To all Pakistani Punjabis in this forum.

Now, Punjabis are quite popular in India.
All movie heroes like Dharmendra, DEv Anand etc., are punjabis.
We have sportsmen, army generals etc.,
Now some of them migrated and settled all over India after partition and were very successful, making much more than local peoples.
You can see them in places like Hyderabad.
They are universally regarded as friendly and hardworking.
Now, my point is why are they hated so much on the other side of the border?
Like, you go to any Afghan web site and you will feel the whole Afghan misery is a Punjabi-Muslim conspiracy.
The politicians from Sindh and Balochistan say they are a Punjabi colony.
Altaf Hussain, well you know all about that one.
My question is, why?
The only thing I found rather upsetting in Punjabis is they talk too loudly.
Like if you are sitting in a restaurant and a bunch of Punjabis(SIkhs or no Sikhs) drop in, you will know all about them in no time, though you are sitting four table away.

You mean they have more fun!

Why ask us Pakistani Punjabis? We think we are great and every one else is just jealous of our success, sense of humour, cuture etc. You ought to ask the Sindhis, Pathans etc why they hate us.

My theory would be that we (punjabis) have a very open society and we welcome all cultures within it. We are very adaptable and can successfully integrate into any other society. All the other states in Pakistan (Sind, NWFP & Baluchistan) are essentially closed societies and they do not welcome any outsiders within them. They themselves do not integrate well in other cultures. That's why you have a clash. In India you would probably find Punjabis popular in more open, multicultural states but maybe not so much in other insular states.

may be I will ask non-Pakistani Punjabis.
However I opened this thread in anticipation of some introspection by the only group of unpopular Punjabis

By the way, Punjabis are uniformly liked in India.
I never heard of any discrimination against them because they are Punjabis or because they are relatively more prosperous.

Who said Punjabi's are disliked??

Altaf Hussain is a loser... prolly on India's payroll.

This Space For Rent

Now, Punjabis are quite popular in India.
All movie heroes like Dharmendra, DEv Anand etc., are punjabis.
We have sportsmen, army generals etc.,
Now some of them migrated and settled all over India after partition and were very successful, making much more than local peoples.
You can see them in places like Hyderabad.
They are universally regarded as friendly and hardworking.
Now, my point is why are they hated so much on the other side of the border?
Like, you go to any Afghan web site and you will feel the whole Afghan misery is a Punjabi-Muslim conspiracy.
The politicians from Sindh and Balochistan say they are a Punjabi colony.
Altaf Hussain, well you know all about that one.
My question is, why?
Like if you are sitting in a restaurant and a bunch of Punjabis(SIkhs or no Sikhs) drop in, you will know all about them in no time, though you are sitting

Andh..r.A

Is this another seed of discontent being sown by india .

First andhras mother Indira talked into the Bengalis that they were exploited by Punjabis Now new chanakya chaal of flaring inflating & rumour mongering to set fire of schism in Pakistan

What proof except your lies that hindu punjabis are liked by bengalis beharis or North indian local cow belt .You may speak of south but you dont have any idea of north There were big Punjabi Bengali riots over bagmari gurudwara in calcutta only 30 yrs ago .

Punjabis are resented in the serviceses military ,business politics all the time.in India .Too To say in india everything is dandy in Kashmir after 70,000 are killed & 700 000 army stationed.Its only question of Indias & Andhras andha perception.or may be different standards they use to measure different countries.Indias resentment takes not in form of physical violence that often as non coperation.ust ask a punjabi guy to get lic in bengal or bengali inpunjab ,they will tell you the obstacle each group will throw in others way.

barque(bijli) yoon akadti hai apne karname pe ke
jaise phir naya hum aashiyaan bana nahi sakte

** This post is Just like your previous posts and have no resemblance to your topic.**

Your topic is "To all Pakistani Punjabis in this forum", and your subject is "to inform about Sikhs".

Mr. andhra Sikhs have their own way of talking and they are hardworking. I don't know why their are so many popular jokes (among the Hinus) that shows Sikhs are dumb, and have no value of time, and whenever there is 12:00 o'clock their brain doesn't work. I never think so that a human can lose his thinking at a suggested time.

[This message has been edited by cool down (edited December 17, 2001).]

the only thing about my being punjabi that others detest is that us punjabis mutyarnis are in the cutest of all league all on our own

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/pretty.gif

They are universally regarded as friendly

Oh! I see ... it was a friendly gesture by Indara at the Golden Temple!! :)

And you didn't mention they are regarded as 'dumb' too! I have heard more jokes about sardars from my Indian friends than any other ethnicity.

cooldown Are you a Sardar or what?

From what I have seen Sardar jokes are as much made by Pakistanis as Indians, if not more.
Azad Munna, now now don’t shoot the messenger!!

I am not talking about Indian Punjabis. As I made it clear all ‘Punjab Da Puttar’ are welcome in India. India is as much theirs as it is mine.
I am talking about Pakistani Punjabis.
Seeing there is a World Punjabi something going on, I thought I will give a chance for my Pak Punjabi friends to do a little introspection.

Especially if you listen to Afghans, despise is the word that comes to mind to hear them talking about Punjabis!!
I just wondered why your neighbours as well as some of your compatriots have such an opinion of you.
Here is a sample http://cgi.afghan-web.com/~qazi/cgi-bin/forums2/Forum5/HTML/004507.html

Shamraz Khaa(since you are a Panjabi and Panjabis are not Khan but KHaa),
I thought I had put some sense in your little Panjbai head but no you keep on your BS. <<

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/eek.gif

Once again. I am interested in finding out if the grievances of these people are genuine.

Bhai Mirchi, :)

Its was because of people like you we chose to have our own homeland!

Your animosity is the essence of Pakistan! Congratulations!

[This message has been edited by ahmadjee (edited December 17, 2001).]

why you think that only a sardar can think, he doesn’t lose his intlligence at the suggested time.

Its was because of people like you we chose to have our own homeland! <<
Who is this ‘we’ in the homeland you chose? Bengalis?

Your animosity is the essence of Pakistan! Congratulations!<<
I would suggest defining the essence of a nation as something more constructive than animosity.
Still, there seems to be little introspection thus far.
Let’s assume the Bengalis were wrong to have grievances and blame Punjabis for them.
Why do Sindhis, Mohajirs and Pathans do the same?

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif

putting

after a statement doesn’t make it a joke. if introspection is what you want, ask why andhraites are hated so much by other indians…

Mr. andhra Sikhs have their own way of talking.

if introspection is what you want, ask why andhraites are hated so much by other indians… <<

Are MQM and other such organizations cursing Andhras?
Then I will definitely start an introspection

Why do Sindhis, Mohajirs and Pathans do the same?

My friend they don't!

If a fraction of them do, it doesn't make it a national catastrophe.

Just like a fraction of Indians like yourself, don't speak for the rest of a billion Indians!

Well, depends on how big the ‘fraction’ is doesn’t it ?

However whatever be the size of the fraction, why is even that fraction saying that?
Do they have any statistics to back up their claim or is it general envy?
I know envy is possible if you don’t have the right spirit.
Like, when you go to an ‘Indian’ restaurant, some of the standard foods you get are actually Punjabi.
See what I mean? You see Punjabi food,Punjabi Actors, sportsmen etc., everywhere and may feel envy.

That's cos Pakistan is dominated by the Punjabi elite, and they believe that Pashtuns, Sindhis and Baluchis ahve no right to express their culture...its not the average punjabis fault, the elite is equally cruel to them, but at least they speak the same language!!!

it’s not punjabi’s problem if the rest of India prefers to eat bhaji on a leaf of kaila.

This Space For Rent