This kind of thing seems far too often in rural India.
**3 of Dalit family hacked to death near Ujjain **
BHOPAL, JULY 11: Three members of a Dalit family were hacked to death by an upper caste family near Bamankheda village, 70 km from Ujjain, late last night. The alleged cause of the attack was a stolen buffalo. Ujjain SP, G Janardan, said a hunt is on for the nine accused.
The attack took place when one of the victims, Bhagirath, was on his way to lodge a complaint at the local police station against a Rajput family, said the police. Armed with sharp weapons, Sohan Singh Rajput and eight of his family members had attacked him. On hearing Bhagirath’s calls for help, his father Kachru and brother Ramchandra ran to his aid. They were assaulted as well.
Two hours later, the police reached the spot to find Bhagirath and his brother dead. Kachru was seriously injured. He died later at a local hospital. Before he died, Kachru gave a statement to the police saying Singh’s family had accused him and his sons of trying to steal a buffalo. They had been harrassing them since then, he said. They had also abused Kachru and threatened to teach him a lesson.
On Sunday night, Singh’s family members had pelted stones at Kachru’s house, following which his sons had decided to file a police complaint. The police is also examining the possibility of old enmity. The two families had reportedly clashed earlier as well. The district administration has announced a compensation of Rs 5 lakh to Kachru’s family.
Re: Three members of Dalit family hacked to death by Upper Caste Hindu's
Well anybody who is created by the feet of the Gods is not equal to those created by the thighs, heart and brain....so less then human......and should be killed with impunity.....
Re: Three members of Dalit family hacked to death by Upper Caste Hindu’s
Do not such things take place in Pakistan and other Islamic states? Do not many arab Muslims keep Indian and Pak poor Muslim girls as slaves and sex labor at their households?
Do you make the same comments….that Muslims are so and so….?
No, it’s a social problem. Must be raised and discussed without blaming boundaries.
Nahin yaar!!! Muslims live in absolute peace and harmony. Women are treated well, people get justice and have all rights. Elections are held every five years, children get the best education and get loads of opportunities and jobs. There is all round Roshan Khayali and respect for each others views. Religion has no place in politics, men get to shave their beards and women get to go to colleges. Living in the glorious Islamic past is not the done, scientific development, dams, engineering, technology is the thing!!! How I wish I was a Punjabi Sunni Muslim in Lahore!!
The jahils are actually those high caste Hindu’s who refuse to give up 5000 years of superiority and oppression of their fellow Hindu’s, whom they want little or no contact with.
Are.. bhai sab. Have u heard of MCC. maoist communist centre. They are prevelant in the coal belt of India namely Bihar, Chathisgarh, Orissa and West Bengal. Though they say they are moaist , they usually are deprived dalits. They take on and kills many Bhumihars(uppercaste) and terminate many of their families as well. And soon these people under the banner Ranbir sena... goes and torches some dalit houses and kills.This was a huge issue during the late 80's and 90s in these states, especiually Bihar. But has reduced considerably. But their class wars as i liked to call is based on the stupidity of the govt of not having a proper land reforms..which deprived the poor to have the ownership of the land they live in. This has not much to do with caste equation. It happened that most of the dalits happened to be the landless people and the uppercaste the land owners.
The National Campaign on Dalit Human Rights (NCDHR) is part of a wider struggle to abolish “untouchability” and to “cast out caste”. “Untouchability” and caste discrimination continue to be a brutal reality for more than 160 million Dalits living in India today, despite the fact that more than half a century has passed since India was born as a “democratic” and independent state.
caste system.. hindu religion.. haa.. who said. that.. pandit chal chabila babu.:p .
and please dont bring in dalitstan.org.. their name itself gives out the origin of such sites..
My family and friends call me “Pandit Ji” as well because of my usage of Sanskrit terminology as opposed Pero-Arabic even when referring to aspects of Islam.
The Varna (caste system) comes from “Hindu” scriptures, the Brahman/Kshatriya/Vaisya/Sudra/Achoot division is found in the Bhagavad Gita, Veda’s etc.
I find it amusing when Hindus in the USA and UK sugar-coat the caste system in an attempt to make it appear more politically correct, the white folk might buy the nonsense that it’s not inherent but I wont, I’m not from China, my grandparents spent their childhoods with Hindus and my ancestors were probably at least part Hindu, we know the caste system teaches segregation, bigotry and looking down upon fellow human beings.
Even in this day and age the caste system is illegally practised in India and abroad, devout Hindu men will only marry in their own caste (or a lower caste than themselves but no one higher as high caste women are not allowed lower caste men), the higher castes shun lower castes, in British India the Hindus considered filthy anyone belonging to a caste lower than themselves and also those outside their religion (such as us Muslims), they wouldn’t as much as eat from their shops, or take how low castes are reduced to eating rats in present-day India or when the Tsunami disaster happened the high caste Hindus objected to the lower castes being in the same shelter as themselves.
Muslims in eastern Pakistan too follow a “Zaat" (Jaat) system (not as strictly as India) but that is from when we were Hindus and I so wish we leave all that crap behind us and change “Zaat” to tribe with each tribe being equal like Islaam asks of us, that’s what I’m talking about when I say we should carry on following the secular aspects of Desi culture (without feeling the need to be Arab or Persian) but reject the Hindu aspects but sadly Desi Muslims are doing the opposite.
ok sorry.. i became a little bit cynical of the same thing all over again. Most of the problem in this dalit human rights are already addressed. Its actually they who float the caste to get reservation. Some of them are pwerfull enough that they dont allow the others( other dalits) to prosper. Those who have got reservation and moved on with their life and in high position.. still continue to enjoy the benefit while the others are left to fend for themselves. They wanted to have the status quo maintained to exploit the dalit feelings.
I think the biggest impediment to their progress is not any brahmin or anybody but they themselves. They can be politicaly strong.. and have enough people higher up.. who can take their cause..
Branded as impure from the moment of birth, one out of six Indians lives - and suffers - at the botoom of the Hindu caste system. They are the Untouchables.
Discrimination against India’s lowest Hindu castes is technically illegal. But try telling that to the 160 million Untouchables, who face violent reprisals if they forget their place.