Ibtehal is almost 8 months old now & her head has been shaved once. That is at 14 days. Now all the gora people that see her say she has got really thick hair & all the Desi moms I have talked to say she has got good hair for her age.
Even before she was born I knew that till she turned three I would be shaving her head very often like every 4 months.
Thing is her daddy doesn’t wanna shave her head till her first birthday at least & even then he says we’ll see. That “we’ll see” means its most probably never gonna happen.
My question is I know its a Desi concept but does shaving head very often really results in good thick hair later on or no? I know heredity has a little to do with it as well but still.
Guac I wanna do it now but as I said her daddy wants to wait till her first birthday. If I do it now do you think she'll have grown enough hair in 4 months?
I am thinking with girls tinds are easier to carry around because they can always wear cute head bands.
my daughter has got very thick hairs and I have just got her head shaved once that is after she was born. May be shaving the head makes hair thick but from what I have seen it also makes the hair rough & dry too . I have this cousin whose head was shaved for God knows how many times and now her hairs are very dry & dull though thick.
I don't like tind and esp on girls boys its ok ! and it's winter season I won't suggest you to get your baby's head shaved.
hair growth & texture depends upon the food intake and necessary nutrients. since my daughter was a premie in early days her hairs did not have any shine at all and after the head shave she did not have hairs on most of the area of her head dr told me that it's due to deficiency of nutrients in her body. but alhamdolillah within 6 months her head was fully covered with hairs (masha allah).
In summer mostly people get this kids heads shaved. It is said that bacho ko garmi kaam lagti hai with tind :)
Yeah Desi approach yehi hoti hai kay summer may tind karni hai. I remember my high school PE teacher told me the opposite when we discussed this once. He was like ulta garmion may baal nahi saaf karnay chahiye hain coz you need that extra layer for protection from extreme heat & he said gora people do the opposite. If they do wanna shave their heads they do it in winter time coz supposedly baal nami absorb kartay hain aur us say aap kay sar ko thand lag sakti hai. This is the whole thing that has got me confused as well too. I am gonna ask her pediatrician next time.
So meaning it kind of doesn't really make a difference. Thanks :)
I am still waiting for the more experienced mommies to say something.
Its basically genetics and ofcourse nutrients. I ahve very long, thick hair and my head was shaved only once as a baby as part of Sunnah. I also shaved my daughter's head once and Masha allah her hair is fine. My friend who is a doctor also shaved her daughter's head only once, she had very thin hair as a baby but her hair became thicker as she grew older. She is 4 now. I think headbands with bald heads accentuate the bald heads.
all the docs will deny it but I think it makes a difference at a young age. Why not do it after her birthday. Girls look a bit odd I know but i think it's not even doable past year 2 for girls.
My daughter is 12months old and has lovely hair since birth Masha ALLAH, we only shaved her hair once n her hair are more than those of her age fellows...but my MIL and hubby say her head needs to be shaved so that her hair grow thick individually. But I am of the opinion that her hair are after me, silky n individually thin n I love such hair...
I don't believe n this desi mentality that shaving gives thick hair, have you ever seen 4/5 years old boy/ girl having bald head naturally?
Mano I didn't get your last question. No child at 4,5 has naturally bald head.
My mom says that me & my siblings as kids used to get bald all the time. Last my head was shaved was at 8 which is a bit extreme I think. She also told me that she used to massage our heads with mustard oil as well. She didn't do this with my youngest brother. Only shaved his head once on his aqeeqa at 7 days & that was it. There is no doubt that all of us siblings have good thick AND silky hair ( I had them till I had those darn chicken pox) & he doesn't. His hair are coarse & kind of thin. I do know that my mom's side of the family has good hair. I have 'em too.
And I probably sound obsessed with this head shaving part. But this is how I look at it. She is a baby. Bald babies don't look that that bad after all. But if there is even a slight chance that it does make a difference then I need to convince hubby jee. As a girl myself I know that many things we do at young age do make a difference when get start getting older.
I dont really think it makes that much of a difference to be quite honest...maybe a little but but not drastic.
My sister shaved my nieces head 3 times but it still came back fine. Her hair came in full force around age 3 or so. Its genetics I believe...your hair is your hair no matter how many times people shave it off. It will grow back in the texture and thickness it actually has.
I really don’t think it makes a difference, I refuse to get bullied by family members this time around that -hawww hay halkya vaal rehyn geyy- thats all BS I have two doctors so far and they both reassured me shaving won’t do Jack, but proper nutrition would, so I am sticking to that. we have shaved both girls head only once just to observe the sunah and thats it! both girls have so far shiny and soft hair alhamdulliah, the rest of the people can shave their own heads
Monk I have enough ganju pictures to tease her if need arises.
Sahar as I said I just didn't wanna take a chance or maybe actually I don't mind taking a chance if they could get any better.
We went to someone's place today & their son is 2 days older than Ibtehal. They have never shaved his head yet he had a little less hair than Ibtehal but good hair though. I think I am fine :)
Now I can't wait to buy some more cute hair accessories.
I shaved my sons head a couple of times. He had very little hair and idk shaving to me made some difference. It did not make more hair but whatever hair there were got thicker I think.
I know when men shave their facial hair they grow back thick and even when i sahved my arms, the hair that came back were thicker than the actual ones so i think shaving makes hair thicker.