Re: To all those who are married....
my MIL & FIL gave their daughter on my wedding day.
I totally remember that.
my MIL & FIL gave their daughter on my wedding day.
I totally remember that.
Re: To all those who are married…
K_A, until today I have not been able to figure out of you are married or not ![]()
nik it was a joke.
uss waqt dulhan ko kia hosh hota hai kon kia de raha hai ...mujhe yeh b nahi pata ke mammo kahla phupu chacha ne kitne lac ya kitne hazar diye hai .....
bhabi: you are in the same position as me because even I dont know who gave what...I was just wondering if people mostly give salami on valima or is it on ruksati aswell...and what about those people that come to the valima and the ruksati, do they give on both days?
Most of the time - money is given to the couple. On the wedding, my mum made a list of who gave how much and same thing happened on the walima so we can remember for the future if there are weddings in the future in any of those families.
Same here. Dad wrote down what people gave. Where is that list today? I have no idea.
^ I have hardly seen such lists being of much use later on. I am with whoever wrote above (I think Mirch) that ppl give what they want. You give what you want (and can afford). Exact reciprocation is neither possible nor makes much sense.
i only remember a few things, some were very thoughtful, some were not, some were recycled, like one coffee maker which had a card addressed to the people who gave us the damn thing :D etc etc
^ I have hardly seen such lists being of much use later on. I am with whoever wrote above (I think Mirch) that ppl give what they want. You give what you want (and can afford). Exact reciprocation is neither possible nor makes much sense.
I agree. I wasn't going to write down but it was dad's idea, not because he wanted to give something of equal value on his friends' children's weddings but because he didn't want to give anything LESS than what they gave.
I personally don't keep track of such stuff (hence the reason that the list is not with me) and I also give people what I can afford, be it more valuable or less valuable than what they gave to me.
dont remember anything at all , been 12 years :-)
our nikkah was done in a masjid and our shadi was a very simple event,mostly relatives and close friends.people gave us cash,which we gave to the masjid right away.(yesshhh all of it:)
Gud one! ![]()
Hmm i was just thinking of that right now. I know the elders do that, exact reciprocation, which is fine if that’s their thing. But I don’t know if that’s exactly possible with us. Now my friends are going to be getting married off soon, and none of them came to my wedding or gave gifts etc, so does that mean i shouldn’t give them any thing at all? Or hte ones who did give me gifts at a bridal shower shd I reciprocate wiht that exact $$ amount? blah idk. i actually gave cash to a friend who got married right after me (i was still high on my new status and my own wedding :halo: ) but now gift card is perfectly fine :k:
but on our wedding humain kuch aisa junk mila k we felt tempted to keep it and give it back to the person it came from but we had to unfortunately throw it away because of limited space. ![]()
We wrote everything we got from everyone in a seperate book. It's good for future reference, when you want to give something back at someone else's wedding/ party. I think the list usually does become useless unless you are really confused about to what to give someone. Thats the only time you actually go back and see what they gave you.
funny - I received 4 dinner sets from 4 different families. Naturally, the designs were all different... so everytime if I invite a family I would have to go buy better quality paper plates - since the dinner sets were all for serving 4 only.
I also received a cheap $10 worth cake mixer (which you see on sale for $7), a spoon set worth $25, and a mirror!
ever thoght why they gave u that junk?
plus whats junk to you may be considered highly valuable to them?
why would i think about WHY they gave it to me? ![]()
I recieved some very inexpensive gifts from some of my friends which I have kept til this date and never intend to get rid off but some people just really DIDNT put much thought when they were out buying a gift, it’s got NOTHING to do with how much the gift was worth trust me!!
what i meant was, maybe they disliked sumthing you gave them and were getting you back for it, so to speak.
I don't usually remember about the money except those of my friends that kind of gave a bit extra than others.
While the gifts...since only a few of my friends gave...it wasn't hard to remember
Did you get many gifts on your wedding>?