To all the guppies in Karachi

Assalamu alaikum, :slight_smile:

I’m getting married this summer…and my to be husband went from UK to Karachi for couple of months to finish his year at the Islamic madrassa…

So…he’ll be doing all the shopping when he gets the chance…and he’s not familiar with the place…

So…What’s the best place to get bridal dresses and matching jewelery?
Can you please tell me some bazar names…that sell good quality dresses.

Oh, and I heard from a friend some brand of makeup…Kraylon I think..is good? Is it really true? Can we get MAC , Smashbox, and Gosh from Pakistan?

(Ur help/feedback will be greatly appreciated…)

Jazak Allah khayr

Re: To all the guppies in Karachi

Congrats! Kraylon TV stick is a foundation that is suited to most desi sticks. I guess they may have more products too by Kraylon but this is the one that's used my lots of slaons (at least teh mid range ones and I like it too). Other Than that you can get fake MAC, Smashbox etc there so beware. The real ones are also available but the selection will be limited. Better to get them from Uk itself. There are bridal dresses avaiable all over. It depends upon your pricerange, you can get a designer karma lehnga for as low as Rs 1.5 lakhs and of course higher. Mid range bridal wear is available at tariq Road. Do give an idea of your price range. The jewelry you are talking about, do you mean artificial bridal jewelry or gold?

Jazak Allah khayr Eastern11.
Yeah, I don't want to end up getting fake makeup lol.

I don't really care about designer dresses. I want to keep it sweet and simply- don't want to make it all extravagant. Price range doesn't really matter-as long as it's good quality and will last.

I wouldn't buy gold from Pakistan..I heard it's not really 22cr, they lie about it. Khayr, I was talking about the silver sets that are gold plated.

Thanks

Congrats on your upcoming marriage!

Some of the main bazaars in Karachi that deserve a visit:

» Tariq Road Bazaar - Good for bridal, formal/semi-formal outfits.
» Zamzama Boulevard - Located in the Clifton/DHA area, worthwhile visitng for various local/western designer clothes by upscale high end designers.

» Gulf Area Market - many affordable traditional kaarigars and shoes.
» Zainab Market - If you are are looking for branded clothing for half the real price! Don't think it has bridals, though.
» The Forum - This posh place has loads of designer wear and is worth a visit. I love the jewelery designs here and always browse the jewelery and clutch stalls.
» Dolmen Mall - Located on Tariq Road.

» Millemium Mall - Located in Gulshan-e-Iqbal
» Park Towers - Located in Clifton
» Jumeirah Mall - Located on Tariq Road
» Naheed Super Market - Located near Tariq Road. (Superstores chain) You can buy great makeup here. The makeup artists are really helpful and you really end up buying the right products. I don't think they have fake makeup as the things I have bought from there have amazing results and my skin doesn't feel dead at all.

Here is a bit of a breakdown of some shops:

• Jabeens at Tariq Road, Shakeel's **at Saima Center, **Makka shop at Rabi Center and Bridal creations at Dolmen Mall Tariq Road are equally good for bridals, formals, semi-formals. They mostly have made to order stuff but also have unstitched suits that you'll love.

• Rizzwan Moazzam at Tariq Road, Dolmen Mall also has bridals, formals, semi-formals and sarees but have an attitude that puts people off. Bargain a bit as they do lower the prices but not much.

• You can also order formals, bridals from PLK, Tariq Road. I gave them my own fabric and they did the kaam. The quality of the work was really fine and I was happy with the result. They have loads of samples and you have to keep looking at the outfits to sort out the kaam you like. They also provides matching shoes and pouches/bags alongwith their bridals. I didn't ask whether they do that with their formals. You can also show them your design and they will make it as it is. BTW, their formals start from Rs. 10,000. Negotiate and bargain all you can. Ask for Farhan if you want to order.

• Mohsin at Saima Center, Tariq Road has fab outfits and they were priced from Rs. 10,000 and onwards for formals. I loved an outfit that was priced at Rs. 18,000 and he said that if I provide my fabric he'll do the same kaam in co-ordinating colours for Rs. 9,000. Still on the expensive side but I really liked the finishing and sparkle of the outfits. They have ready-to-wear outfits and made-to-order ones, too.

• You'll find loads of karigaars at Gulf. Almost everyone is good there. Make sure that you explain each and everything to them. I don't remember the name but there is a shop in the inner lanes that has some lovely Karma and Maria B. designs that were originally Rs. 1,00,000 plus and the karigar quoted Rs. 20,000 plus. The work was really fine but they don't bargain.

• A shop called NOOR zari centre at Rabi centre Tariq road has very good work. Show the owner your designs and he'll make it for you with or without your fabric. His max price was around Rs. 20,000. I gave him my own fabric so each outfit cost me around Rs. 4,000. He does amazing sarees too. I showed him a sari that someone bought for Rs. 26,000 and he told me that he could replicate it for Rs. 7,000. I am thinking about ordering a few of my own.

The good thing about this one is that the owner takes care of everyting himself from dress material, colour, kaam everything At Gulf you have to be really standing on the kaarigar's head so that he doesn't ruin your expensive material.

• Never been to Kehkashan, Clifton but those karigaars are familiar with upscale kaam and dealing with people who have come from abroad.

• Paapoush and Capital Market in Sadar are also good places for kaam but they are very low-scale places like Jama cloth where you can find bridal dresses for Rs. 5,000. Not sure whether your to-be-hubby will like going there. The Karha'i/ kaam and prices are awesome, not the enviroment.

• KDA market near Gulshan has the most amazing kaam for great price. Again not so upscale but better than Paapoush.

• Zevar at Gulf has the best gold plated jewelery designs. The owner is a young guy with a bit of an attitude as he knows he has the best stuff out there. You can bargain but he doesn't lower the price. The quality and finishing is amazing.

Jazak Allah khayr katheeran for your time and help!!

You guys answered all my questions. I'll forward your msg to my MiL lol, and she'll take care of the rest.

I'm getting abit nervous about the whole wedding...it's in August and we started planning just now!:(

Khayr... actually, I don't really know what to plan. We did book a hall for the nikah and the walimah. And the clothes will be taken care of-after your help.

ermm...food has been taken care of... What else should I worry about?

Oh, and I'm having a small get togather for a mehndi/bridal shower with my friends. What should the theme be for that? Any suggestions?

And ermm...do you think pink colour for my wedding dress and blue (or a mix with beige) for my walimah is a good idea? And what kind of style should I get?

Again, jazak Allah khayr for your help guys!!

You still may have to get a photograoher, videographer, make up artist (there are lots of desi ones in UK), mehndi artist, decorations at the wedding, would you like center pieces eg at teh tables, music (if you are doing that). The colors of the wedinga nd valima dress sound very nice. Be sure to tell your finace what you relaly mean by pink/ blue/ beige. Give him color swatches as men are more visual. Have you decided about your mehndi dress? People here at Gup Shup have dome hawaian, tropical and mughal themes. You can just choose colors and go with them too. Gold adds a regal touch. You can add that as one of the colors.

Regarding clothes in Karachi, if its only your fiancegoing, I don't thinbk he would be able to deal with karigars etc. Like MahiSmart I would highly recommend PLK at tariq Road. They deilver on time (at leats in my experience) and they stitch the dress too so don't forget to send measurements. I dealt with Farhan at PLK too. They have readymade designs so your fiance would be able to pick out the one he thinks you may like and they would stitch it in your size. Be sure to specify if you want lehnga or gharara etc beforehand. RimJhim in Clifton is alos very nice.

i think the best thing will be for you to go urself. karachi is the place where theres sooo much on offer so its best if u go der yourself. i'm from the uk and we go 2 karachi almost every year on holiday and i absolutly love it der!!!!
the variety is amazing, i feel like buying everything when i go shopping. loool.

Jazak Allah khayr, Eastern, Mahi and Funky!

Funky, the problem is I can't go to Pakistan. My fiance is from UK, and I'm from Canada. Khayr, I guess all I can do is...search the net for pix and send it to him to tell him what I want.

You're right...Pakistan has alot to offer! Especially for the ppl in abroad.

Do you ppl think it's safe to just send pix and get the dresses made like that? Is there are chance the designers might mess it up?

Rimjhim in clifton is very good...mmy sis got her dress stitched frm there & it was awesome!