Tme-outs

Do you use them?
How did you implement them and when?

Re: Tme-outs

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/parenting/521073-time-outs.html

I opened a similar thread a year ago,though there are not too many replies.

I have not used them.I want to.But I can’t seem to reinforce what they are meant for.I think I am not doing it right..!

Yes, I’ve started using time-outs. I put her in the corner with her facing the wall when she misbehaves. She doesn’t stay there and I try to be consistent by putting her back. I’ve explained to her that she’ll be put in the corner if she’s not being a good girl, I don’t think she gets it. :hmmm: Maybe she’s too young for time-outs? But then my sister used to use them on her son when he was only 18 or 20 months.

may be tell the child why they have to sit 1 min in the corner. at school, when toddlers misbehave, they sit with the teacher for a min or two and say it out why the child is in timeout like we do not throw toys, we play with toys. saying be good boy/girl is too vague for them. if you make them sit by themselves, make sure you keep putting back in that for during that 1 min time duration.

i tried them.. never worked. But this is when she was about 3ish... she just thought it was funny and the husband and her would look at each other and smile... so it totally defeated the purpose of a time out..

and right now, she doesnt do anything too big to be classifed as a timeout session..

(and i bet u anything i will go home tonight and encounter a big boo boo just cus i said this... )

I honestly don’t think time outs are for kids older than 2.5 /3 … It’s just silly asking a very understanding kid to sit in a corner and just shush it.

Sll it did for my son was reenergize him.. He was way too smart and quickly caught on.. Yaya. I do this.. U put me somewhere for a bit..and then I can come back .. Big deal

What works on him and has always… Takin away his gudda (his jaan , his first mother,his fav stuffed dog) … He would fix up his act immediately and remember it for a few days after too!

So now that he is older (3)… I take away a toy, a play session, pad time… Anything that will make him feel like oh jeez THIS is punishment.

Works. Other times… He can go throw a Antrum in his room, cry it out… Whatever he needs to do to get over a hissy fit… In the privacy of his own room… I don’t need to see it or hear it.

That sorts him out too… Gotten so good at it now… He actually stands for a min contemplating a hissy fit.. The wheels in his head going “yaar.. Faida hai bhi ke nahi.. Inn pe (me)asar tho hoga nahi” :cb:

:evil:

^ lol!

i’ve read things about time out’s not really being effective. esp not for the younger set because while they understand “no”, they don’t quite get why they’re being punished. i’m talking under 2 here.

this is a good article that explains why they don’t work but it doesn’t really offer any alternatives- Positive discipline: Why time-outs don’t work

My baby is 19 months if I try time out she starts laughing and thinks I m playing with her :smack: