening teeth gum & jaw i wouldnt even consult any islamic book.

When you break your bone ,the doctor does cast of the area injured.No body says it is against koran.Cast is a brace just different area!!

Bik Gaya Jo Woh Kharidar Nahi Ho Sakta

Is there anything wrong with trying to improve your looks, enhancing breasts or getting a liposuction done, getting your hair straightened out or having plastic surgery to improve your skin complexion etc?

Before I comment, tell us what exactly are you planning to do with your body. We'll take it from there...

Thanks..

ghalib ji- hair coloring. to dye or not to dye?

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif

The Nature/Natural Selection of the Human Species & Non Human for that matter has ended; we may not know that yet or accept that.

Most yearn to stay young forever and look gorgeous. This URGE will, in years to come, increase in intensity. The Human race will never be the same again.

Most of the food we eat are genetically engineered; only, now we are waking up to that realization. Somebody, i e, the Corporations changed what we eat and did not bother to ask us.

Aniamals are being genetically modified and also cloned. Were our opinions elucidated?

Next - the Humans, whether we like it or not!

Well Humans are already on the list.

EXAMPLE: An infant who live 20 days with a baboons heart.

Love happens once . . .

Soon, the surgeries that Michael Jackson underwent to make him look - white, will be passe; parents can customize their unborn child's features. Imagine a desi parent with a blond child & blue eyes.

Baboon heart - well, they say a pig's heart is closest to human so pigs will be cloned with human qualities to make the pig's organ more like human thus eliminating the 'rejection' factor. Imagine pigs who are human or with human genetic qualities.

Get's a little scarier with cloned humans. What is a cloned human?
An entirely new specie!

Can it breed?
Sure, you betcha!

Compared to humans: Superior or Inferior?
Superior!

Sarah, one should be what he/she is. The beauty is in the eye of the be-holder.
Allah has given us face for identification purpose, but what matters is the one's REAL INNER SELF. The purity inside brings out the beauty on surface.

If the aim is to impress other people, we need to put more effort into improving personalities. Somebody who is of passable looks but who is an interesting person will be more popular than someone with a perfect body who has nothing to say.

Michael Jackson is a perfect example of why plastic surgery should not be undertaken lightly. Poor man.

Faizaan, I agree, but most people see the apperance first and then look beneath it.

I hurt myself today
To see if I still feel
I focus on the pain
The only thing that's real
- NIN