Re: Time Flies
Gosh! Didn’t you just steal all the words from my mouth X2?
OK OK, all GREAT minds thinks alike..![]()
Gosh! Didn’t you just steal all the words from my mouth X2?
OK OK, all GREAT minds thinks alike..![]()
I look at some ppl who are very very very busy, working couples whose kids are into 15 diff things so the mom and dad are running like zombies getting one kid to basketball another to ballet, another to something else, couple times a week.
and u know I guess I am probably going to be a horrible dad, or maybe ppl have spoilt the kids too much. My parents did not attend majority of my school events like debates, sport competitions in school, and its not that I ever really cared. I had their support and they were always around but it was simply too tough for them to take time out, as most of this was during school hours anyways and for them to take time off for all kids to go to alle evnts was next to impossible.
some ppl try and share the responsibility with other parents so they will help each other out one week one will drive the kids around other week other will drive the kids around.
but I wonder, is it okay to say no..I mean how many activities can a kid be really involved in, and expect the parent to make it for practices and all games and stuff.
the additional words that I stole from your mouth went something like
“TLK, namaqool, dheela, sust a wajood, lazy aadmi, never helps at home, king of the castle..rolls his socks up and throws them around, never does his own laundry or ironing…”
The key is balance. Most parents these days are into competing with other parents: uska beta hifz kar raha hai to mera beta bhi hifz karey ga, us ki beti karate seekh rahi hai to obviously mine will too chahey woh bachchay bicharay marr jayein at the end of the day!
Wrong priorities I tell ya!
"TLK, namaqool, dheela, sust a wajood, lazy aadmi, never helps at home, king of the castle..rolls his socks up and throws them around, never does his own laundry or ironing..."
:biggthumb and again :biggthumb
X2 you hit a home run. What a picture you painted. What do I do ? I want to get out of this rat rate. I want to start my own business. A couple of million dollar idea websites are ready for me to launch but I cannot. I go to work come home , pray maghrib , dinner, pray esha , treadmill, and my day is shot. Now I need to go to sleep so I wake up for fajar and be ready for the job.
but I wonder, is it okay to say no..I mean how many activities can a kid be really involved in, and expect the parent to make it for practices and all games and stuff.
Agreed. I dont wnat my kids to be involved in more than one activity.
Also I know that with responsibility comes time crunch, but some once said that if you are running short of time, maybe you are not managing time properly ....
So does it all boil down to time management ... maybe yes.
Fortunately, me and Begum are not into TV. Internet also only when we dont have anything else to do , that also mostly at the most un productive hours of our day.
"TLK, namaqool, dheela, sust a wajood, lazy aadmi, never helps at home, king of the castle..rolls his socks up and throws them around, never does his own laundry or ironing..."
hey ... how do you know this exact parade of words ? Must've heard dozens of times yourself ... (except the TLK part off course :D)
X2 you hit a home run. What a picture you painted. What do I do ? I want to get out of this rat rate. I want to start my own business. A couple of million dollar idea websites are ready for me to launch but I cannot. I go to work come home , pray maghrib , dinner, pray esha , treadmill, and my day is shot. Now I need to go to sleep so I wake up for fajar and be ready for the job.
All I can say that you are having a very long dinner .. or praying very late Maghrib cause between Maghrib and Esha .. the gap is 1 hour and 20 minutes minimum :D
Time certainly flies, but only in two cases. Either when you are having too much fun. Or in hindsight.
chingari
start slow, even if it is 2 hours every week, or a few hours over weekend, just make time, otherwise it will not happen.
adding to what I said, I see people just overburden themselves with other things. so this whole business with running around with kids all over the place because 4 kids have diff hobbies and the scheduling is completely different.
and then there is social life, and desi social life for many people means dawat at their house, dawat at someone else's house, I can understand that witjh kids especially youmg kids its tough to do many things or take time out but man, take a break, say no to some invites, dont go to every wedding, how about havea thanksgiving which u save for family..YOUR family and not extended family, just bring some sanity back in life.
I have been a personal time person from an early age, and just because someone wants to meet up, there is a party, pohone is ringing, their is a doorbell, if i dont want to deal with it I will not, and that keeps me sane (somewhat:))
Perosnal time is something I belive in also... Begum knows about it ...
Although I do sometime ingnore a phone call, only with the expectation that the caller will leave a message, cause if they dont, I dont know whether to return their call or not.
Biggest time eater in Desi-american culture is weekend socializings. as much as we love our friends, we like to spend weekends b/w us and kids.
But there are always exceptions
it is scary. When I was in high school, i never thought it’d end..maybe coz i hated it…time was just so slow. and now, i started college a few years ago, its like just yesterday the semester began and just yesterday that i was still single :halo: its just scary how quickly time passes now, but compared to not having time go by at all… i prefer this much more!
Thanks X2. See Ya.
in USA...
At least this is what I perceived in last so many years.
Only Yesterday, it was Jan 2007 and now we are in 2008..
Is it because after certain age, time starts slipping fast …
Or is it USA ?
Cause in Pakistan, I remember, we were able to do so much in a day. Coming back from Univ., late afternoon… late lunch… nap … homely chores … friends … watch TV … dinner .. time with family .. read a book …all in one day
Even when I started working, and worked only for few months in Pakistan… I was able to do so much …
Wonder why I cant experience the same time flow here …
What do you think /
I always think about the time fly thingie, ... I have the similar feeling, ... after 40-days of deep thinking, I realized only those people who are NOT ready, have this fear! Be ready and you will never care about the time! ...
Ready = Die as Momin