Re: To be, or not to be, that is the question
yaar kidhar phaNsaa rahai ho
good thing for a mod is that he should not really ask to be a moderator but is ‘picked’…
Having said that, let me write a short true story (I might miss the fine details but story will be intact Insha Allah), I think documented in Kashf-ul-Mahjoob (I may be wrong about the source/reference but I did read it in different books) … If you believe in Sufism, you might have heard it.
**Khwaja Hasan Basri
**and Rabia Basri:rahm: have been two sufi saints from the same time period.
One day, Rabia Basri:rahm: was walking down the river-side (I think it was Euphrates) when she saw Hasan Basri:rahm: offering salah right on top of river with his praying rug smoothly calm. When he finished the prayer, Rabia Basri:rahm: spreaded her prayer rug in the air and offered the salah.
When finished, she turned towards Hasan Basri:rahm: and said, meaning of which is:
"Hasan! You prayed on the water of river, in which fish also swim and I prayed in the air where even a house-fly flies and roam around. The powers that we are given are subjective. For me, even a smallest of the creatures with no value, a fly can do the same what I did…
Hasan! we are supposed to call people towards enjoining good and towards the guided path. We are from them. If we show something that they can not do, they will go away from us. They would not listen to us. We are given these powers to serve people, not to show it off and make them feel inferior. Remember! this power belongs to Allah and He can provide this to anyone He wishes. It’s nothing for us to be proud of it. Responsibilities that come with this power are far greater and more sensitive."
I think I have explained my point for you Aliyish bhai
Did I?