Time for neutral curators in international cricket (Worthy-enough for a decision?)

Time for neutral curators in international cricket

By Salahuddin Ahmed

THE time seems to have arrived for introducing neutral curators in international cricket. One could not help but draw this conclusion after the Pakistan-India drawn first Test.

The “sleeping beauty” of a pitch at the Qaddafi Stadium failed to even stir a bit despite all the proddings of the likes of the world’s fastest bowlers Shoaib Akhtar and Irfan Pathan.

Pakistan pioneered neutral umpires in cricket through the then Pakistan cricket chief Air Marshal Nur Khan. The game has also seen several other changes in the rules and the introduction of new technology to help the umpire make his decision. So why not neutral curators for at least Test matches.

The home team traditionally has the twin advantage of crowd support and the preparation of a pitch to suit its bowlers. That is why one found bouncy tracks in Australia, under-prepared wickets in India to help its spinners.

And pitches prepared with a steam roller in the West Indies for the likes of Wesley Hall and Charlie Griffith. England used to have seaming tracks to suit swing bowlers Ian Botham and Mike Hendricks. Our own late Fazal Mahmood did exceedingly well there.

It is high time that cricket administrators paid attention to this very important aspect of the game. The track should be sporting, affording help to batsmen and bowlers in equal measures. This can be ensured only if the International Cricket Council (ICC) has its own curators. Like the panel of umpires, ICC can constitute one of curators who could be assigned to various venues in rotation.

Coming back to the first Test, it will be unfair to blame Inzamamul Haq for the pitch. Over-rated and highly-paid coach Bob Woolmer was also critical of the track. I feel the wicket was almost similar to the one against England. However, the difference essentially lay in the technique and tactics of English and Indian batsmen.

Faced with a mammoth score of 679, the England batsmen would have crumbled against Shoaib and Kaneria.

The Indians on the other hand seem to have done their homework before coming here. They appear to have analysed the matches of the England series. The contrasting styles of Virender Sehwag and skipper Rahul Dravid provided an object lesson as they neutralised Shoaib Akhtar. Dravid, pushed into the unusual position of an opener due to circumstances and in the best interests of the team, led from the front. Sehwag batted in his now familiar aggressive role.

As for Pakistan batsmen, Younis Khan once again proved his mettle though he was unlucky to miss the double hundred. Mohammad Yousuf has repeatedly proved himself to be “Mr Reliable” of Pakistan batting and did it once again.

“King of Sixers” Shahid Afridi found an able and willing partner in young wicketkeeper Kamran who is already being described as Pakistan’s future Adam Gilchrist. I am sure if Shahid Afridi had stayed the time spent by Sehwag he would have broken many records. Currently Shahid holds three world records of fastest ODI hundred, hitter of highest number of sixes in Test in such short career and highest number of sixes in ODIs. It is an awesome record by any standard. Full marks to Inzi for helping to mould the team into a cohesive unit with the players believing in themselves. The dressing room atmosphere is reported to be good. No credit to chief selector Wasim Bari - merely a rubber stamp - who has yet to find replacements for openers Aamir Sohail, Saeed Anwar, left-arm spinner Iqbal Qasim or off-spinner Saqlain Mushtaq. PCB ad hoc chief Shaharyar Khan admitted that the first Test was moved to Lahore from Karachi at the insistence of India. He had to bow to the Indians obviously due to his lack of cricketing knowledge and standing. Former PCB bosses like late Abdul Hafiz Kardar, Khalid Mahmood, or cricketing genius Zafar Altaf would have stood their ground.

And finally, PCB curator Agha Zahid is reported to have said that the weather did not allow him to prepare the Lahore Test wicket or for that matter the Faisalabad track. One wonders how his counterparts in England manage where it rains almost continuously.

(The writer is a former Test player and national chief selector).

Dawn

Is it a good idea for ICC to take it under consideration? Should there be a “neutral” curator assigned to various match locations? Would it help in better “sporting” (or “Fast and Bouncy” :p) pitches (as oppose to one-sided tracks)?

*]Finally, would it also, quite substantially, raise the ‘bar’ in International Cricket, which is translated into bowlers picking up regular wickets and likewise, batters producing consistent runs? Hence, if anyone fails to impress in a handful of games, there should not be any hesitancy in replacement (since pitch is helpful to both sides of the fence - bowling and batting)? Any proposals regarding this subject matter?
Questions/Comments/Concerns/Opinions?

Re: Time for neutral curators in international cricket (Worthy-enough for a decision?)

If the 'neutral curators' are going to be anything like 'neutral umpire' then I don't like it. The 'neutral' curators must be from Russia, Croatia, Brazil, Egypt etc.... non-cricketing nations.

Re: Time for neutral curators in international cricket (Worthy-enough for a decision?)

hell no, all u need is proffesional curators, wtf is neutral curators, i for 1 think its home advantage and using the home conditions to your advantage!

Re: Time for neutral curators in international cricket (Worthy-enough for a decision?

I am afraid the definition here is in regards to the same countries that include 'neutral' umpires. Time will tell, I suppose.

Knowing full-well that even professional curators will have to 'consult' the home team captain before the start of the match, I personally don't think (at least for now) that it is going to matter all that much. The possible idea behind 'neutral' curators is to support the need of having sporting wickets, which we hardly see on our home ground nowadays, without the 'consultation' from the captains. If that is indeed the case, I fully support this theory.

Curator is not someone who can just show up on the day of the game, like an umpire. Preparation of good international quality pitches takes weeks, if not more. The way Salahuddin Ahmad sahab has labled Irfan Pathan as amongst "world's fastest bowlers", makes me believe that the author may have a bit too much to drink before writing the article.

The whole "neutral curator" talk is just bull-crap. God help us, we don't want a team to be playing in front of their home crowd chanting them on, and thus ICC should take steps to also have neutral crowds in the stands as well. Oh what the hell, just move all the games to a neutral location, and be done with it. What a stupid idea.

Ok How about Neutral Players, or lets say Neutral Fans, where will it end????:D

thats the only thing left i guess!i think cricket is becoming far an extrmely gentle game! the goras know how 2 run their cricket, i love the animosity and hostility that welcomes touring sides to other countries, england is a great place at that and obviously australia although i think they go overboard sometimes!! our ghulams need help!

Aejaz bhai... you could have just said "yeah, I agree with Faisal".

i guess the next thing wud b neutral matches and neutral talent...neutral batting neutral bowling.
UFFF....
gimme a gun...i'll shoot the guy who started this neutral shutral...arrghh!!!

^ Imran Khan. And he has security guards. So beware. :D

actually he doesent, and he started this neutral thingy against india at home, because he said he wanted 2 beat them fair n square, series was a draw i believe!

Faisal Bhai,
Yaar By the time I compose one sentence and write, aap ek pura page ramble ker lete hou, Khanan Aap Raja Bhoj aur kahan hum Gangu (No offence to Ganguly) Teli:D

Re: Time for neutral curators in international cricket (Worthy-enough for a decision?

i was thinking the same after the Kamral Akmal “future Adam Gilchrist” comments.

kamran is showing that he is on his way

Well, with all the recent talk of the pitches and bowlers visiting their dead grandmothers from morning till evening in our graveyards (Lahore + Faislabad), and besides the author blatantly comparing apples to oranges in the original article posted initially, I, for one, believe this is definitely going to help 'improve' cricket, especially in sub-continental wickets. I completely understand the home advantage and be able to perform in front of your home crowd (No one can take the second factor away), but why we still are persisting with home advantage, so much so that we are this close to kill the definition of test cricket, once and for all? Why not have the neutral curators, who will supervise the pitch before-hand and make sure that the spirits of the game are re-lived (and maintained), on each and every ocassion?

If anything, I demand a severe increase in Agha Zahid's monthly salary. Poor guy has an uphill battle to achieve in these bitter conditions, as he puts his kamai/rozi roti to work in shaving the green tops off, and still, is overlooked by the management.

We can all go on and on. The fact remains: Pak and Ind team do face lot of problem when playing at Aus, End and WI. The question is should we continue to play on dull pitches at home? (With the fastest bowlers in the arsenal) OR should we try to bring some life into home pitches? (Closing the gap between home and away games). Seriously its extremely boring of a variable to play a part in TEST or ODI. If Shoiaba cannot bring them to life then even American bombs will be futile too.

That is precisely the gist of my above posts in this thread. Should we go ahead and close that gap (hence gaining a massive advantage when touring away from sub-continent), or should we continue to make lifeless surfaces and kill whatever life there is left in test cricket? One day or the other, I'd reckon the above theory will be put into action, and fruitful results will start pouring; Not only pouring heavily, but being maintained at the same time.

why on earth you need “neutral curators” I mean the Pakistan curators are very good I speak from experience when I say this (playing for KCCA). Its a stupid idea, how will your home grown talent will gain experience:confused: Our Mr. Good will first went with netural umpires axing the local umpires which totally wrong. Stop this outsourcing funda :stuck_out_tongue:

Boycott blames PCB officials drawn Tests

• By Our Sports Reporter*

KARACHI, Jan 25: Former England opener, Geoffrey Boycott, on Wednesday blamed Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) officials for giving the country’s cricket a bad name by preparing wickets not conducive to produce results. Giving his expert opinion on a foreign TV channel, Boycott who is known to call spade a spade, claimed that the strips prepared at Lahore and Faisalabad were bad for the image of the sport as well as for Pakistan cricket.

Boycott praised the batsmen of both the teams for taking maximum advantage of ideal batting conditions but lamented that such tracks were sending wrong signals as far as cricket was concerned.

He stressed that the Pakistan batsmen could not be faulted for scoring centuries and improve their averages on placid pitches but being brought up on such batsmen-friendly tracks they in general struggle in Australia and on bouncy tracks.

Boycott’s assessment of Pakistan’s record abroad has plenty of weight as Pakistan has yet to win an away series in Australia, South Africa and the West Indies.

Former Pakistan skipper, Ramiz Raja, appearing on the same programme too agreed with Boycott and pleaded for sporting wickets.

Dawn

yes as some commentators will say:

"Kamran Akram is the future Adam Gilchrist in this part of the World, and Irfan Pathan is the fastest bowler in that part of the World."

Akmal cannot reach double figures on a "fast and bouncy" track, even at Pindi's pitch, and Pathan is limited to 140km.