Do you guys work well in a relaxed environment or under intense time pressure?
I’ve been a last minute person since I can remember, ever since I was a small kid I think in primary school. I just cannot get down to work until there is time pressure on me, and the speed with which I produce work is directly proportional to the time pressure (barring very high time pressure in which case I just don’t take the stress and just take some more time to do the work). If I don’t have the pressure I’ll take ages to learn something but I can even memorise stuff verbatim real fast (sometimes with two-three reads) when I have intense time pressure on me.
I do have difficulty understanding concepts in such situations though (like I’m trying to teach myself some laws of physics or something). For that I need to relax my brain.
But until the deadline’s on my head, I feel like I don’t need to work. Are there other people like me? I feel like during the rest of the time when I’m not working, I’m just wasting my time, but then I tell myself maybe I need those relaxed periods to gear up for doing some intense hardcore work for short bouts of time right before the deadline?
This makes me think that the human brain is such that the more you challenge it, the higher stress you put on it, the more it responds.
We’re all like wasting ourselves. We could be producing manifiolds the amount of work we produce now if we were constatntly in that state of facing a strict deadline and under intense pressure. Our productivity levels would skyrocket. And its not like we’d be in a perpetual state of mental tension coz then that level would become the norm.
^ na chero yaar... I haven't had real khaana in two weeks... bagels aur pasta pe zinda hooN :(
Anyways, you're not alone at all - a lot of us work better under pressure including me. I regret it after the fact and tell myself I won't do it again, but still do.
Umar how the heck are you gona work if you don't eat some real food?!?!?! Kuch bhee nai toh order pizza or chinese home delivery. TO mein toh i'm sure desi food bhee deliver kerte hon ge!!! Waise I thought u lived with ur family??
I also always do it again, but you know what, its like an exciting roller coaster ride, you get on a high and its fun innit? :D
hahaha i am like that too but since i know of it i keep the last 2-3 days open to myself so that i only perform that particular task, whether be studying or getting something done. I am getting with the time management :)
But like irem baji u said a person cannot go like this for a long time, i mean only few people are good with stress...i have a cousin who studied like crazy for the exams and they fell sick the night before hence missing the exa altogether...yeh kahan ki hoshyaari hai :D
Sara hehehehe u too? we shud so get over this habit man!! i swear it sucks!!!
bkb i also keep the days open…but we shud change this habit kasam se its so not good…!
and ur poor cousin!!
ds - 3 samosay siraf!! bhook hartaal pe ho kya? tumhein toh dietnig kee bhee zaroorat nai phir kyun zulam kar rahay ho apnay oopar!
and please tell me how to do work before hand as well. i really admire such ppl coz MUJH SE AISA KABHEE NAI HOTA
coding bhee meri last minute hi hoti thee kaalij mein
The only thing i do good under pressure is go to the bathroom...at work im usually effecient enough to magae my tasks so im never in a crunch.In college it was a different story,i was actually mentally sick enough to challenge myself to study as close to term exams as possible,stil dont know how i graduated in a technical major :D