To all the designers out here....

i need some help, advice.

As u all mite be knowing, i am planning on doing my own work starting from a small scale. Thinking of having an exhibition in summer, InshaAllah. So i need all of you to support me, guide me and advice me as you all are MashaAllah doing so well and r experienced.

1. What is the normal, average rate of having a kaam wala sit with his adaa at yr place? And it is for how many hours?

2. What are the things i need to keep in mind before actually hiring the workers?.

3. What should be the target for the workers to achieve, like say in a week?.

4. What is the best place to get the material from? You can say i m guilty of comprosming the cost of such things for a) quality b) my own comfort. Meaning like all my 4 yrs as a design student, i had tried to not have to go to the downtown areas to get the material which costs double the price here in nearby areas. But i must say after two yrs of my course, i started feeling i needed to change that habbit of mine n i did visit anarkali abt twice or thrice with friends, went to sha-almi one or twice again with friends n like that. I think you can pick some nice stuff from there but only if you are really smart with people and can get your way around. I am not sure if i am really good at that. Hmmm.

5. Also, any other advice, suggestion or ideas you might wanna throw my way- pls do so, i’d really appreciate it.

Wl keep posting here if i come across more questions n hope u guys don’t mind :=)

Thank-You.

Re: To all the designers out here....

I cannot be of much help as I place orders at 2-3 shops in liberty/bank square market. They offered me to hire one-two karigars from them solely for my orders but I refused (they'll let me use their place as I am totally not in favour of bringing these workers home,though I have enough place, but supervising them and waiting for them to be in time and esp after weekends can be such a pain ) Also this way I can place orders (the rush ones) to another one if one is busy but if I hire my own karigars, I would need atleast 5-6 to do for example 6 outfits at a time. They get the material themselves, I provide them with dyed fabric only. Their adda-place is near my place (ferozepur road) and I usually visit them to follow their work.

best of luck :)

^ and same goes for the tailors as well.

Hey, thank you so very much :=). I was really looking forward to your views the most.

I do agree about not being comfortable with the workers at home. I was feeling the same though we do have a seperate place nearby for them but still. Infact even the guy i talked to for the workers, he told me the same that you can supervise at my shop otherwise it wl be difficult for you to handle labour. But i just felt i wanted to be there sitting with them doing the whole work, making sure it is done just the way i want. I'm kinda fussy so yah :P lol, but i guess i'll have 2 manage somehow.

Thanks again for all the help.

Re: To all the designers out here…

First of GOOD LUCK to u MAHAM.
so where u hav done ur designing i mean education.i am asking becoz iam and x student of pakistan school of fashion des and ur saying downtown to anarkali even it is not that much down town .if u wana know the real down town its SHALMI IN LAHORE AND AZAM MARKET,KANARI BAZAR where i cant go now…after gettin married…:slight_smile: IN CENTERAL LAHORE.
then i got education from another place where we had to go to actually shalmi and akabry mandi to see the kapra and all that and we had our projects inw hcih we had to but good kapra.
and another one thing very important is u cant trust the karigars and all at buying stuff specially when ur starting coz they do a lot of money keeping sort of stuff that baji ya to itnay ka aya tha and u just have to believe it …it is very tough to have karigars at ur place untill or unless u know them exactly or if they are refferd from any where.
as proto said i have also have one shop from where i do all my work that man handle all the karigars as he know as i have to show him just what i want.
But just give it a try and seee coz jab tak smadar may utro gay nahi gharayee ka pata nahi chalay ga…:slight_smile:
again WARM WISHES FOR UUUUUU:rose:

thanks alot. I graduated from the National college of arts :=).

ur most welcome ....and that sounds nice....:)ur from NCA....:)