Time to ban secular schools!

Since Pakistan has schools that do not impart quality education and indirectly are contributing to a secular society, isn’t it about time that these schools either be transformed or closed down (besides the extremist madrassas) so that Pakistan can move towards its true Islamic ideals.

Since 60 years we have had leaders from so called elite schools such as Aitchison, Kinaird etc. that have produced people who have looted the country and their evil actions and policies have deprived the nation from its resources.

These secular schools do not teach the essence of Islam and misguide people instead of teaching Quran and Sunnah besides other knowledge. People who graduate form these schools have a very narrow vision and in their ignorance start hating every religious thing.

On the other hand, extremist mullahs teach violence and do not make good balanced human beings. Thus we have a so called religious class that has no idea of where the world is and how to deal with modern day issues in the light of Shariah.

What needs to be done is a complete overhaul of the education system to teach in a balanced way (neither Sufi nor wahabi). All forms of extremism must be shunned. On one hand we have secular extremists or degenerates and on the other way have religious extremists.

But again, nobody would do that , even dictator Musharraf couldn’t because you cannot expect landlords and jageerdars to make life harder for themselves and their children.

Re: Time to ban secular schools!

even better, why don't you propose to just ban all schools?

so the philosophy of "You can't impose your will on others" should not be imposed on you?

As far as i know, all of your scientists/doctors/engineers/generals/politicians/leaders are studies at these so-called secular schools/colleges. So your point is wrong, we should transform all of the others schools/madrassas into secular ones.

One more wrong erudition of erudition, Pakistan's Islamic ideals are Quaid-e-Azam & Allama Iqbal, not any mullah. Quaid & Allama were if not secular but very moderate :)

Since 60 years we have had leaders from so called elite schools such as Aitchison, Kinaird etc. that have produced people who have looted the country and their evil actions and policies have deprived the nation from its resources.

and.. non-secular or madrassas produced what?

These secular schools do not teach the essence of Islam and misguide people instead of teaching Quran and Sunnah besides other knowledge. People who graduate form these schools have a very narrow vision and in their ignorance start hating every religious thing.

I disagree, i know many well-known people and they are better muslims then the so called mullahs.

On the other hand, extremist mullahs teach violence and do not make good balanced human beings.** Thus we have a so called religious class that has no idea of where the world is and how to deal with modern day issues in the light of Shariah.**

We already seen the wonders of one sect Shariaah compliance system in Swat, enough.

What needs to be done is a complete overhaul of the education system to teach in a balanced way (neither Sufi nor wahabi). All forms of extremism must be shunned. On one hand we have secular extremists or degenerates and on the other way have religious extremists.

Here we agree, .. FYI. so called secular schools also have basic Islamic teaching classes.

Anyway, Swat deal/operation is a huge blow to all the Islamic parties & shariaah lovers. Pakistan future is saved only by importing democracy system like Turkey/Malaysia/Jordon.

hahah, what a great comment.

bhai mere kya chandoo pe kar aaay ho. The institutions you are talking about were existing even before partition. These institutions are/were legacy of British empire and privately run on purely commercial basis. Only the sons and daughters of most rich or elite class could afford these schools. These schools teach students how much they are superior to their majority of fellow citizens who are nothing but keerhay makorhay.

The question is how can you close these instituions when they are private supported by top brass, elite or so called cream of the society?

Instead of closing these institutions, government should spend $billons of aid money on opeining their own public shools and education should be free upto grade 12.

This is the latest hogwash after enlightened moderation put out by the secular degenerates....Whatever happened to Allah and Rasool's Islam...Are Jinnah and Iqbal superior and more omniscent then Allah or his Rasool...

funny no worries about banning all madrassas but ppl jumping up and down now. gs is full of buggers.

No one from secular schools is suicide bombing pakistanis, that's why.

Better an enlightened moderate then a munafiq suicider of taliban

Or an MQm ghunda... :) who kills in the name of Altaf bhai's ghunda gardi.

Sharab ji,

Yes we want Iqbal's Pakistan and Jinnah's Pakistan. Islam is moderation and extremism has nothing to do with it. How can you deny the extremism and hypocrisy of secular degenerates who are no where to be seen when we have to take care of refugees.

Iqbal and Jinnah's Pakistan have nothing to do with secularism. Do not disgrace Iqbal by putting him in the same line as Ataturk. Iqbal the great and Atauturk the fool (as Iqbal himself said).

Mullah Islam may have been promoted by the seculars since 60 years so that real Islam never shows up.

Mullah Islam is what has lead us to this day where we see violence. On the other hand, do not deny that secular jahils broke Pakistan into two halves , not mullahs.

Both extremes have done enough harm to Pakistan.

There is only one way, Iqbal's Pakistan. But would you care to read what Iqbal said? I am afraid most don't.

come on mods this is unfair moderation. my comments about altaf were valid. they are a response to thread discussion.

keep your comments relevant. The comments were not relevant.

^how so? khehkashan made a statement that people from secular schools dont resort to violence, altaf was brought as an example that schooling is nothing to do with matter.

alright let me put my two cents worth without naming any name.since now that is individualising the topic.
we donot really have secular schools, since islamyat is part of our board approved subject, even private schools have to teach that subject. however none of the private school can produce alims, hafiz,fiqh. nor do we learn shariat and its laws in private schools.

however there are countless examples where private schools have produced student that have turned up to do damage to the country and instances where they havent done anything major. Any school shouldnt be banned because some students after leaving the institute go on to develop their own political understanding and pursuits. However same should apply to madrassas, you cannot paint all madrassas evil and all students brainwashed because some might be involved in terrorist activities.

Finally.

This is a good analysis for overall Pakistani political system. I mean it is heavy on "so-called secularist" bashing, but the theme of the post is balanced.

Perhaps we should all look beyond the hyperbole and try to understand what the other is saying.

Burqa wali baji, the thread was started in reaction to your thread about banning madrassas altogether. I agree they have a twisted version of Islam that has ultimately lead to violence. I remember, reading on the walls in front of park in Pakistan when a madrassa student was writing unacceptable things about shias. They were young teenagers but had no idea what they were doing. Brainwashed ofcourse by some fool.

So banning maybe was not the right title of the thread. It should have been centered in education reform and making one system for all.

tit for tat? :hehe:

in all honesty, the overall education system in Pakistan needs a reform along with the Socio-Political system. Majority of the country follows Islam (forget sects for the moment), and Islam must be an integral part of the studies at least up till College, in graduate school people can choose to study whatever they wish. Any Govt. that tries to transform the current system into totally secular or totally religious will be cast aside by the public because Pakistani public is both world conscious as well as afterlife conscious. The govt. needs to cater to that and perfect a system where everyone is happy and compromises can be made to move forward while keeping culture/religion/technology intact. anytime we have either of the extreme trying to overtake the other, it will spell trouble. Seculars are just as extreme as Non-Seculars.

We need to take the best of both studies, the sciences and the religious text and churn out students who are knowledgeable about both. bright minds are those who can balance and carry themselves in both physical and spiritual fields of life.

“Science is lame without religion. Religion is blind without science.” Einstein.

well mr. Pakistan's Islamic ideals are not Muhammmad Ali Jinnah, Allamaa Iqbal or any mullah, but Prophet Muhammad(SAW) alongwith the great Sihaba-e-Kiram(RA) and ppl misguide muslims which must be dealt with iron hands. there is yes no room for extremism in Islam but any misadventure against Islam must be crushed by force