To all supporters of Naked Body Scanners - Pedophiles are out there

A Transportation Security Agency worker who pats down members of the flying public was charged with multiple child sex crimes targeting an underage girl yesterday.

The bust outraged privacy and passenger advocates who say it justifies their fears about Logan International Airport’s** full-body scanner.**

“It’s a huge, huge issue,” said Kate Hinni of FlyersrRights.org. “The TSA needs a complete overhaul . . . If you have a pedophile looking at those naked pictures, they’ve got all your information, it’s a gross violation of their authority. . . . They should make sure none of them is corrupted in any deviant sexual manner.”

Sean Shanahan, 44, of Winthrop was held on $50,000 bail after he was charged with two counts of statutory rape, two counts of enticing a minor and one count of indecent assault and battery. He was arrested yesterday at Massachusetts General Hospital, where he had checked himself in after a suicide threat, prosecutors said.

TSA spokeswoman Ann Davis said Shanahan had passed two background checks, neither of which picked up any record that would prevent him from getting a job.

Davis said Shanahan was hired in 2006, and there are no passenger complaints on record against him. He has not worked since his arrest.

Boston ACLU spokesman Chris Ott said while full body scanner backers tout the devices’ privacy blocks that obscure a passenger’s face, he said the process is a virtual strip search, rife for abuse.

“Whatever safeguards that are built into the machines are only as good as the people operating the technology,” he said.

Shanahan kept his back to the court and hid behind his court-appointed lawyer in court as Suffolk Assistant District Attorney Jennifer Okeeffe rolled out a disturbing story that started in early February.

**The 14-year-old victim watched a movie at his house, Okeeffe said. She said during the film, he massaged the victim’s thigh and touched her under a blanket, then during the February school vacation the girl stayed at his house with his daughter.
Okeeffe said Shanahan nicknamed the victim “Kitten,” and that she was seen going into his bedroom. Shanahan’s daughter also told investigators her father asked her how she would feel if he dated a girl her age, prosecutors said. When his daughter confronted the victim about what was happening as she left her father’s room, the victim told her “You’ll have to deal with it,” Okeeffe said.

Shanahan fled the state last week, prosecutors said, sending his ex wife a text asking her to get rid of his computer, adding “I (expletive) up bad.”

Child rape charge rocks TSA - BostonHerald.com

This is just ONE reason why these scanners are dangerous. But hey we Muslims would be willing to send our children in as well, all for “security”. Right?
I want to know would you still support this BS knowing now that pedophiles might be working at the TSA?

Re: To all supporters of Naked Body Scanners - Pedophiles are out there

^ again what is your point? In TSA their are thousands of people are working and if one of them is arrested .. doesn't make all the TSA bad.

ps. did you even heard the stories of molvi'es scolding little kids in mosque and madrissah's... stuff exists everywhere !

This thread isn't about maulvis, priests or pundits. It's on the issue of the full body scanners. People who are protesting are not stupid bro.

so what's the issue if one person from thousands is arrested?

their are countless accidents of this kind in Pakistan police & army (dr. shazia case) .. what you want dismantle them?

if you don't like beefed up measures like full body scanning.. don't come to America/Europe, did any one beg you? Go take care business in your so-called Islamic countries so loosers don't come here with bombs attached to their balls !

LOL

hey let me ask you, where did you learn this term "beefed up measures" :D

Those losers with bombs attached to their balls are and will be escorted like VIP guests buddy, scanners or no scanners.

Yaar, we Muslim send our kids to swimming teachers and gym teachers and karate instructors also. We send them to our pediatricians too, who can, if needed, take the clothes of the child off.

Ugliness from handful of people should not be the reason to stop an effort that could turn into a life saving reason for us or our love ones.

This is quite an absurd posting.

The scanners (scan monitoring persons) for these machines are not even in the same room! They can’t actually pysically see the person. If they detect something, they let guards people at the scanner know. This is how it usually works for security purposes.

Either way, it is ESSENTIAL to have scanners I feel. People like me shouldn’t have to be subjected to “random screening” all the time just because you don’t feel comfortable with them.

What do you suggest should be done to stop to be terrorists from taking lives of innocent citizens ?
These terrorist will try anything to bring me or you down though we have done nothing against them , in fact all the passengers in all those planes are innocent civilians who have nothing to do with any political or religious agenda.

Full body scanners do not show the real life like image , the image is distorted and private parts are darkened.

The people monitoring those scanners are located remotely. So even if they get horny looking at a hologram of a human they cannot do anything about it.

The child molestation occurred at this guys home not at the airport or during airport security checkup.

ok, some TSA employees may be pedophiles, so one shouldn't get scanned by any of them.

on the same token, some religious muslims are terrorists, so one shouldn't fly with any of them.

thanks for understanding, CP. take the boat.

LOL , if people started taking boats then they will become targets of these sadists.

yeahhhhh ,, this is our conspiracy .. our way of having the whole plane for ourselves. I am telling you, some non Muslims leave airplane toilet seat, wet .. not good for the tahaarat of us Muslims.

so what is your problem again? you don't like scanner say now.. let be patted down just like everywhere happens in the world.. !

Yeah I don't mind being patted down. What's happening and will happen is these scanners will become mandatory, that's the scary part.

@Mirch, I suggest we take our heads out of the sand and stop believing whatever the government tells us. These scanners will not be of any help against state sponsored terrorism.

Anyways, I made my point, which was against the scanners and as much as I hate ACLU, they fully support the cause :D.

Yup, it's sad people don't realize nothing will stop these so called "terrorist attacks" on America. Terrorism is what happens in Pakistan, Palestine, Kashmir, Afghanistan, Iraq, etc.. Full body scanners is just another excuse to invade our privacy.

does that mean you wouldnt have any problem getting on a flight full of strange people who didnt have to go through any security checks, miss noland? :hoonh:

^ There's a difference between regular security checks and one that strips you down head to toe. Like I said, you may not realize what the government is trying to do here just yet but watch as they carefully install these scanners everywhere and will claim it shouldn't be an issue since we are OK with having them at the airports for "security." Ok, you can fall for it...I can totally see where they are going with this.

since you can "totally see where they are going with this," could you tell us what the point of the govt is in installing these scanners everywhere if not to check ppl for hidden nasties? what do you think their aim is, if not better security?

:hmmm: Sounds Government officials ke liey play boy aur os jaisey dosrey channels were not enough ju yeh panga khera ker diya:DCP ACLU ki achi kahi I hat ethem too:hehe:

The thing is that this person did his activities at home.Work place and living place ,both are different.

Public place tu phir pub;ic hoti hai;):D