Throwing traditional databases out of the window

I am just coming back from a code camp and I am pretty hyped up about NoSQL stuff . In nutshell traditional RDBs sux and so does SQL . The biggest issue with traditional databases is scalability . Means you can expand them vertically but can’t horizontally . You can keep on beefing up the database server you have , but its really hard to spread it out to multiple machines . In this world of cloud computing you just can’t take full advantage of multiple machines .

Secondly its not an Object Oriented model while all the languages that we use to access it are object oriented . We do use ORMs to over come the difficulty of writing lengthy queries but its a huge overhead when you have to make round trips to pull all the relational data . You just can’t use basic OO concepts like polymorphism & inheritance with RDB.

RavenDB is one of the solutions to it and LINQ is the official language for it . Its a schema-less DB and lighting fast. You just store and retrieve whole object instead of a record . I’ll do a bit more experimentation with it and might post some code.

.NET geeks . . . stay tuned .

Re: Throwing traditional databases out of the window

hmm of course. :chai:

leavesthreadwithoutcomprehendinganything

OMG OMG OMG OMG, Nami, I love Oracle NoSQL. It’s like my favorite database to play with when I need some chillin’ and relaxing!

hmm sarcasm or not? chai indicates sarcarm.

chai indicates I'm busy drinking chai while creating a database :@:

Oh acha me too. :chai:

want some cake rusk to dip?

naman: I will keep my eyes on your valuable nuggets.

chicken nuggets?

Niki thanks for mentioning Oracle NoSQL .

May be I'll start separate thread for each technology and will try to post some sample code .

Look forward to it.

Niksik - could you kindly pass the chai?

Umm, as long as you know that my knowledge is limited to "mentioning" we're all set :D

Sure! You like sugar?

Desi istyle. So yes!

Great topic Namaan. I just browsed around and found one for python (since I use it mostly at work) called mongoDb. Even has a demo online. I m looking forward to play with it even though I love SQL and RDBMS.

MongoDB

Joel may be you should post some sample code that help us understand it a little bit better .

I am more of a Java/C# guy so I'll try to post the code for other two .

NaMaan: can you start thread on design pattern. :faizy:

^ oh man seriously , do you really think I have so much spare time on my hands !!

Ok once I'll done with two threads I promised above , I might .

no tension.

actually, you can skip it if you are busy.